We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I always look forward to staying here!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #8 of 81 hotels in Richmond
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I always look forward to staying here!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have made yearly visits to the Embassy Suites Richmond for a Women's Conference for the past four years, and since the first Conference, I ALWAYS look forward my time there!! The hotel is absolutely beautiful and relaxing, the staff is always very professional, kind, welcoming, and willing to go the extra mile for the guests, the amenities are awesome (spacious suite, very comfortable beds, etc.), and our Conference included the cooked-to-order breakfast (available to all guests), dinner, lunch, and snacks, which were delicious!! They also have a Manager's Reception which was a very nice touch and there are also restaurants within walking distance. If I were to visit the Richmond area other than to attend the Women's Conference, I would definitely stay here...I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, We treasure your recommendation at our Embassy Suites Richmond Hotel. We are thrilled to have won you over with the staff’s service, accommodations, and location. Also, I shared your kind words about Bobby today. What a great opportunity to let him know how he makes a difference! Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again for several more years. Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    125
    47
    19
    7
See reviews for
183
68
20
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nashville TN
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I've stayed there twice now, both on business trips. The rooms are spacious, the bed comfortable, the staff very accomodating. They have an excellent breakfast where you can get your breakfast cooked to order. Nice lounge for after work. Really nice pool and workout facilities. The rooms all face inside with the atrium in the center.

Honestly, I wish every hotel I travel to were just like this one. You really can't beat it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We hope to see you again and again at the Embassy Suites Richmond! Our Atrium, Cooked-to-Order Breakfast, nightly Manager’s Reception, large Suites, and service driven Staff set us apart in Richmond. We hope to keep earning your business and thank you for your thoughts! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a Saturday night during a trip to SC. The staff were super friendly, from the front desk to the restaurant staff. The rooms were well appointed and the hotel was pretty quiet for a Saturday. The breakfast layout was great and again the staff were more than helpful with my requests. A definite must stay on future trips.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, We look forward to your return to our Embassy Suites Hotel in Richmond. Our staff takes pride in taking care of our guests and thank you for sharing your thoughts. We hope to see you again very soon! Yours in Hospitality, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were here only over night and I must say I would have been glad to stay longer. The suite was really wonderful -- after 2 weeks on the road in hotel rooms, the larger space was great. The welcome cocktail and appies in the central courtyard area made me feel like we were on a Mexico resort holiday again. Having filled up on appies we didn't feel like having supper until after 9:00 pm so we ordered room service. Dining in the room at the table after non-stop restaurant meals was very comforting and the "black and bleu" salad was super. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet. Breakfast was included and very good. We paid about $150.00 I think it was for suite and breakfast and that was in our view a more than reasonable price for all that we got. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, It pleases us to hear you enjoyed our large suite, Manager’s Reception, and decided order room service. Those items, along with our cooked-to-order breakfast, make the Embassy Suites Richmond a strong value. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We hope to see you again soon! Yours in Hospitality, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Staff - Very friendly
Rooms - Good stay, comfortable beds. and a very useful living room. Well designed for business travel.
Food - Breakfast was on the house, very elaborate & very good. Must say, you will enjoy the breakfast here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your thoughts and comments on your experience at the Embassy Suites Richmond. We are pleased you enjoyed our cooked to order breakfast and large suites and we appreciate your kind words about our staff. We also hope continue to earn your business in the future when you are looking for a hotel in Richmond. Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We received a warm greeting upon arrival from Front Desk Agent Kate. She reviewed my reservation details and confirmed that we had been placed in a quiet corner room, per my request. She made check-in fast and friendly.

Our 5th floor corner room was very clean & comfortable, but the bathroom was cramped. (I'm told this was the standard size bathroom used throughout when the hotel was built.) The king bed was very comfortable. I noticed a loud buzzing noise every few minutes which appeared to be coming from a ceiling panel above the wet bar area. This was very annoying, as I couldn't pinpoint what was causing it. The next morning, I informed Front Desk Agent Kate. She immediately recognized it as a "pump" (I'm assuming for water pressure on the upper-floors?) that needed to be adjusted. She offered to send maintenance or move us to another room for our second night. We opted to move and were relocated to the Old Dominion Suite on the 7th floor.

This room (equipped with a full board room for meetings) was quiet and spacious, but again with a tiny, cramped bathroom (confirming that is the standard size.) There were several couches grouped together as a seating area-- however they were stained and worn. We noticed the slightest buzzing noise from the ceiling panel near the "board room", but nothing like the other room... it did not disrupt our sleep.

Breakfast was an overall good experience. Sunday morning was very busy with lots of families. Monday morning was only couples and business travelers -- very relaxing and quiet. The coffee was delicious. I couldn't get enough! Plenty of fresh cut melon and yogurt was a nice healthy accompaniment to the made-to-order omelettes. The breakfast staff was very friendly and hard-working.

Upon check-out, we received the warmest "thank you" from the Male Front Desk Agent (Keneil, perhaps?) He greeted me by name and could not have been more gracious or hospitable. Throughout our stay, I noticed the entire Front Desk staff was very professional in both appearance and demeanor. It is employees like Keneil & Kate that will keep guests coming back to this hotel. I can overlook dated rooms and tiny bathrooms for exceptional service and warm, genuine smiles.

PROS: Friendly & helpful staff, complimentary breakfast with cooked-to-order eggs, complimentary in-room wi-fi, nightly manager's reception, in-room microwave & mini-frige.

CONS: Cramped bathrooms, hotel is a bit dated, very slow elevators, occasional buzzing noises in guest rooms from "pumps" in the ceiling (?)

Room Tip: Corner suites may be quieter. Also, if you need a larger bathroom-- those are only in the accessibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the kind words about our staff, especially Kate and Keneil, and our Front Desk and Breakfast Staff. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for sound in the first room responsible for relocating your party to a different suite. We hope to earn your vote to stay with us again when you return to Richmond! Kind Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Came to the Embassy Suites last night after a long, rainy drive with two young kids. Checkin was fast and friendly. They even had our requested crib in the room. Huge plus as our kids were sleeping and we carried them up to the room. Love that they used travel cribs instead of pack and plays. Much sturdier. Try to pack bumpers as the cribs are metal and cold if your baby normally curls up against the side, the way mine does. Breakfast was fantastic and everyone was very helpful. Try to get there early, as it seems to get busy towards the end. Lobby is beautiful. Rooms were very clean. The two rooms are ideal for families. Only negative was two double beds instead of queens but it was minor.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, We hope you return again soon and tell all of your friends about your stay at the Embassy Suites Hotel in Richmond. Our tropical atrium is one of a kind and we are glad you took advantage of our Cooked-to-Order Hot Breakfast. We agree, having two rooms makes a big difference for our guests, especially families! Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Yours in Hospitality, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center

Address: 2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Richmond
#8 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#10 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center is located in the West End and only 3 miles from the University of Richmond. The hotel is in close proximity to shopping in Carytown, the Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens and the Richmond International Raceway. Enjoy the space and comforts of our two-room suites that offer a separate bedroom and living room as well as two 37-inch flat-screen HDTVs and complimentary high-speed internet access. The hotel is very close to many corporate offices, which makes it ideal for business travelers. Hold business meetings or group gatherings in the hotel's 10,000 sq. ft. Executive Meeting Center, a conference facility with ergonomic chairs, wall-to-wall whiteboards, high-tech A/V equipment, and adjustable lighting. Take a break from business in the heated indoor salt water pool or relax in the whirlpool spa. Stay in shape in the fitness center and then wind down in the sauna. Enjoy a delicious meal at the hotel's signature restaurant, Atrium Grill and begin each day with a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Hotel Richmond
Richmond Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.