We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Hotel! Not so glamorous reception” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #9 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Chesapeake, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Hotel! Not so glamorous reception”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

For a older hotel, the courtyard of the hotel was extremely beautiful! One of the most beautiful Embassy's that I have stayed at, Embassy is my usual preference when making reservations, due to the suites, and full made to order breakfasts.
The rooms were ready for us when we arrived, and check in was very smooth. I am a silver member, soon to be gold, and I asked for my waters. The desk staff stated that silver members "did not receive waters, and never have." Since I have been traveling quite frequently, and have been handed two waters, without having to ask (for months) I stated that when I stayed at prior Hilton Hotels, I have automatically been given my waters, no questions asked. The again told me, that they do not give silver members water, only Gold and Diamond, so I dropped it.
When we arrived to our rooms, one room was great, and what I would expect from an Embassy Hotel, the other smelled like someone had chain smoked in the room for days, and it permeated the furniture (something that the maid/staff should have known), it was a non-smoking room. It smelled so bad that my eyes were burning, and clearly should have been cleaned better, or changed to a smoking room. I called down to the front desk to ask for another room, and she said she would look for another room, and quickly hung up. I waited for 20 minutes or so for a call back with the new room number, or a bell boy or someone with new keys, but no one came. We were in town for a comedy show we had arranged for our daughter for her 19th birthday, and time was of the essence.
I called down after waiting, and they said the keys were at the front desk, and I needed to come down to get them. I stated that I was waiting for a call, no response. Begrudgingly, I proceeded to go down to get the key , and on the way down, I looked up the parameters of the Silver Hilton Honors program on my smart phone. When I walked up, I caught a glimpse of both women that were at the front, and they both were smirking and laughing, and one mouthed "I told you it was her", meaning to me that I was causing problems because the "water" issue from earlier, and now the "room" issue.
I asked for the new key, and then shared the information about the Silver Hilton Honors program with the employee that was handing me the keys. She then summoned the other employee, and I explained to her that according to the site, I am to get the waters, she stated, "oh, ok, you can get one from the store over there". No sorry, no thank you for letting us know. At this point I asked who the manager of the hotel was, at first I received this deer in the headlights look, so I asked again. We soon left for the comedy show.
When we arrived back at the hotel, I discovered a Embassy box of chocolates and a note apologizing for the "misunderstanding". As far as I am concerned, there was no misunderstanding, just a complete lack of customer service, and feeble attempt to smooth things over!
We slept great, the beds were extremely comfortable and relaxing. We enjoyed the free internet, and the breakfast was outstanding as always! The chef was great, and made an outstanding omelet! If it wasn't for the other staff at this hotel, and the gorgeous hotel itself, this review would have been much, much lower. Needless to say, I may try to find another hotel when, and if, I stay in the Richmond area again. The water really was not a big deal, I think it was the principle behind it and the staff's lack of knowledge in regards to the Hilton Honor program, lack of courteousness required in the hotel industry, as I too was a hotel employee, I know what is expected and demanded in a higher end hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
My apologies for your experience with our Hilton Honor’s water benefit and for needing to change rooms and the lack of service you experienced when changing rooms. We are sharing your comments with our staff as we did not meet your service expectations or ours. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our breakfast, found our rooms comfortable, and found value in our complimentary internet. We do hope you will give us another chance and again apologize we fell short at the front desk. Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    144
    50
    23
    8
See reviews for
197
78
20
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed the weekend of the 9-11. My family loves this hotel and are excited about our trip there every year! As usual the housekeeping service was excellent and they were very polite as was the service at the breakfast and manager's receptions and the bar. The rooms are a great size and clean. The only thing that was not so great was the service at the front desk. It was not as friendly as usual, but it was also not the same staff as in the past. I noticed that not one person was greeted as they came in unless they walked up to the front desk. If this is a new policy, I would change it back. This has never happened before and the front staff is normally excellent!! The hotel is wonderful and it's the only place we will stay. Great job as always!! We'll be back next year!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are very pleased you chose to stay with us again and we look forward to your return! Thank you for your feedback as it clearly shows how important everyone’s interaction and performance matters. I will share your feedback with our team as we are always striving to deliver the best experience and apologize we fell short at the front desk.
Warm Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The room size was great but the hotel seemed a little dated. The staff seemed rushed at the front desk to check me in and didn't want to explain any of the details of the hotel. The usual Embassy Suites perks were offered including the evening reception and complimentary breakfast. Overall, a decent experience for an overnight trip.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for staying with us for your overnight trip. I will share your comments with our staff as our goal is to exceed your expectations beyond a decent experience. We hope you will visit us again if you return to Richmond!
Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We absolutely loved this hotel. The two room suites made you feel more at home than just a regular hotel room. The breakfast was outstanding. We enjoyed the manager's reception as well. The friendliness of the staff in the Lobby and the staff all around the hotel was remarkable. Everyone welcomed you with a smile and a greeting. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. As some of the other reviews noted, the bathrooms are small and some of the furnishings are showing wear and tear. That being said, those two minor issues wouldn't hinder us from staying at this hotel again and again when in Richmond.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, We are thrilled to have won you over with our Embassy Suites Breakfast, Manager’s Reception, comfortable suites, and friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope to see you soon! Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience. Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The front desk staff was amazing and they knew what they were doing. The room was very large and clean. The only down side is the jungle of plants on the main level. It reminded me of Rambo. It's a minor complaint but I feel if they changed it, it'd make the main level more appealing.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your thoughts and ideas! I look forward to passing on your feedback to our front desk staff too! We hope to see you again soon.
Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I've stayed here twice on business trips. The hotel has the usual Embassy Suites perks - cooked to order breakfast, manager's reception (free drinks) at night, and large suite style rooms. It's located just off Broad Street, which has every restaurant, store and fast food joint you can imagine. 7 miles from the mall, which has more stores and places to eat. Staff was very friendly and helpful when I needed to tack on an extra day to my stay. A lot of people I work with stay at the Westin nearby, but when I return I'll stay at the Embassy again.

One drawback - the bathrooms are small.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, We are thrilled to have won you over with our Embassy Suites perks, the staff’s service, and location. We would like to thank you for your kind words and we will work to continue to be your hotel of choice in Richmond again and again! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DELTONA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was a 2 night stop for us and last time we stayed here we did not like it very much. It has been about 6 years since our first visit and this time it as very good. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Great Managers Reception, one of the best we have ever attended, Breakfast was also very good. Staff friendly, helpful. Good location. Would highly recommend this stop.

Room Tip: All rooms are clean, good bedding, good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your high recommendation after your recent experience at the Embassy Suites Richmond. We are thrilled you decided to try us again and we hope to see you soon! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center

Address: 2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Richmond
#8 Business Hotel in Richmond
#10 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center is located in the West End and only 3 miles from the University of Richmond. The hotel is in close proximity to shopping in Carytown, the Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens and the Richmond International Raceway. Enjoy the space and comforts of our two-room suites that offer a separate bedroom and living room as well as two 37-inch flat-screen HDTVs and complimentary high-speed internet access. The hotel is very close to many corporate offices, which makes it ideal for business travelers. Hold business meetings or group gatherings in the hotel's 10,000 sq. ft. Executive Meeting Center, a conference facility with ergonomic chairs, wall-to-wall whiteboards, high-tech A/V equipment, and adjustable lighting. Take a break from business in the heated indoor salt water pool or relax in the whirlpool spa. Stay in shape in the fitness center and then wind down in the sauna. Enjoy a delicious meal at the hotel's signature restaurant, Atrium Grill and begin each day with a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Hotel Richmond
Richmond Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.