We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hotel in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Save Saved
You added Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 81 hotels in Richmond
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“Cute hotel in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed at the Commonwealth for 3 nights with my 12 year old son while attending a sports competition at the Greater Richmond Convention Center. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the spacious feel of the king suite that also had a small refrigerator and microwave, and the pull out sofa was very comfortable. Our hotel room felt more like a small apartment and was also very quiet. The location was great - about 5-10 minutes to drive to the convention center. The hotel is also across the street from the capitol building and grounds, which are very pretty. The valet parking was $15 per day and they were very quick to retrieve our car whenever we needed it. There is a Starbucks and a CVS within a few short blocks, a grocery store is a short drive away, and lots of restaurants within easy walking distance in the Shockoe area. They also had a boarding pass printing center. It is an older hotel so don't expect everything to be brand new, but we really enjoyed our stay, loved the charm of the hotel and our room, and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We liked the king suite. It was on the end of the hallway, was large and sunny, and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your kind words. You would be happy to know that we serve Starbucks as our in room coffee, we look forward to a future visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your trip to our Hotel.
Sincerely
Anshu Kapoor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    81
    24
    15
    22
See reviews for
53
63
20
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

James P. was one of the most professional and courteous gentlemen I have ever met. He did an exceptional job of serving us when we ate breakfast and his attention to detail was second to none. I would definitely recommend this hotel and restaurant to anyone staying in the Richmond, VA area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your kind words. I will share your comments with James and the rest of the team and look forward to a future visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your trip to our Hotel.
Sincerely
Anshu Kapoor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here two nights. This is an older building which has had some renovations. Our room was on the top floor, a two room suite, so very spacious, great view overlooking the state capitol building. The bath could stand a little more updating but no real complaints. The elevators need an overhaul. We were almost stranded in one but were able to contact assistance right away and fortunately made it to our room after all.

This hotel offers valet parking due to the lack of a parking lot or on-street parking. That is no problem. Avoid walking uphill on 9th street if you want to avoid panhandlers, who tend to lurk outside the hotel entrance on that street - the hotel's main entrance is on Bank.

Breakfast was excellent and we too would endorse James P's excellent customer service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I recently had the pleasure to stay at this hotel and can't wait to return. I have traveled extensively and can't remember when I was treated so kindly and attentively. Thank you so much for taking care of me and making my stay memorable. I'LL BE BACK VERY SOON!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your kind words. I will share your comments with the rest of the team and look forward to a future visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your trip to our Hotel.
Sincerely
Anshu Kapoor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

James P restored my faith in great customer service. He was on top of his job and his experience really showed through his service and interaction. He was kind, polite, and worked to ensure I had a great experience at the hotel. I would return to this hotel because of James P.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your kind words. I will share your comments with James and the rest of the team and look forward to a future visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your trip to our Hotel.
Sincerely
Anshu Kapoor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

James P was a wonderful breath of fresh air during my stay in Richmond. He works in the restaurant and is a terrific customer-service gentleman.

I will be going back to the Commonwealth Parks Suites during my next stay in Richmond

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your kind words. I will share your comments with James and the rest of the team and look forward to a future visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your trip to our Hotel.
Sincerely
Anshu Kapoor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We arrived ahead of time in town and I called to see if I could get early arrival. We had booked our reservation online and the front desk could not find our reservation on their books. I managed to look up the email on my phone and they found that it had never "ported" over. That being said, the front desk did get me a room early!! All was good except when I got to the room and looked out the window. I must preface this comment by saying it was through no fault whatsoever of the hotel itself, but it's just that the room we had (401) was directly outside some part of the roof access with pipes and equipment. Pretty unsightly! I never said anything so I never go to find out if they would have changed the room. Otherwise the room itself was comfortable and had everything we needed.

Everything else was great. Henry at the front desk was most accomodating. He allowed us to leave our car at the hotel after we checked out and put our luggage in the luggage hold area so we could sightsee. The valet guys were very polite and friendly. James P. who ran the breakfast room was charming and very helpful, especially since we were straggled in at the last moment. All in all we had a really nice stay and we would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask where the room is if that is something you consider high priority. Internet is a breeze to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your kind words. I am sorry that you were not upgraded to a suite which we usually do if we have one available, we look forward to a future visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your trip to our Hotel.
Sincerely
Anshu Kapoor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Address: 901 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#11 Business Hotel in Richmond
#19 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Park Hotel Richmond
Commonwealth Park Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.