We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay and Great Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Arboretum Place, Richmond, VA 23236 (Formerly AmeriSuites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #28 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Stay and Great Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I was in town for a business conference, but did not want to stay at the host hotel because it had bad reviews on trip advisor. I saw that this hotel was close to the host hotel and had great reviews. I decided to give it a shot. I was very pleasantly surprised as I had never stayed at a Hyatt Place hotel. The staff was very friendly, the room was nice and spacious and beds were comfortable. The only drawback to the room was the water pressure in the morning. I guess the water pressure was low due to larger numbers of guests using the showers, etc. in the morning. I am not sure if this happened to other guests at the hotel. Other than that, I have no complaints. The breakfast bar in the morning was great also. There were hot sandwiches and a variety of other breakfast items to choose from. Although the hotel has a gym, guests can also use the Gold's gym that is within walking distance from the hotel. In addition, there is a HUGE mall right down the street from the hotel and lots of places to eat nearby. Great deal!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    40
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
42
27
8
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ogdensburg, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I had never stayed at a Hyatt Place before and was pleasantly surprised by the whole experience. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The room was huge. I didn't expect it to have a sectional sofa and fridge. The bathroom was small but had a nice shower. The large flat panel was nice even though a couple of the channels were a bit garbled. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable with good pillows. The hotel itself is in a business area so there aren't close but there are a lot to choose from within a couple of miles.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I live in Richmond but stayed here one night when my power went out after a storm. The hotel is in an attractive, high end office park with plenty of trees, lakes, and well maintained plantings. Ask for a room that faces the front of the hotel, and you'll have a pretty view of the park-like setting. The property is probably from the mid-1990s but it has been renovated and is well maintained. The rooms are large and have mini-fridges and very comfortable beds and pillows. The bathrooms are small but they are also divided: toilet and shower in their own room with the sink and mirror outside. This is not a motel; the hallways are all inside, and it's all well lit. The place feels safe and secure. One of the better free breakfast buffets I have encountered. Super coffee! The immedate area is not as nice some other parts of Richmond but the hotel has no control over that. Limited dining options in the immediate vicinity (the best bet is probably nearby Tripp's). You're about 10 minutes from downtown Richmond without the bother of staying in downtown Richmond. Easy on/off the local highways. The staff is friendly and on top of things. I'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

At first impression you think this will be a terrific stay. The lobby is well decorated and comfortable with a nice bar area. The staff is friendly and check in super fast. The room was big with a sitting area, big TV and king bed. The negatives that ruined it from being special, are the tiniest, most dysfunctional bathrooms I have seen in a major chain. The door actually hits the toilet and the mirror bangs around when you go to shut the door. The bed was also a disappointment and not as comfy as other hotels. Pool area is nice but stark, no greenery, just concrete and brick. But once again the staff came thru and brought out fresh towels with a smile. So not a bad choice, just some odd design flaws.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I just decided to list a few features that reviews don't always include, regarding room details and vegetarian options. Otherwise, I found the other great reviews to be true for me.

Amenities: When I stayed (May 2012), my room featured a clean bed, an iron & ironing board, hair dryer (in drawer), shampoo & conditioner, toothpaste, alarm clock/radio, coffee/tea maker, and a shower with full tub. The A/C was clean and had no odors, although when I went to bed, I noticed the occasional sound from temperature adjustments. That's probably normal for every hotel. Anyway the sounds weren't too loud, and I found that I could actually turn off the A/C (I'm not too fussy about temperature).

There was also a sofa, table, and a large flat-screen TV with 20-30 common channels plus HBO (free), HBO Family (free), and premium shows.

I didn't plan on swimming, but folks were enjoying the outdoor pool area. Consider bringing swimwear.

Instead of vending machines, you can buy "grab and go" items in the lobby at any hour and optionally bill them to your room, so you don't need to carry loose change. The lobby also sells specialty Starbucks coffees, teas, pastries, beer, wine, and cocktails (but I'm not sure what hours).

The free breakfast (until 9:30 weekdays, 10 am weekends) has just enough variety. Most options are vegetarian. I remember seeing choices like egg/bacon sandwiches, hot oatmeal, pancakes, yogurt, kids' cereal, fresh chopped fruit, toast, raisin bagels, and beverages. The front desk said that the "sweet hot" item varies every day: either pancakes, waffles or french toast. I was told that the morning egg sandwiches always include bacon (they're pre-planned), but vegetarians can buy a made-to-order breakfast sandwich at the nearby counter.

There are many restaurants nearby (such as Golden Corral) -- plus a Mexican restaurant within walking distance.

On each room's phone, there's a button for "Gallery Host" (food orders). The only menus I saw were in the lobby. Most menu items are available 24 hours, including the breakfast sandwiches. Here are the main vegetarian meals I saw:

Hot sandwiches (about $6 each):
Breakfast sandwich with bacon (optional), egg, gouda on a potato roll, plus fruit & potatoes.
Sunrise croissant sandwich (low-carb - spinach, mushrooms, egg and muenster).

Sandwiches with chips & pickle.

8" pizza (pepperoni, sausage or cheese - about $7)

The other reviews say everything else you need. Compared to a nearby inn with inferior reviews, the Hyatt only cost $20 more per night, so I decided to go for it. It was just a 2-night visit, but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

The Hyatt Place was a great stay for our four-day vacation in Richmond. The staff was very friendly. The suite-style room was very comfortable. We enjoyed the use of the pool on a hot, spring day--towels were provided, of course. The breakfast buffet was good and the location of the hotel was very convenient. If traveling to Richmond, "google" Richmond + newspaper to read current events for the time you are visiting. We were able to find "The Secret Garden Party". We purchased tickets before going to Richmond. The Garden Party took place in downtown/historical Richmond with a "progressive, cocktail party theme". Five museums, churches, or other sites had beverages and appetizers. Music was provided as well as a shuttle which went between venues. We had a great time. Next year's "Secret Garden Party" will be scheduled during the 2nd week of May. Check it out!

Room Tip: We booked directly with Hyatt after looking at travel sites to see what prices were available. We a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

The Hyatt Place was wonderful. The lobby has a small bar and a counter where you can purchase a nice variety of food items. They are very reasonably priced. Our room was very large and nicely decorated. The pool area has plenty of seating. The breakfast was also very good. All the food was nicely displayed and offered several different items. I wish we had been able to stay longer to enjoy everything!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum

Address: 201 Arboretum Place, Richmond, VA 23236 (Formerly AmeriSuites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum Hotel Richmond
Hyatt Richmond
Richmond Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.