We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Helpful Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Friendly, Helpful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We received a warm greeting upon arrival from Front Desk Agent Kate. She reviewed my reservation details and confirmed that we had been placed in a quiet corner room, per my request. She made check-in fast and friendly.

Our 5th floor corner room was very clean & comfortable, but the bathroom was cramped. (I'm told this was the standard size bathroom used throughout when the hotel was built.) The king bed was very comfortable. I noticed a loud buzzing noise every few minutes which appeared to be coming from a ceiling panel above the wet bar area. This was very annoying, as I couldn't pinpoint what was causing it. The next morning, I informed Front Desk Agent Kate. She immediately recognized it as a "pump" (I'm assuming for water pressure on the upper-floors?) that needed to be adjusted. She offered to send maintenance or move us to another room for our second night. We opted to move and were relocated to the Old Dominion Suite on the 7th floor.

This room (equipped with a full board room for meetings) was quiet and spacious, but again with a tiny, cramped bathroom (confirming that is the standard size.) There were several couches grouped together as a seating area-- however they were stained and worn. We noticed the slightest buzzing noise from the ceiling panel near the "board room", but nothing like the other room... it did not disrupt our sleep.

Breakfast was an overall good experience. Sunday morning was very busy with lots of families. Monday morning was only couples and business travelers -- very relaxing and quiet. The coffee was delicious. I couldn't get enough! Plenty of fresh cut melon and yogurt was a nice healthy accompaniment to the made-to-order omelettes. The breakfast staff was very friendly and hard-working.

Upon check-out, we received the warmest "thank you" from the Male Front Desk Agent (Keneil, perhaps?) He greeted me by name and could not have been more gracious or hospitable. Throughout our stay, I noticed the entire Front Desk staff was very professional in both appearance and demeanor. It is employees like Keneil & Kate that will keep guests coming back to this hotel. I can overlook dated rooms and tiny bathrooms for exceptional service and warm, genuine smiles.

PROS: Friendly & helpful staff, complimentary breakfast with cooked-to-order eggs, complimentary in-room wi-fi, nightly manager's reception, in-room microwave & mini-frige.

CONS: Cramped bathrooms, hotel is a bit dated, very slow elevators, occasional buzzing noises in guest rooms from "pumps" in the ceiling (?)

Room Tip: Corner suites may be quieter. Also, if you need a larger bathroom-- those are only in the accessibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the kind words about our staff, especially Kate and Keneil, and our Front Desk and Breakfast Staff. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for sound in the first room responsible for relocating your party to a different suite. We hope to earn your vote to stay with us again when you return to Richmond! Kind Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    160
    54
    27
    9
See reviews for
214
87
22
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Came to the Embassy Suites last night after a long, rainy drive with two young kids. Checkin was fast and friendly. They even had our requested crib in the room. Huge plus as our kids were sleeping and we carried them up to the room. Love that they used travel cribs instead of pack and plays. Much sturdier. Try to pack bumpers as the cribs are metal and cold if your baby normally curls up against the side, the way mine does. Breakfast was fantastic and everyone was very helpful. Try to get there early, as it seems to get busy towards the end. Lobby is beautiful. Rooms were very clean. The two rooms are ideal for families. Only negative was two double beds instead of queens but it was minor.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, We hope you return again soon and tell all of your friends about your stay at the Embassy Suites Hotel in Richmond. Our tropical atrium is one of a kind and we are glad you took advantage of our Cooked-to-Order Hot Breakfast. We agree, having two rooms makes a big difference for our guests, especially families! Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Yours in Hospitality, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My company booked this hotel for a 3 day meeting.
This was a very good experience. The staff was very accommodating - true "southern hospitality".
They provided a free shuttle to and from the nearby AMTRACK train station. Everything worked well in the business center - I was able to use the computer to print tickets with no problem.
The food was very good. The breakfast offered a good variety of food - fresh fruit, made to order eggs, hot oatmeal with choice of toppings... We also had an excellent business luncheon.
Wireless internet service was available but a little difficult to get and stay connected - probably my only complaint.
The pool/spa and fitness center was clean and well maintained. Pool temperature was real warm - very relaxing.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone needing a place to stay in Richmond, VA.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your recommendation for the Embassy Suites Richmond. I look forward to sharing your comments with our dedicated team. We pride ourselves in caring for our guests and taking care of details in the hotel. We hope to see you again soon for either business or pleasure! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have stayed with Embassy Suites on many occasions and have started some of our friends on the same road. We took a pleasant 3 day stay with this establishment as we have on many occasions. It's near home, but far enough away for a stay. As always we were well greeted on arrival, Reservations were taken care of immediatedly. Our accommodations were clean, convenient and welcoming. The air conditioning was blasting so it was a little cool, but an adjustment of the thermostat took care of that. All staff is pleasant and willing to make your visit as pleasant as possible. The piece de resistant is the made to order breakfast the next morning (eggs your way whichever way you prefer, plenty of everything is readily avaialable...fresh fruit, cereals, breads, pastries, sausages, bacon, juices, coffee ). The hotel is located near many restaurants, museums, and local attractions (well with 20 minutes drive of all). We will continue to stay with them until they change. Love them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for telling your friends to try Embassy Suites! Our full cooked-to-order breakfast, manager’s reception, and suites do make us different. We hope to see you soon and will continue to try hard to earn your future business! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager Embassy Suites Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The only word that comes to mind is "lovely". Everything was perfect. The people were helpful, gracious, and wonderful. I enjoyed the pool, the spa, the managers reception, the complimentary breakfast, room service, and EVERYTHING was wonderful. Keneil at the reception desk was a lot of help to me & was just the nicest person!!!!!!!!! Nick, the bartender at the managers reception, was friendly, helpful, and a pure delight!!!! My room service was fast, delicious, and the young man who delivered it to me was friendly & polite & delightful! I LOVED this place, and if I every need a hotel in Richmond again, I will ONLY stay at Embassy Suites!! Thank you for a delightful experience!!!!!

Room Tip: I was extremely grateful to find a hotel that has smoking rooms!!!! And a balcony!! I was in 811...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, We look forward to your return to our Embassy Suites Hotel in Richmond and treasure your review. Our staff takes pride in taking care of our guests and thank you for sharing your thoughts. I look forward to sharing your review with Keneil, Nick, and our room service attendant. Yours in Hospitality, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
327 helpful votes 327 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is a convenient place for us to spend a weekend with friends, and the hotel seems to get better with each visit. We have stayed at about 35 Embassy Suites over the years, and we agree that the snacks at the manager's reception here rank very high--first or second--among all of them. Everything else is up to Embassy Suites standards. We were disappointed that the bathroom contained only a shower---no tub---but that is minor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, We look forward to your return to our Embassy Suites Hotel in Richmond. Our tropical atrium is one of a kind in Richmond and is great for visiting, especially with our Manager’s Reception. Our staff takes pride in taking care of our guests and thank you for sharing your thoughts. For future, our suites with double beds have bathtubs as do a portion of our first floor accessible rooms. We hope to see you again soon! Yours in Hospitality, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

We were here for a wedding week-end. Our room was very nice and also clean. My husband stays in Embassy Suites quite regularly for work,but, this was my first stay. We were there during a NASCAR week-end so it was very crowded. The halls were noisy early in the evening,but,did quiet down. It was quiet inside the room. The managers welcome was very nice although my husband has had better food served. Breakfast was also very good. All in all a good stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay. We hope you will now become an Embassy Suites fan too!
Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center

Address: 2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Richmond
#9 Business Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center is located in the West End and only 3 miles from the University of Richmond. The hotel is in close proximity to shopping in Carytown, the Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens and the Richmond International Raceway. Enjoy the space and comforts of our two-room suites that offer a separate bedroom and living room as well as two 37-inch flat-screen HDTVs and complimentary high-speed internet access. The hotel is very close to many corporate offices, which makes it ideal for business travelers. Hold business meetings or group gatherings in the hotel's 10,000 sq. ft. Executive Meeting Center, a conference facility with ergonomic chairs, wall-to-wall whiteboards, high-tech A/V equipment, and adjustable lighting. Take a break from business in the heated indoor salt water pool or relax in the whirlpool spa. Stay in shape in the fitness center and then wind down in the sauna. Enjoy a delicious meal at the hotel's signature restaurant, Atrium Grill and begin each day with a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Hotel Richmond
Richmond Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.