We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for gold or higher rewards members” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Richmond Marriott to your Saves list
Richmond Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 East Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #24 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Great for gold or higher rewards members”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Excellent customer service, especially for gold or platinum rewards members. The concierge lounge provides a good breakfast and reasonable evening food. The beds are comfortable, and rooms are well kept. The bathroom is small, but that is no different from most Marriotts.

Room Tip: The back side (odd numbers) is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy P, Manager at Richmond Marriott, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us while you were in Richmond. We appreciate your loyalty as a Marriott Rewards member and are glad you enjoyed the service and amenities we had to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    153
    64
    22
    14
See reviews for
67
69
26
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Convenient location, great room, exceptional customer service, and good food. What more could you want? From the time we checked in to the valet delivery of our car, the staff was attentive and continually asking if they could help in any way. Great visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy P, Manager at Richmond Marriott, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and I am glad you enjoyed both the staff service and our food and beverage outlets located on property! As you experienced during your stay we are more than happy to assist and tend to any of our guest needs. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

The best service I have ever experienced, really great people, all of them. Place is fine, also F&B is good if you don't want to go out. Great for conventions. Rooms are OK, not fancy but still pleasant to stay in.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy P, Manager at Richmond Marriott, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
I am so glad you had an excellent experience with both our staff and the food and beverage outlets we have on property. With the cold weather in Richmond that week, it was a great choice to stay in with one of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The customer service has proven to be one of the best and thorough. They really put pride in greeting you from the front desk to the custodial department. The hotel is clean, adequate, and in order. Nothing over the top, though. I hate that these large hotel chains charge for wifi.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy P, Manager at Richmond Marriott, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to share your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the warmth of our staff service. I can certainly understand your frustration with the internet charges as it is a staple for many of our guests. I hope you decide to give us a second chance to host you and we would be more than happy to include the internet during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We, like a few other recent reviewers, stayed here for a cheerleading competition across the street in the convention center. The hotel is very easy to get to (right off of 95S) and it's similarly easy to get back on the highway to head home. We valeted our car but you did have the option of parking it next door in the garage although they charge you every time you take your car in and out. As soon as we walked through the door of the hotel (noting with glee that there was a Starbucks in the lobby - a major plus in my book), one of the staff approached us to help us check in. She was very friendly, walked us to the elevator to show us where it was and we were allowed to check in about 45 min early.

Our room was at the end of the hallway close to the elevator and it was very quiet at night (even though there were lots of little ones around b/c of the competition). The room was small but it met my number one criterion which is cleanliness. The bathroom was clean, the sheets were white and clean and the bed was fluffy. It's a basic room but we were only there for one night so it was fine for us but it's by no means a luxury hotel. Again, I was good with clean! There were also plenty of plugs for charging all our electronic devices which was nice.

The group were were traveling with ate at T. Miller's downstairs for dinner and the food was also basic but fine. Again, the staff was very accommodating, patient and pleasant as they sat our large group.

So, it's no Ritz Carlton but it was just fine for a one night stay.

Room Tip: Bring your bathing suits if you have little ones - the do have an indoor pool. The gym also looked v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed here on business for two nights in early January when the area was going through a record cold snap. I debated giving it three or four stars. I'd probably give it three and a half if I could.

Check in and transportation. Would be nice if the shuttle went to the airport but it doesn't. About a $35 cab ride from the airport. When cab got to the hotel bit of a traffic jam at the drop off area. Could probably use a couple of more people to retrieve cars so that the small space is not overwhelmed. Check in was easy, people very pleasant. Nice, spacious lobby decorated in the usual Marriott style. Gave me an upgrade to a junior suit. Alas, when I got to the suite on the third floor I opened the door and it smelled distinctly of chlorine. The work out room and the pool are on the second floor so my guess id that some of the smell was leeching up. Actually didn't bother me much because the suite was just a big room with a couch and one mirror on the wall. it overlooked some equipment on the Marriott roof and wasn't that appealing to me. Went back to reception and they gave me a room on the concierge floor.

Location- I guess it is near the convention center but I was going further downtown. The first night there I walked a few blocks down Broad Street to go to a restaurant. A fair number of empty storefronts. I never felt threatened but did not strike me as a vibrant location (at least on the short stretch of Broad that I walked down).

Room- Had a standard room with two double beds. Bed seemed a bit softer than I am used to at Marriott's (not good). Room was clean, nice view. Desk and desk chair fine. Modern TV of good size. Bathroom very small. the kind that you really have to close the door in order to use it. After having said that, it was clean, good soap, shampoo etc. HVAC unit was fine and not obtrusive. Two bottles of complimentary water in the room.

Amenities- Concierge Lounge was not large but the wait staff were very good and very personable. Good pasta at night and nice spread of fruit, eggs, oatmeal etc. in the morning. Fairly extensive work out room with multiple machines. All service people were uniformly pleasant.

Food- Had a drink during the evening at the bar after the concierge lounge closed. The pour on a Tanqueray on the rocks was a little weak but such is life at hotel bars. Service was fine. The next day a couple of colleagues and I had coffee at around 10 am before we left for our meeting. We were greeted promptly but then our waiter disappeared so that when we were ready to leave we had to wait for awhile to get our check.

Check out- Painless.

As I said at the beginning, nothing particularly wrong with the hotel but a couple of small things kept me from giving it four stars.

Room Tip: Might have just been a one off thing, but the room I was initially shown on the third floor above th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Check in was a breeze with friendly and professional staff. Enjoyed restaurant and comfortable room. Received good advice from front desk staff on area attractions and places to dine. Will recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richmond Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Marriott

Address: 500 East Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Richmond
#19 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#23 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richmond Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown, the newly renovated Richmond Marriott offers a blend of luxury and Southern charm. The well-appointed guest rooms and suites at this Richmond hotel offer great views of this city and we offer a complimentary shuttle to a number of diverse dining and entertainment venues. Other upscale amenities or conveniences include our Revive® luxury bedding, lobby Starbucks Coffee Shop and concierge desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Richmond Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Marriott Hotel Richmond
Marriott Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.