We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites by Hilton Richmond - The Commerce Center to your Saves list
Embassy Suites by Hilton Richmond - The Commerce Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Walking inside the Embassy Suites, my immediate reaction was that it reminded me of a rainforest cafe. You know, that restaurant? The rooms are very spacious and come with free WIFI. That alone is a major selling point. I still can't believe there are 5-Star hotels that still make you pay.

I ordered room service and the service and food was fast and actually quite good. During this post, I thought I would go ahead and take a break and get some water from the nearby vending machine and the one on my floor (4th floor) had no water, the 3rd and 2nd didn't accept my dollar and the ground floor for some reason charged $2 haha. Eventually, I got change for my dollar and went back to the 3rd and finally got my water!

Other then the useless trip I just made for a bottle of water, the hotel has a gym, small sized pool, and jacuzzi, all of which seem very popular among the guests.

*I traveled to this location on 8/7/2010. Relatively new to Trip Advisor, and didn't realize it wouldn't let me select 2010.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed our spacious suites and we have found our guests do appreciate our WIFI, Full Breakfast, and the Nightly Manger’s Reception included without additional charges! We hope you will visit us again if you return to Richmond. Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    191
    64
    33
    12
See reviews for
255
109
25
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We used to live in Richmond and and were there when this Embassy Suites was built. It has always had a good reputation and is in a convenient area to interstate, restaurants, stores, etc. Little did we know that we would be moving out of state and would one day be staying here every year during the holidays. It is now a tradition that our family of 3 returns to Richmond for about a week to 10 days to visit friends and family during the holidays. We have a teenage daughter so the suite concept is perfect since there is a separate TV and pull out couch for her. It is a great value since an extensive breakfast is included (includes omelettes cooked to order) and an evening Manager's reception with snack foods and beverages. There is also a restaurant on site and meeting facilities on site. The facilities are nice and clean with indoor pool and fitness center which makes it especially nice in the winter. It is especially nice having a microwave and refrigerator in the room too. However, the one thing that makes it super special is the staff. The front desk staff is welcoming, even calling us by name. Little touches like "welcome back" on the reservation envelope are special. The entire staff is service friendly. It is obvious that they take pride in their positions and get along with each other as a team. Well managed Embassy Suites. Way to go. See you next winter!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Staying a week or more does allow you to get to know our hotel well and we thank you for sharing your thoughts about why you plan on returning in the future. We are thrilled to be your hotel choice when you return to Richmond to visit and we look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back home! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC Triad
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I stayed in this Embassy Suites twice in 2011 and can't say enough about how delightful each visit was. It's conveniently located and offers a fairly quick and direct drive into the downtown. On our first visit, my husband and I arrived by train and used the hotel shuttle that even took us to the rental car agency. Everyone was efficient and polite, but you all must meet Mr. Bobby - Mr. Personality! He has been one of Embassy Suites' National Employee of the Year and it's easy to see why.

The rooms are extremely reasonable, spacious, quiet and comfortable, although the bathrooms are a little small - that's ok, I spend more time in the rest of the room. Their indoor pool is a decent size when there aren't too many kids in it. The Manager's reception is a dream - help yourself to beer, wine and even cocktails before heading out to dinner! And their breakfast is almost overwhelming in its options. And all of that is free to guests. Elevators are a little slow, but I consider that to be a minor issue. The 'restaurant' is a bit limited and doesn't seem to have an actual location, but does provide meals in the bar area or in your room. Their seared Ahi tuna is fabulous!

My second trip two months later was with a friend to help her plan her family reunion - not surprisingly, she chose this as their hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
We treasure your recommendation at our Embassy Suites Richmond Hotel. We are thrilled to have won you over with the staff’s service, accommodations, and location. The Ahi tuna is one of my favorites too and the value of our Breakfast and Evening Reception is a hit with many of our guests. Also, so nice of you to recognize Bobby and thank you for your kind words! We hope to see you again. Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
249 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We spent New Year's Eve here and enjoyed ourselves very much. Among the two dozen Embassy Suites we've stayed in over the years, this one rates near the top for almost everything. One drawback was the lack of good beer at the Manager's Reception--with nothing available but Bud Light--which is like being on the wagon. But everything else was nice and abundant, including Sangria and eggnog. The placement bacon for the breakfast seems a little eccentric--it is offered with the sausage in an annex of the omelet station. I had to ask some people where they got theirs. Our suite was fine in every way. The staff was nice without exception. It is hardly the property's fault that some youngsters were raising hell next door on New Year's Eve. A bonus is the abundance of good restaurants in the vicinity, some in walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our Embassy Suites Richmond staff. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your loyalty, we want to continue to earn your business! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Got stuck with a smoking room the night before I ran a marathon (who still has smoking rooms). Needless to say everything stunk. Carpet and furniture in room outdated. Elevators very slow. Had to ask for an iron for our room twice, since ours was missing. Room also small compared to other Embassy Suites I've been to.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Good for you running the Marathon!! The hotel was full the night of the marathon and of our five smoking rooms it is unfortunate we did not have the option to switch you to a nonsmoking. We hope you did well in the race and thanks for running the Richmond Marathon! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

I was traveling on business and spent one night at this property. The location is perfect, close to the highway and restaurants, and some nearby shopping opportunities. Check-in was ok with one person working the desk. I was provided a room facing the back of the hotel where I suppose it was quieter but not sure if it makes a difference what side of the hotel you're on. The room was clean and spacious, and comfortable, efficient, and typical of Embassy Suite properties. The desk area was well-lit for my business working needs, and there was a sink, microwave, and refrigerator for small items.

The bathroom was small but acceptable, and clean. There was an ample amount of towels and the standard hotel toiletries like shampoo and conditioner. The ventilation system was good at removing bathroom steam and moving the air out.

The bedroom was spacious. It also included a TV and a separate sink counter. The only hangup was that the coffee maker was broken, and apparently the maid did not empty out the water from the previous guest's stay. I found out that the water was in there because the water merely recirculated the hot water back into the resevoir, so no water came out through the coffee grounds funnel. When I asked the front desk for a replacement, the one brought up was also broken. I gave up!

The bed was comfortable and had clean sheets and a clean bedcover. The bedroom tempertature control unit was in working condition and was not noisy.

The breakfast the next morning was sufficient and filling. No complaints here. Check-out was also fast. I would stay here again as it was a good value for the price. Not a spectacular property but just perfect for a one night stay on business.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel. We hope our central location, spacious suites, value, and staff will make us your first choice when in Richmond. We do apologize for the issue you had with the coffee maker and thank you for letting us know. Hope to see you again! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

I stayed at the hotel in August. Absolutely wonderful accommodations! The staff was great. Bobby, at the front desk, was simply awesome. He had a huge smile for guests every morning, and it put a smile on my face at the same time. I was initially in a room above the pool and asked to change rooms as there was a chlorine odor that bothered me. Bobby was sooo helpful during that transition.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
We are so glad you chose Embassy Suites for your stay in Richmond! It will be my pleasure to share you remarks with Bobby and how he has made a difference! We hope to see you again soon - Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
6.3 mi away
HYATT house Richmond-West
HYATT house Richmond-West
#4 of 87 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#5 of 87 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Richmond - The Commerce Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Richmond - The Commerce Center

Address: 2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Richmond
#10 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#11 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Richmond - The Commerce Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center is located in the West End and only 3 miles from the University of Richmond. The hotel is in close proximity to shopping in Carytown, the Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens and the Richmond International Raceway. Enjoy the space and comforts of our two-room suites that offer a separate bedroom and living room as well as two 37-inch flat-screen HDTVs and complimentary high-speed internet access. The hotel is very close to many corporate offices, which makes it ideal for business travelers. Hold business meetings or group gatherings in the hotel's 10,000 sq. ft. Executive Meeting Center, a conference facility with ergonomic chairs, wall-to-wall whiteboards, high-tech A/V equipment, and adjustable lighting. Take a break from business in the heated indoor salt water pool or relax in the whirlpool spa. Stay in shape in the fitness center and then wind down in the sauna. Enjoy a delicious meal at the hotel's signature restaurant, Atrium Grill and begin each day with a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Richmond - The Commerce Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Hotel Richmond
Richmond Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites by Hilton Richmond - The Commerce Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.