We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, Great Spot, James P.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Spacious, Great Spot, James P.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My three-day stay here was quite lovely and quiet after teaching all day. The rooms were spacious though a bit spartan. There were a few infrastructure issues of the sort to be expected with a building of this age - air in the water lines at times, REALLY slow toilet, and slow elevator - but all-in-all a great place to stay, especially given the location right across from the State Capitol.

And, then there is James in the restaurant. All I can say is he cares about what he does, how he does it, and for whom he does it. He was fabulous and puts together one of the best breakfasts I have ever had in a hote, though be sure to get there early while it is at its freshest.

Room Tip: Get a high floor - you will like the view especially on the Capitol side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay and feedback. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, especially the breakfast.
I would appreciate a quick call from you regarding your room number, it will help us investigate the toilet issue, with the newer toilets you have to hold the handle down in order for them to flush properly, it conserves water.
I will share your positive comments with James and the rest of the team, and certainly look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,

Anshu Kapoor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    97
    32
    18
    22
See reviews for
63
76
22
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Mr. James provided excellent service to include following me to the elevator to call for the elevator and even touching the floor in which I was staying. His service was absolutely excellent. I was impressed with the thoroughness of Mr. James explanation of the menu and his attentiveness of my needs. The front desk staff was also subperb. It was a wonderful stay for me my wife and children.

Room Tip: I don't think you could go wrong chosing any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay and feedback. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, especially the breakfast. I will share your positive comments with James and the rest of the team, and certainly look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,

Anshu Kapoor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roebling, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This Hotel was really outstanding, personnel, rooms and area. The personnel from the valet parking person to the front desk where very friendly and helpful. Maxines's served very good food and the two gentlemen were great and made it our place to eat for our two days.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay and feedback. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, especially the breakfast. I will share your positive comments with the team, and certainly look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,

Anshu Kapoor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at the Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel last weekend when visiting our daughter at VCU. The suite was beautiful, with a very large living room where our daughter stayed in a comfortable sofa bed, and a charming bedroom with a king-size bed. The bathroom is perfectly situated between the 2 rooms, with privacy doors to both rooms. The towel warmer didn't work but the bathroom was nice otherwise. We had a perfect view of the State capitol and the hotel was convenient to everything. The staff were very customer-service oriented. The price was excellent for a suite. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review . I will share your comments with the rest of the team and look forward to a future visit. Kind comments like yours go a long way in motivating our team.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Sincerely
Anshu Kapoor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The start of our stay didn't go so well - we were given a smoking room that looked more like a depressing one bedroom college apartment at first. We called down to say we didn't reserve a smoking room and the woman said she'd call right back....after we realized that she wasn't we went downstairs and she was just standing around. Se also told us there were no pack n plays even thought we had confirmed one...after calling the manager we got both a nice nonsmoking room and a pnp. So I think it was more just bad service from one person.
Everyone else has been very helpful. Extra blankets were brought up more quickly than any hotel I've ever been in and the valet guy is very nice and quick.
The best by far is Mr. James P. who runs the breakfast diner on site. Excellent service: friendly, quick, and genuine. He could work anywhere he wants I'd bet but I think he really enjoys running the store here. Makes an average hotel breakfast feel one or two stars higher.
The room we got (after the first awful one) is very large with large windows and a comfortable bed.
Heat lamps in bathroom are nice.
Bedroom is separate from living and bathroom which is good since we have a toddler who naps and goes to bed before us.
We stayed here for the marathon - it's walking distance robots start and finish line which is great!

Room Tip: Ensure your room is or is not smoking before hand. If you want a view, make it known ahead of time s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review . I will share your comments with James and the rest of the team and look forward to a future visit.
The front desk person did call me to find the location of the pack and play. She was waiting for the valet to get back with the pack and play before calling you, and that is why your probably noticed her just standing around, as she is not supposed to leave the desk unattended at any time, though she should have called you to explain what was going on.
I am happy that you were moved to a non smoking room and enjoyed the rest of your stay.

Sincerely
Anshu Kapoor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

For our suite from orbit for a great price. Loved our suite, felt like we took a step back in time. Loads of charm. James in the restaurant is wonderful, just as everyone says! We will stay here again next time we here

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review . I will share your comments with James and the rest of the team and look forward to a future visit.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Sincerely
Anshu Kapoor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

While our room was nice, including a bidet and a towel warmer, the bidet leaked from the wall, and the towel warmer didn't work. I feel like this place was really nice at one point but fell into disrepair. Also, at times it was hard to sleep from all the street noise even on the 7th floor.

Dinner at the restaurant was mediocre (great onion rings but limited selection, and frozen hamburger patties that were still cold), but I don't blame the service staff because there doesn't seem to be much traffic through there anyway. Prices were still reasonable.

The shining star of our stay, I must acknowledge, was the buffet breakfast. The food was good, reasonably priced, and our server/chef (James P.) was pleasant and on the ball despite the number of guests all entering at once.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the North Side if you don't like street noise when sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review . The bidet in your room had a faulty valve and was replaced. The towel warmers do take a little while to warm up because of the size. Being a downtown property we do get a fair share of ' Sounds of the CIty'. I apologize for any inconvenience.
I will share your comments with James and the rest of the team and look forward to a future visit.
We are happy that you enjoyed rest of your stay with us.
Sincerely
Anshu Kapoor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Address: 901 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Richmond
#17 Family Hotel in Richmond
#17 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Park Hotel Richmond
Commonwealth Park Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.