We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Auld acquaintance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
323 helpful votes 323 helpful votes
“Auld acquaintance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We spent New Year's Eve here and enjoyed ourselves very much. Among the two dozen Embassy Suites we've stayed in over the years, this one rates near the top for almost everything. One drawback was the lack of good beer at the Manager's Reception--with nothing available but Bud Light--which is like being on the wagon. But everything else was nice and abundant, including Sangria and eggnog. The placement bacon for the breakfast seems a little eccentric--it is offered with the sausage in an annex of the omelet station. I had to ask some people where they got theirs. Our suite was fine in every way. The staff was nice without exception. It is hardly the property's fault that some youngsters were raising hell next door on New Year's Eve. A bonus is the abundance of good restaurants in the vicinity, some in walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our Embassy Suites Richmond staff. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your loyalty, we want to continue to earn your business! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    150
    50
    25
    8
See reviews for
200
80
21
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011 via mobile

Got stuck with a smoking room the night before I ran a marathon (who still has smoking rooms). Needless to say everything stunk. Carpet and furniture in room outdated. Elevators very slow. Had to ask for an iron for our room twice, since ours was missing. Room also small compared to other Embassy Suites I've been to.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Good for you running the Marathon!! The hotel was full the night of the marathon and of our five smoking rooms it is unfortunate we did not have the option to switch you to a nonsmoking. We hope you did well in the race and thanks for running the Richmond Marathon! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

I was traveling on business and spent one night at this property. The location is perfect, close to the highway and restaurants, and some nearby shopping opportunities. Check-in was ok with one person working the desk. I was provided a room facing the back of the hotel where I suppose it was quieter but not sure if it makes a difference what side of the hotel you're on. The room was clean and spacious, and comfortable, efficient, and typical of Embassy Suite properties. The desk area was well-lit for my business working needs, and there was a sink, microwave, and refrigerator for small items.

The bathroom was small but acceptable, and clean. There was an ample amount of towels and the standard hotel toiletries like shampoo and conditioner. The ventilation system was good at removing bathroom steam and moving the air out.

The bedroom was spacious. It also included a TV and a separate sink counter. The only hangup was that the coffee maker was broken, and apparently the maid did not empty out the water from the previous guest's stay. I found out that the water was in there because the water merely recirculated the hot water back into the resevoir, so no water came out through the coffee grounds funnel. When I asked the front desk for a replacement, the one brought up was also broken. I gave up!

The bed was comfortable and had clean sheets and a clean bedcover. The bedroom tempertature control unit was in working condition and was not noisy.

The breakfast the next morning was sufficient and filling. No complaints here. Check-out was also fast. I would stay here again as it was a good value for the price. Not a spectacular property but just perfect for a one night stay on business.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel. We hope our central location, spacious suites, value, and staff will make us your first choice when in Richmond. We do apologize for the issue you had with the coffee maker and thank you for letting us know. Hope to see you again! Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

I stayed at the hotel in August. Absolutely wonderful accommodations! The staff was great. Bobby, at the front desk, was simply awesome. He had a huge smile for guests every morning, and it put a smile on my face at the same time. I was initially in a room above the pool and asked to change rooms as there was a chlorine odor that bothered me. Bobby was sooo helpful during that transition.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
We are so glad you chose Embassy Suites for your stay in Richmond! It will be my pleasure to share you remarks with Bobby and how he has made a difference! We hope to see you again soon - Best Regards, Kathleen Lyons, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

We visit my wife's relatives at Christmas and Embassy Suites Richmond has been our home for the holidays the past three years. Comfortable rooms, great breakfast and happy hour; nice pool and sauna; convienent location. The staff is friendly and professional. Never had a problem. Just made this year's reservation, and I know we won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHRichmond, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, December 20, 2011
Thank you for your review of the Embassy Suites Richmond. On behalf of our dedicated staff, thank you for recommending our hotel and staff. We appreciate your loyalty and are honored to be your hotel of choice in the Richmond area. Happy Holidays, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We arrived extremely late, and we were welcomed quickly and courteously. The room was nice and the lobby was beautiful. The complimentary breakfast was bountiful and was impressed by the omelet station. Hotel was clean, hot tub and pool were nice. Bar closes early though. All around great place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Dear Valued Guest, We look forward to your return to our Embassy Suites Hotel in Richmond. Our tropical atrium is one of a kind and we are glad you took advantage of our Cooked to Order Hot Breakfast. Our staff takes pride in taking care of our guests and thank you for sharing your thoughts. Yours in Hospitality, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I picked this hotel in Richmond off the web for its location and room rates. The hotel is off a main highway, but in a pretty quiet enclave. Inside, it has a pleasing atrium with a small pool and green plants. The swimming pool (small but okay and with a jacuzzi) is behind the adjacent breakfast area. Breakfast is included and guests get a card for free drinks in the evening. The dinner food in the bar area is pretty good. The people who work at the hotel are outstanding for their courtesy and helpfulness, from the breakfast help to the bar to the front desk. They really watch out for you. So it's no wonder that the place was filled with cheerful customers, a good number of them families.

Room Tip: I had a room/suite on the ground floor, meant for someone handicapped. It had a walk in shower and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear Valued Guest, We look forward to your return to our Embassy Suites Hotel in Richmond. Our tropical atrium is one of a kind in Richmond! We are glad you took advantage of our Cooked to Order Hot Breakfast and Evening Reception included with your suite. We are please you decided to try us for dinner and will pass your comments to our chef and staff. Our staff takes pride in taking care of our guests and thank you for sharing your thoughts! Yours in Hospitality, Kathleen Lyons, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center

Address: 2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Richmond
#9 Business Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center is located in the West End and only 3 miles from the University of Richmond. The hotel is in close proximity to shopping in Carytown, the Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens and the Richmond International Raceway. Enjoy the space and comforts of our two-room suites that offer a separate bedroom and living room as well as two 37-inch flat-screen HDTVs and complimentary high-speed internet access. The hotel is very close to many corporate offices, which makes it ideal for business travelers. Hold business meetings or group gatherings in the hotel's 10,000 sq. ft. Executive Meeting Center, a conference facility with ergonomic chairs, wall-to-wall whiteboards, high-tech A/V equipment, and adjustable lighting. Take a break from business in the heated indoor salt water pool or relax in the whirlpool spa. Stay in shape in the fitness center and then wind down in the sauna. Enjoy a delicious meal at the hotel's signature restaurant, Atrium Grill and begin each day with a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Hotel Richmond
Richmond Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.