We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed my stay!!! :D” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Richmond Marriott to your Saves list
Richmond Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 East Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #24 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Dallas
1 review
“I enjoyed my stay!!! :D”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

Although they were doing a lot of renovations during the week we were there.... it didn't bother me at all. I stayed on the 14th floor and had a nice view. The staff was helpful and friendly. The service in the hotel restaurant could have been better, but they were doing their best and may been understaffed the night dined in. Overall... I think it is a great place to stay!!! :D

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    153
    64
    22
    14
See reviews for
67
69
26
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

It's not that the Marriott isn't a decent hotel, because overall, it's slightly above average for a Marriott. However, the hotel is ridiculously overpriced. You'll also be charged for everything under the sun. Internet is hard wired and $12.95 per day. Are you kidding me? Valet parking is $17, and you'll use it because the neighborhood is shady at best. Don't believe me, read all the reviews for other hotels around this one, and you'll notice a trend that pretty much everyone staying here from out of town thinks the area is bad. You won't venture out on foot anywhere after dark. And during the day, well, it's interesting to say the least. So, there you go. You'll add $30 to your room rate without blinking an eye. Rooms are OK, but nothing great. Bedding is nice, but doesn't make up for small rooms at the price they charge at this hotel. Everything is clean, and staff is friendly. Lobby is decent, nothing spectacular, and there is a lounge and coffee bar on the first level.
Now, consider this. On the average, this hotel would cost you about $200 when all is said and done. Compare this to, say, the Five Star Jefferson hotel located about a mile away, which gives you a package deal of a $25 gift card anywhere at the hotel (for food or whatever) and free transportation anywhere in the city, free valet parking, free high speed wireless internet access in the room, and free full buffet breakfast the next morning. I have no affiliation with the Jefferson other than staying there two days after the Marriott, and my bill was actually cheaper and there is no comparison between the two. The Jefferson blows this one away.

So, compare the two options. No brainer. The Marriott is charging 5 star rates for a 3 star hotel. Get real. Again, nothing wrong with the Marriott, it's just not nearly worth the price. Not even close. Do your homework.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mytc
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

The first time i tried on valet parking on this hotel and i lost my electronic stuff on my car. i can't believe they decline to make any payment for my lost. what a worse hotel ever.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

This is a very beautiful hotel. Overall I enjoyed my stay with the convenience of a Starbucks right in the lobby, for me you can't go wrong. As expected for a full-service hotel the prices were higher than the norm for room service and internet was $12.95 per day. The room was nice and comfortable. I had a great sleep in the bed and was well-rested for the next day's on-site meeting. the meeting room was well-appointed with comfortable seaating and excellent food. the food during the meeting was much better than what I received from room service the night before. I ordered salmon caesar salad and the salmon was completely dried out. I asked tham to remove the cost of the salmon and they did and apologized. Conflict resolution is good and the staff did care about my comfort. Good experience and for the right price I might stay here during leisure travel.

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

For starters the hotel is located in a "seedy" part of town, and unsafe to walk around at night. The price for a stay at this Marriott is definitely over priced, and service was terrible. It seemed as if there was a "major melt down" with the management.

We attended a conference, and was surprised to find the restaurant was understaffed and unprepared for handling the event. Long, long, long wait to get an order in, and served. They were never was able to handle the influx of people until the morning we checked out "buffet" breakfast. Also, the cleaning staff never changed the linens or bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

Horrible location in the slummy downtown area. You are in danger if you go outside after dark.. High price parking at $18.00 per day and the valet staff expects a tip on top of the price. Restaurant overpriced with so-so quality food and service.
Room service very poor-left breakfast order on door at 8:00 pm-at 6:30 next morning it was still on the door-missed breakfast. I had a complaint about an article of clothing missing from my luggage that was discovered upon arriving at home. Talked to three different people -desk clerk,security officer and chief of security-Was told the manger would call me after he finished with another call. Three days have passed with no call. The item wasn't worth the frustration ! Any other aspect of this place would be only average. My first time at this Marriott and the last one. The middle group of Holiday-Hampton-Comfort Inns are a much better deal

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

Onthe morning of March 24, 2009 I contacted the reservations department of Marriott to get reservations for May 29, 2009 at the group rate for the upcoming State Republican Convention. They advised that the $129.00 block of rooms were filled but they would reduce the normal priced room from $259.95 down to the group rate. When I had not received email comfirmation by 6:00 P.M. I called the hotel direct and spoke to the on duty manager who advised that they would not honor the $129.00 price even though the reservations department had guarenteed the price. Reservations had even given me a comfirmation number.. It is a shame that a business cannot honor it's committment to customers.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richmond Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Marriott

Address: 500 East Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#19 Business Hotel in Richmond
#23 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richmond Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown, the newly renovated Richmond Marriott offers a blend of luxury and Southern charm. The well-appointed guest rooms and suites at this Richmond hotel offer great views of this city and we offer a complimentary shuttle to a number of diverse dining and entertainment venues. Other upscale amenities or conveniences include our Revive® luxury bedding, lobby Starbucks Coffee Shop and concierge desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Richmond Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Marriott Hotel Richmond
Marriott Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.