We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #9 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Poland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights while visiting our daughter at VCU. Everything was excellent. Spotless property and the full breakfast and manager's reception are a big plus. Staff was friendly and helpful. We will stay there for all visits to Richmond.

Room Tip: Excellet Greek restaurant a few miles down Broad Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, We treasure your recommendation at our Embassy Suites Richmond Hotel. We are thrilled to have won you over with the staff’s service, accommodations, and value. Thank you for your kind words and we hope while your daugher attends VCU and beyond! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    145
    50
    23
    8
See reviews for
197
78
20
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is an older Embassy Suites but well maintained. Nice pool area with a workout room and sauna. The breakfast was up to Embassy Suites standards and the Manager's Reception exceeded most. The staff is friendly and helpful. There is a Steetz gas station/store next to the property and a few restaurants. The only downside was the small bathroom, otherwise a great stay

Room Tip: Rooms facing the highway are noisy not because of the road but the air conditioning units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad you were able to stay with us and hope to see you again soon! Warm Regards, Kathleen Lyons, Embassy Suites Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a most enjoyable weeklong stay at this hotel in November 2011. Every staff person was more than just helpful, they were also competent and friendly. The rooms were very clean and were laid out well. Wifi was free. The breakfasts were top notch and the Manager's Receptions were above average. The overall effect made this the best ES in which we've ever stayed.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which negated the need to wait for an elevator and provided easy access f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for spending a week at Embassy Suites Hotel in Richmond. It pleases us to hear you enjoyed our Cooked-to-Order Hot Breakfast, Evening Reception, and complimentary Internet. Our staff takes pride in taking care of all of our guests and thank you for sharing your thoughts. Yours in Hospitality, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Republic, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Last 2 stays in Hilton suite hotels disappointing - bad experience with a Homewood in Williamsburg and not what one should expect from an Embassy in Richmond. Hotel average at best. Might have been caused by the heat (outside), but a majority of the staff would have their face crack if they attempted a smile, starting at the front desk. The young lady at the front desk definitely is in the wrong line of work, as she is not a "greeter". The young man was aloof and cool. Hotel starting to show its age with soiled and worn carpeting. When we entered the first room that we were assigned we were bowled over by the smell of cigarette smoke (in a non-smoking room, no less). Second room did smell fresh and it was clean. Bathroom too small for a more upscale hotel. Pool small but adequate - ran out of towels in the pool area and they were not replenished while we were there. Will look for an alternative location on our next visit to Richmond. Manager's reception was quite good, but the bartender was not friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about our hotel. We are sorry to hear we have failed in delivering a truly satisfactory stay and would like to deeply apologize. We are happy to hear you were pleased with your second room and Manager’s reception, but in the same time disappointed that you felt like some of our associates were not friendly and the hotel experience was only average at best. We do take your comments seriously and share them with our team and will follow up with them. We remain available should you wish to share any additional feedback with us, and hope you will still consider Hilton in your future travels. Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This is the hotel we selected to stay one night before heading to Myrtle Beach..My like everything about this hotel....On The way home from Myrtle Beach we stayed at The Hampton inn and suites around the corner because this hotel was booked...The difference in the hotels are night and day....The Embassy suites is a family oriented hotel the Hampton was very starch ...The breakfast at the Embassy suite was very nice some of the food could have been warmer but the variety was so large you would come away satisfied..The Hampton Inn and Suites is a very "generic" breakfast..not very impressive ....The rooms at the Embassy suites are larger...and include a sofa..The rooms at the Hampton just included the two queen beds.....The Embassy Suites would be my choice if we visit Richmond again....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed our spacious suites and Full Cooked-to-Order Breakfast at the Embassy Suites Richmond. The extra space our suites provide is a good match for families when considering a hotel. We hope to always be your first choice when visiting or passing thru Richmond. Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My Daughter got married in Virginia and we wanted a great hotel for guests to stay. They were coming from around the world, New york, New Jersey, Conn. Russia and Ukraine, so I wanted them to be impressed and feel special.. This hotel staff went far, far beyond all that I could have ever hoped for. my guests were extremely impressed and happy with this hotel. We blocked 20 rooms, they provided a shuttle service to and from the wedding which was 3 miles away (a nominal fee after 10:00 pm) which I did'nt have to worry about them drinking at the wedding and driving.
They had a full breakfast buffet in their beautiful terrarium and all the wedding guests loved eating together. Everyone was so friendly, Bobbie the man at front desk was so nice, my five year old nephew befriended him and still talks about his friend Bobby at the visit to Virginia. The pool was great, the service outstanding and of course, the rooms were large, clean and great.
The young adults (around 25 years old) took off on foot to tgifs for a "night cap"....the adults stayed at the Hotels bar for the night. A good time was had by all, not one bad report back to me about they stay, The newly weds got the suite which the hotel put rose petals around the jaccuzzi and champagne upon their return from the wedding ceremony.....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, we treasure your recommendation at our Embassy Suites Richmond Hotel. We are thrilled to have had the opportunity to host your friends and family for your Daughter’s wedding. We are very pleased to hear our shuttle, breakfast and staff helped to make the weekend more enjoyable, and glad they enjoyed our special Jacuzzi Suite. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again. Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We arrived at the Embassy Suites around 7:00 PM. We had just finished driving a 7-hour distance from Atlanta. (We are driving to Maine.) There had been heavy thunderstorms and winds, so the hotel had it's power out. I had to do work on the internet for at least three hours, so I knew we probably should keep driving and find a place with power. However, all hotels in the area with power were booked up. We went out to eat and called the place back. They had just gotten their power back, so we ended up going there. Everything was running smoothly despite the issue and we got checked in very quick. Our rooms were nice and clean. Everything was nice, and the suites have more space than regular rooms. Their breakfast was superb as hotel breakfast's go. All Embassy Suites have made-to-order omletes and they were not bad at all. They also had eggs, bacon, french toast, muffins, and the usual things. I also learned that had we arrived earlier the night we stayed, even though the power was out, they have a Manager's Reception in the lobby with drinks and h'orderves. Overall, the stay was nice and though the power was out, the hotel was organized and everything got on track soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. The storm certainly caused unexpected problems in the area. We are so glad you were able to stay with us and hope to see you again soon! The Embassy Suites Richmond is a very convenient stop if you are traveling on I-95 or I-64. Come back for our Manager’s Reception next time! Warm Regards, Kathleen Lyons, Embassy Suites Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center

Address: 2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Richmond
#8 Business Hotel in Richmond
#10 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center is located in the West End and only 3 miles from the University of Richmond. The hotel is in close proximity to shopping in Carytown, the Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens and the Richmond International Raceway. Enjoy the space and comforts of our two-room suites that offer a separate bedroom and living room as well as two 37-inch flat-screen HDTVs and complimentary high-speed internet access. The hotel is very close to many corporate offices, which makes it ideal for business travelers. Hold business meetings or group gatherings in the hotel's 10,000 sq. ft. Executive Meeting Center, a conference facility with ergonomic chairs, wall-to-wall whiteboards, high-tech A/V equipment, and adjustable lighting. Take a break from business in the heated indoor salt water pool or relax in the whirlpool spa. Stay in shape in the fitness center and then wind down in the sauna. Enjoy a delicious meal at the hotel's signature restaurant, Atrium Grill and begin each day with a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Hotel Richmond
Richmond Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.