We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, renovated rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #9 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great service, renovated rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2007

This hotel has been renovated fairly recently. Our suite had upscale furniture and was spotlessly clean. All the employees were very friendly, and the service at breakfast and at the manager's reception was great. Very reasonably priced, too. Definitely would stay here again.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    150
    50
    25
    8
See reviews for
201
80
21
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2007

We stayed at this hotel in an one bedroom suite with three small kids. The suite was well organized, it even had a door between the "living room" and the bedroom. Everything was very clean. They have complimentary hot breakfast and snacks and drinks in the evening. The indoor pool looked nice and there were some kids playing there but we didn't get to use it.
I would gladly stay at this hotel again .

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcellville, VA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2007

We spent Thanksgiving night at this hotel after having dinner at my brother's house. Check in was smooth and the staff was super friendly. Room was nice, although I agree with previous posts that the carpet needs to be replaced. Also, the popcorn ceiling in our room was falling apart in places.
Manager's reception was very quiet and the bartender was very sweet. However, there was a host checking everyone's "passport key" (which proved you were really staying there) a bit obnoxiously. He was really harassing one table and they were getting upset with him......rightfully so.
The walls were paper thin, to the point where you could here people using the bathroom above your bed :(
Breakfast in the AM was a NIGHTMARE. TONS of people, not enough tables, not enough food, staff not knowing what to do.....the worst Embassy Suites breakfast we've ever had. Complete chaos!!!
My kids really enjoyed the indoor pool.
We likely will not stay here again.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viriginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2007

I cannot say enough wonderful things about this hotel. It was luxurious and upscale. The atrium/lobby was lovely and the rooms were very nicely appointed. The only detraction was the carpeting in the rooms which needs to be replace. Ours was stained and worn with many sticky spots of apparent "gum" stuck to it. This was only an issue for us since we have a 9 month old who wanted to crawl around on the floor. But that aside, all else was perfect. The free breakfast is absolutey fabulous, I've never had a free breakfast so lavish. A made to order omlette bar and a big variety of other hot items as well as many continental cold breakfast items. We did not use the pool or hot tub, but they looked fantastic as well. I would reccomend a stay here. We plan to return when in the area visiting family again.

  • Liked — Lovely facility
  • Disliked — carpets
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

My husband and I stayed for one night with our 6-month -old and were pleasantly surprised. The room was nicely decorated and very clean. The best part, though, was that the public areas are great for just hanging out, and the free food (breakfast, evening snacks and drinks) was actually good. (I had fresh blueberries and Dannon yogurt for breakfast.) Friendly staff. Be forewarned that all the restaurants on the strip had long waits at 5 pm on a Saturday. We ended up eating in the (nearly empty) hotel restaurant. Hubby said it was "the best chicken sandwich in his life".

  • Liked — Public areas of hotel
  • Disliked — Silly balcony
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

We spent three nights here July 2007. The staff was uniformly good, I especially recommend Regina, one of the bar waitresses.

Good location not far off I-64 and a good base for going to W'burg, Jamestown and Monticello to the west.

We would go back. This is our fourth stay at an Embassy, its nice to have the space a suite gives you. My wife likes having a lavatory in the bedroom.

  • Liked — Having a suite
  • Disliked — Crowded, must have been full
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

Haven't stayed at an Embassy Suites before, but based on our experience in Richmond, will be looking for them when we travel!

Our room had a king sized bed (very comfortable) in one room and a pull out sofabed (lumpy, but okay for one person) in the "living room." We enjoyed hanging out in the living room while the early-to-bed family member snoozed.

I was very impressed with the courteous staff at this hotel, down to the helpful cashier in the gift shop who gave me directions to the laundry room. The coffeemaker in the room didn't work, and a brand-new one was brought to me within the hour, even though the hotel was very full. Just a few hours before check out time, I requested a late check out, which was granted in spite of the many similar requests the hotel had.

We were worried about noise from the hallway, but found a box fan in the closet that we turned on to provide ambient noise, which did the trick.

A bonus is that each room has a (very) small balcony and a sliding door that can be opened -- what a luxury to be able to open a window in a hotel room!

The only drawbacks to this hotel are the lumpy pullout mattress and the long trek to the elevators (along brick walkways through the lushly planted lobby) while bringing in luggage. Bring your nice suitcases to pile on the luggage carts!

We were very impressed with the warmth and courtesy at this hotel, and would gladly stay there again.

  • Liked — friendly staff, clean & comfortable room, decor
  • Disliked — lumpy sofabed (but aren't they all!)
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center

Address: 2925 Emerywood Pkwy, Richmond, VA 23294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Richmond
#9 Business Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center is located in the West End and only 3 miles from the University of Richmond. The hotel is in close proximity to shopping in Carytown, the Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens and the Richmond International Raceway. Enjoy the space and comforts of our two-room suites that offer a separate bedroom and living room as well as two 37-inch flat-screen HDTVs and complimentary high-speed internet access. The hotel is very close to many corporate offices, which makes it ideal for business travelers. Hold business meetings or group gatherings in the hotel's 10,000 sq. ft. Executive Meeting Center, a conference facility with ergonomic chairs, wall-to-wall whiteboards, high-tech A/V equipment, and adjustable lighting. Take a break from business in the heated indoor salt water pool or relax in the whirlpool spa. Stay in shape in the fitness center and then wind down in the sauna. Enjoy a delicious meal at the hotel's signature restaurant, Atrium Grill and begin each day with a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Hotel Richmond
Richmond Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Richmond - The Commerce Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.