We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service/Great Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 East Canal Street, Richmond, VA 23219   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 81 hotels in Richmond
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Service/Great Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wednesday night had a 2.5 hour hospitality for Priority Club members. Free beer, wine and food. Chicken fingers, salad, desserts, fruit and cheeses. Played trivia. Great time. Very clean room and great service. Restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Hello S, thank you for your review and input. We hope you will be returning to enjoy our updated IHG Rewards Parties...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    128
    57
    29
    20
See reviews for
56
64
21
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

If you are expecting southern hospitality you won't get it here. The check-in girl never cracked a smile. When we called to ask about breakfast the lady hung up on us. When we called back she said breakfast was included in our room. We found out later it wasn't included. There were nasty stains on our sheets. We were so tired and had already unpacked we prayed the hot water killed anything bad. Thankfully we were there for only one day otherwise we would have found another hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear SVinLV: Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and sharing your experiences. We apologize that your stay did not meet yours or our expectations - your experiences are out of the ordinary for our Hotel, and we appreciate you noting them. We have shared your review with members of our staff, as your comments are critical in helping to ensure the items you mentioned do not happen again. Thank you again for your review.

Deanna Bourgault (on behalf of Scott Jones, GM)
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Paid $133 (total) for a Saturday night room. There was a girls volleyball tournament going on in town so the hotels in the city were packed. The girls running around the hotel wasn't a big deal. The paper thin walls between the rooms were. Especially at 6am when te wake up calls came in so they could make it to their games on time.

Nice, big flat screen tv. Microwave and small fridge. Room was clean. Overall, good value. We stayed here because we wanted to experience the Richmond nightlife and pay less than $150. Plenty of cool bars are within a mile of this hotel. I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Booked a Saturday night for a recent stay in Richmond. We were happy with the hotel accommodation. Room decor was updated and modern and came with a fridge, microwave and coffee pot. Room service is available but opted to have breakfast at the cafe on site. Enjoyed two breakfast buffets with coffee/juice included for about $30 bucks which we thought was a great deal. Not really a walkable neighborhood for restaurants etc although you are not very far from the canal and could walk there from the front door. The hotel sits in the financial district and caters mostly to the business traveler during the week but on the weekends it's only about $100/night. There is an adjacent parking garage for about $12 a day to self park but the meters on the street are free on the weekend so we parked in front of the side entrance for free and did not have to worry about in and out charges. Only criticism is that we asked for a room with with a view on our reservation but were given a room overlooking the street, empty parking lot and work site. Given that the hotel was near empty, this was a bit annoying. The side of the hotel overlooking the water is the most scenic and anyone in the hospitality industry should know this. We were too tired to ask for a switch for one night so would strongly suggest that any special requests be reiterated on check in.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dcraw, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and review of our property. We apologize that you did not receive a room with a better view for which you had requested. We hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My husband & I stayed at this property this past October for one nite & were met at the Front Desk by a lovely woman named Jeanie Walton. She was superb! Very friendy & accomodating. She even gave us an upgrade at no additonal cost and the room was specatular! Beautifully appointed & clean. Great view of the city! We weren't there long enough to enjoy the other facilities on the property but everyone was so nice. Great staff! The next time we visit Richmond, we will definitely stay here and take advantage of all of the history the city has to offer within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you Mary H for taking the time to review our hotel. I will pass your wonderful comments forward to Jeanie. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is looking very tired and was disappointing considering the price of the rooms. I think we had the smallest bed on the planet, I didn't think hotels were still using double beds. There are some nice touches with the range of a amenity and its in a good location

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear JudyGraham,

We appreciate that you took the time to leave a review. I am glad you were pleased with our location. I am sorry that we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This NYE I decided to feel like I was out of town and booked a room at the Crown Plaza downtown. I've been in this hotel numerous times and heard it had been remodeled, but it really exceeded my friends and I's expectations. The view was perfect and showcased the downtown's bright lights and tall building. I really felt like I was in another city. The staff was helpful and friendly. The rooms were spacious and modern. The location was convenient and accessible to everything we planned for the night; dinner, entertainment, night life, coffee. Not to mention the price of the hotel was extremely affordable considering it was NYE. I will definitely recommend the Crown Plaza to people that visit from out of town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Hello Steve, thank you for taking the time to review our New Years Eve package. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown

Address: 555 East Canal Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown and discover all that downtown Richmond has to offer. You are in the heart of the financial district, shopping, dining, and entertainment. You are within easy walking distance of Shockoe Slip, Shockoe Bottom and many of Virginia s Fortune 500 Companies.The Crowne Plaza overlooks the newly restored Canal Walk and the Tredegar Civil War Museum. We are centrally located to many of Richmond's attractions with convenient access to Interstates 95 and 64, only 9.8 miles from Richmond International Airport. You will have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Complimentary high-speed Internet, business center, and 7 layers of comfort bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. Considering these options, the Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown is the superior choice when deciding on a facility that has style and class, yet is ideal in location for anyone. Now open The Great Room proudly serving Starbucks Coffee, fresh pastries, gourmet sandwiches and soups, The Great Room features soft seating, large screen TV, wired and wireless free high-speed Internet connections--a great place to start or end your day! Attractions: The Carpenter Center for Performing Arts, Landmark Theatre, the Governor s Mansion, Kings Dominion, Busch Gardens, Richmond Ballet, Richmond Convention Center, Virginia Science Museum, Shockoe Slip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown Hotel Richmond
Richmond Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.