We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms and lobby, make sure you get the right room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Suffolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms and lobby, make sure you get the right room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I stayed at the Embassy Suites Richmond for business training in February 2012.

Pros: Beautiful lobby, common areas and atrium. Large, clean rooms. Amazing free breakfast.
Cons: Noise from atrium and nearby TGIF with blasting music until 2am. Slow internet.

Tips: Request a high floor room on the side of the hotel opposite the restaurants. They will be much more quiet.

The Embassy Suites does a great job of providing top level service, and great rooms perfect for the business traveler. This location also had best free hotel breakfast I have enjoyed, with made to order omelets and lots of additional hot food choices.

The rooms were clean, comfortable beds and two work areas. Two flat screen TVs in the room was great and three sinks.

The free wireless internet was very slow .5MB download speeds which made my VPN e-mail service for my work very slow.

The rooms were a little too noisy for my tastes. Noise in the morning came from the atrium, but an additional door in the room blocked most of this out. The problem was the TGIF restaurant that is adjacent to the Embassy Suites. They blasted music until 2am and the bass thumped in my room. This is outside of the control of Embassy Suites, but it still was annoying.

I would still highly recommend this hotel, it is a great option a few minutes away from Downtown Richmond.

Room Tip: Request a high floor room on the side of the hotel opposite the restaurants. They will be much more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, We are glad you were able to stay at our Embassy Suites Richmond. We are happy to share we are in the process of increasing our bandwidth. We have tripled our bandwidth and are adding still more bringing it up to 10 times more shortly. The TGIF parking lot does neighbor us, and the restaurant is a couple hundred feet away. I am disappointed to hear this interfered with your night. I will share this with our staff and with the management of TGIF if it reoccurs as this is not something I have received a comment about in the past. We hope you will return if your travels bring you back to the Richmond area. Kind Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    157
    53
    26
    8
See reviews for
212
85
22
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

This is a better than average traditional Embassy Suites in the traditional courtyard/atrium layout.

We arrived there on a Sunday evening and there was very little occupancy. The hotel was quiet, clean, and the staff were friendly. The breakfast was bountiful as always.

There were lots of options to eat nearby.

I would not hesitate to stay there again if I were in the area.

Room Tip: Upper rooms and corner rooms are the quietest (avoiding atrium noise). The property is set back fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, We hope to see you again soon at the Embassy Suites Hotel in Richmond. Our tropical atrium is one of a kind and we are glad you took advantage of our Cooked to Order Hot Breakfast. Our staff takes pride in taking care of our guests and thank you for sharing your thoughts. Yours in Hospitality, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

My friend and I wanted to get away for a few days but not far from where we live in Virginia Beach so we choose Richmond. We had a wonderful stay at the Embassy Suites, it was clean, the staff was very helpful and friendly. The man who checks us in I am sorry that I don't remember his name but he greeted us by name every time he saw us and asked about our activities that day. The breakfast was great more than enough food and a great selection, the managers reception was also great and it was nice to sit and have a drink and unwind at the end of the day, the only complaint which was not a big deal, but the chips they served were soft and not crisp but they had pretzel nut mix that was ok.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, We hope you return again soon and tell all of your friends about your stay at the Embassy Suites Hotel in Richmond. Our tropical atrium is one of a kind and we are glad you took advantage of our Cooked-to-Order Hot Breakfast and Evening Reception. Our staff takes pride in taking care of our guests and the hotel. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Yours in Hospitality, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I really like the Embassy Suites (ES) brand. We stayed at a brand new ES the night before outside Savannah, GA so we were very spoiled. Richmond employees were nice but the property needs some TLC to bring it up to date. As clean as an older property can be. Musty smelling room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your kind words about our staff. We apologize for the smell and would like know which room you noticed this in so we can look into the issue. Feel free to contact me or the hotel directly at 804 672-8585. Thank you for your loyalty to the Embassy Suites Brand. Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel for years. Periodically, we’ve strayed to stay at the Hilton or the Jefferson, but we always come back to this Embassy Suites. Why? We’re on the road 50 weeks a year and everyone here makes us feel like we just came home. Stewart and Bobby at the front desk seamlessly take care of all lodging needs. Sherry makes sure the breakfast is great – no matter how many people are showing up at the same time. The cocktails at the manager’s reception (hosted by Andrew and Robert) are a nice way to wrap up a long day – and you can order a great dinner from the restaurant to be served in the lounge! The work-out room is adequate and clean (with a sauna). The wi-fi is fast. We’d be remiss not to mention this hotel had arguably Richmond’s Best Conference Facility – from small executive conference rooms to regular large meeting rooms – we have never been disappointed. Personalized service from the hotel, executive meeting and catering staff always exceed expectations. GM Lyons certainly sets the Tone at the Top at this Hilton property.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, We are thrilled and proud to have won you over with the staff’s personalized service, our food and beverage options, and our complimentary Wi-Fi! It will be my pleasure to share your review with our staff. Our Conference Center is truly unique in the area and we thank you for making the choice to stay with us. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again soon. Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Virginia
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We had just come off a night at Great Wolf Lodge, so weren't sure what the kids would think of a "regular" hotel. Embassy Suites worked well - the kids thought the atrium was cool, as was the pool. The adults enjoyed the welcome reception having wine, beer, and mixed drinks. Chips, Salsa, and Snack Mix were also available. Nothing fancy, but nice to feel like you are getting something for your money. Haven't slept here yet, but looking forward to it b/c I am exhausted.

Room Tip: Room ending in "10" are on a corner with only one neighbor. They are close to the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and for choosing the Embassy Suites Richmond Hotel. Glad you enjoyed our nightly reception and the kids liked our atrium and indoor pool. We hope you had time to enjoy our cooked to order breakfast in the morning and we hope to see you again. Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McGaheysville, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Hilton Embassy's never disappoint. Got to love there manager nightly special (free alcohol and snacks), made-to-order breakfast and hotel ambiance. The indoor pool was also nice. Good location, close to many restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, We look forward to your return to our Embassy Suites Hotel in Richmond and thank you for your loyalty to Hilton's Embassy Brand! Our tropical atrium is one of a kind and we are glad you took advantage of our Cooked to Order Hot Breakfast and Evening Reception. Our staff takes pride in taking care of our guests and thank you for sharing your thoughts. Yours in Hospitality, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center

Address: 2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#9 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center is located in the West End and only 3 miles from the University of Richmond. The hotel is in close proximity to shopping in Carytown, the Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens and the Richmond International Raceway. Enjoy the space and comforts of our two-room suites that offer a separate bedroom and living room as well as two 37-inch flat-screen HDTVs and complimentary high-speed internet access. The hotel is very close to many corporate offices, which makes it ideal for business travelers. Hold business meetings or group gatherings in the hotel's 10,000 sq. ft. Executive Meeting Center, a conference facility with ergonomic chairs, wall-to-wall whiteboards, high-tech A/V equipment, and adjustable lighting. Take a break from business in the heated indoor salt water pool or relax in the whirlpool spa. Stay in shape in the fitness center and then wind down in the sauna. Enjoy a delicious meal at the hotel's signature restaurant, Atrium Grill and begin each day with a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Hotel Richmond
Richmond Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.