We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Embassy Franchise at it's Best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Decatur, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The Embassy Franchise at it's Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We arrived at the Embassy Suites around 7:00 PM. We had just finished driving a 7-hour distance from Atlanta. (We are driving to Maine.) There had been heavy thunderstorms and winds, so the hotel had it's power out. I had to do work on the internet for at least three hours, so I knew we probably should keep driving and find a place with power. However, all hotels in the area with power were booked up. We went out to eat and called the place back. They had just gotten their power back, so we ended up going there. Everything was running smoothly despite the issue and we got checked in very quick. Our rooms were nice and clean. Everything was nice, and the suites have more space than regular rooms. Their breakfast was superb as hotel breakfast's go. All Embassy Suites have made-to-order omletes and they were not bad at all. They also had eggs, bacon, french toast, muffins, and the usual things. I also learned that had we arrived earlier the night we stayed, even though the power was out, they have a Manager's Reception in the lobby with drinks and h'orderves. Overall, the stay was nice and though the power was out, the hotel was organized and everything got on track soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. The storm certainly caused unexpected problems in the area. We are so glad you were able to stay with us and hope to see you again soon! The Embassy Suites Richmond is a very convenient stop if you are traveling on I-95 or I-64. Come back for our Manager’s Reception next time! Warm Regards, Kathleen Lyons, Embassy Suites Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    138
    48
    20
    7
See reviews for
192
72
20
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Holbrook, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We arrived very tired after a long trip. The staff was wonderful to us! Our suite was a welcome sight. We hooked up to internet, ordered room service and relaxed in clean comfort for the evening. Bobby and Katie at the front desk were a big help with the 70 people staying for a weekend wedding. Nora in Housekeeping assisted us with many small things. At breakfast, Missy helped get our group together. I can't say enough about this facility and will now always look for Embassy Suites first. The staff is outstanding!!! Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Embassy Suites Richmond and giving us the opportunity to host your group. I look forward to sharing your comments with our dedicated team. We pride ourselves in caring for our guests and taking care of details in the hotel. We hope to see you again soon! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Yorkshire
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

First time at this property but have stayed at Embassy suites before. Offered corner suite but changed it no bother as we wanted a tub not just shower. Plenty of towels and toiletries daily. Quiet air con plenty of hot water day and night. Good internet access. 2 HD TVs.Breakfast was not Embassy suites best, cold mostly and greasy bacon and sausage but plenty of fruit toast and pastries and made to order omlettes. Evening managers reception with drinks and nibbles was good and as ALL staff proved customer satisfaction was important to them. Thanks to big Mike at breakfasts very polite and helpful. 4 lifts. Small pool and full of kids when we were there so didnt try it. We had room at the back and it was quiet. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, We hope you will choose to return next time you visit Richmond. Our staff takes pride in taking care of our guests and your comments are appreciated. Thank you for sharing your experience and we will certainly share this with big Mike at breakfast. Yours in Hospitality, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We found the executive suite attractive, clean and with modern furniture, fixtures and electronics. The bed was comfortable, the shower hot both morning and night (although the pressure left a bit to be desired) and the air system quiet and more than efficient. WiFi signal offered uninterrupted streaming of Netflix and Hulu. Basically, as a Hhonors Gold it was what I have come to expect from a well-managed Hilton property.

There were two mentionable pros. One, the friendliness of the employees and second, the free breakfast bar. I think a lot of us have gotten so we now just take a breakfast bar for granted. We shouldn't. This particular one had such pleasant personnel who were always on the go. There was honestly never a single moment when at least one station wasn't being resupplied or replaced with fresh product. The hot food was fresh and nicely prepared. Although we didn't take advantage of the 'cook-to-order' station we sat right beside it and the food coming out looked wonderful and the young man who was totally in control of the never-ending but quick moving line had a great personality.

We did find the outside noise level from people talking surprising and we were on the sixth floor. I would suggest a room towards the back, rather than the front of the hotel. Of course, inconsiderate guests who show up at 3AM and talk loudly might be heard from any location.

We had one issue. It was an issue that occurred overnight and was disturbing but also an issue that could happen at any hotel. There would be no purpose served in mentioning the details of the issue but rather the manner in which it was handled. I made the person checking me out on Sunday morning aware of the issue and just asked that her manager contact me at some point to discuss it. Folks, there really isn't a need to get a loud huffy-puffy attitude about things that happen. Things happen. The young lady immediately offered her apologies and told me she was a supervisor and in less than a minute had adjusted my bill which I considered the appropriate and just response in this particular instance.

Kudos to the young lady for handling the situation in a proper manner and kudos to the manager of the hotel for giving this employee the latitude to resolve such issues on the spot. Well done.

Yes, I would return to this hotel in a heartbeat. It's both comforting and impressive that the entire staff puts 100% customer satisfaction first....and it shows.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Embassy Suites Richmond, we do appreciate your business. I look forward to sharing your comments with our dedicated team. We pride ourselves in caring for our guests and taking care of details in the hotel. We hope to see you again soon! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I have stayed at this property several times over the last year and their customer service has always been consistently GREAT. Especially staff member Alexander Harris and the women that work the food services area of this property. Keep up the good work guys!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, We treasure your recommendation at our Embassy Suites Richmond Hotel. We are thrilled to have won you over with the staff’s service. Thank you for your kind words. I look forward to sharing your review with our staff members! Thank You for selecting to stay with us! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stayed the night on our way to the east coast. The reception was great, with mixed drinks, wine and beer. They also served some nice cheeses, etc. Breakfast was delicious, with plenty of fresh fruit, omelets, etc. Room was a typical embassy suite room, which I think is a good thing. The only thing I can find fault with is the slllooowww elevators. Everything else was great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed our spacious suites, Full Breakfast, and the Nightly Manger’s Reception included at the Embassy Suites! We hope you will visit us again on your way back from the coast! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Service good, suites excellent, breakfast excellent! I can't say enough good things about this hotel. The atrium in the middle gives this hotel extra atmosphere. Splurge and get the president suite. The bed is sooo comfy!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, We look forward to your return to our Embassy Suites Hotel in Richmond. Our tropical atrium is one of a kind in Richmond! Our staff takes pride in taking care of our guests and thank you for sharing your thoughts. Yours in Hospitality, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center

Address: 2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Richmond
#9 Business Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center is located in the West End and only 3 miles from the University of Richmond. The hotel is in close proximity to shopping in Carytown, the Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens and the Richmond International Raceway. Enjoy the space and comforts of our two-room suites that offer a separate bedroom and living room as well as two 37-inch flat-screen HDTVs and complimentary high-speed internet access. The hotel is very close to many corporate offices, which makes it ideal for business travelers. Hold business meetings or group gatherings in the hotel's 10,000 sq. ft. Executive Meeting Center, a conference facility with ergonomic chairs, wall-to-wall whiteboards, high-tech A/V equipment, and adjustable lighting. Take a break from business in the heated indoor salt water pool or relax in the whirlpool spa. Stay in shape in the fitness center and then wind down in the sauna. Enjoy a delicious meal at the hotel's signature restaurant, Atrium Grill and begin each day with a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Hotel Richmond
Richmond Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;