We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food services staff was great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 East Canal Street, Richmond, VA 23219   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #28 of 80 hotels in Richmond
Winchendon, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The food services staff was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The really wonderful part of our stay involved the food services staff. Because of a medical condition, my Mom cannot have any added salt in her food. The staff went out of their way to ensure that there was no salt added to anything she ate, whether it was in the restaurant or with room service or at the banquet. They cooked potatoes specifically without salt and, even with 200 people in attendance at the banquet, the chef made sure to make a salt-free chicken dinner. How wonderful is that? The rooms were a bit small, but the beds and pillows were very comfortable. Security was on our floor in the early hours of one morning to stop noisy guests. Evidently someone asked for this. The front desk staff smiled and made you feel welcome. Parking in the attached is free for guests. There is a valet service, as well. One side of the hotel has lovely river views. The other has city views. There are special rates for groups at $85 per night, plus taxes.

Room Tip: Ask for a too facing the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Hello Ladysuper, thank you for your wonderful review of your experience with our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your comments to our Food and Beveage department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    129
    57
    28
    20
See reviews for
58
65
21
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I was a guest at the Downtown Crown Plaza in Richmond,VA for the VUU Homecoming Celebration. The front desk attendant, Althea Coleman was most helpful and assisted me with any questions and addressed all of my needs which enhanced my stay, and made it most enjoyable. I will be a return guest next year to your hotel and other Crown Plazas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Hello Tammy S, thank you for your review and feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your Homecoming weekend and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESQUIMALT
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I travel extensively and while enjoying customer service in normal situations is one thing, its how you respond in an emergent or unusual situation that really shows a team's "mettle". I cant thank the staff of Crowne Plaza enough for their service and assistance. My father took ill while on a vacation to Richmond and I flew from the WestCoast to Richmond while he was taken to hospital. The staff at the hotel, not only held the room for him overnight, but moved him to an adjacent room with me once he was released from hospital and back to the hotel. They gave us complimentary breakfast the following day to ease our concerns about leaving the hotel or taking on anything too strenuous. The concierge and lobby staff were tremendously accomodating and helpful. We got to enjoy the proximity of the hotel to the River Walk and local restaurants as my father recovered. They held our luggage for us, at various times, as our tnew last minute travel arrangements were well after checkout time. I observed the staff enjoying each others company, and trying to improve lobby displays while we waited. Great job, Crowne Plaza...kudos to all. I hope to return to really enjoy Richmond, Virginia and would definitely stay with you again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear ESQUIMALT, our team would like to wish your dad a speedy recovery and good health in the future. Thank you for your kind words. We are looking forward to your return.

Scott Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown for VUU’s 2012 Homecoming. The free parking and breakfast buffet were wonderful inclusions; although I did not partake of the buffet. It appeared the hotel was not adequately prepared to accommodate the massive crowd which was VUU and another large convention.
One problem was that at any given time elevators were out of commission and the wait time was as long as thirty minutes which was horrific. My room was on the fourteenth floor and the expectation for any guest to take the stairs to the higher floors was unfathomable.
The lodging accommodations were mediocre at best. The bathroom was not cleaned well as many long hairs were found in the sink and all over the floor. In addition, the tub drain was clogged. The water was extremely slow draining which held me hostage as I couldn’t clean the tub then take a shower in a timely manner in preparation for the many scheduled activities. But the most awful part was the mildew in the crevices of the tub tiles. The front desk was notified about the problems and the drain problem was eradicated, but mildew problem was not.
On Saturday, housekeeping did not service the room (the do not disturb sign was not on the door nor did anyone knock while the room was occupied) nor were the dirty towels (which were on the bathroom floor) retrieved, but clean towels were left.
Lastly, there was a problem with the door closing; it had to be push hard for complete closure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I would recommend this hotel if you have business in the financial district of Richmond. It is about 3 blocks from the River Walk. My wife and I really enjoyed the historic walk. I would highly recommend the consigliere floor. During the week there is a louge with coffee and light foods. It is open in the morning and evening. The room was very nice with the exception that the edge of our bed was broken down a bit like everyone sat on it to get dressed or something. It gave the illusion of falling out of bed if you rolled to close. Get one on the river side of the hotel. The view is worth it. My only other complaint is that luggage trolleys were not made available without a bellman. I like to move my own luggage but this hotel's policy forces you into a position of having to tip. I also found hot water pressure to be low making the shower only adequate. It is the only hotel we have stayed at lately to provide a shower cap which made my wife quite happy.

Room Tip: I recommend joining Priority Club before making a reservation here. The benefits are good and you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello ppierce57, thank you for providing your valuable feedback that has been very helpful in bettering our hotel. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, CA
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I read the reviews before I booked. Some were awful. I took a chance. The hotel was clean, the room comfortable; there is a gym, pool and jacuzzi and a good restaurant. They even have a shuttle. I found the staff friendly and helpful, especially Desiree and Michelle. Ask for a river view room.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor, river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello Tzipster, thank you for providing feedback that has been used by over staff and management to better our services and product. We hope you return many more times to enjoy our wonderful River View!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia, Virginia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had an awesome time at the Downtown Richmond Crowne Plaza for VUU's 2012 Homecoming. The staff was awesome as they greeted us with their VUU tee shirts on and a banner welcoming VUU to the CP (Nice Touch). The staff was very friendly. Ernest made everyone feel at home in the Great Room. Lisa Hamiliton treated us like royalty. Also Grant and Ben did an excellent job making sure the ball room was set up for the official homecoming dance.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a view of the canal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Mr. White thank you for your compliments concerning your stay this past weekend. I appreciate your many kind words about our staff and Hotel. We are looking forward to hosting more events in the future.

C. Scott Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown

Address: 555 East Canal Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown and discover all that downtown Richmond has to offer. You are in the heart of the financial district, shopping, dining, and entertainment. You are within easy walking distance of Shockoe Slip, Shockoe Bottom and many of Virginia s Fortune 500 Companies.The Crowne Plaza overlooks the newly restored Canal Walk and the Tredegar Civil War Museum. We are centrally located to many of Richmond's attractions with convenient access to Interstates 95 and 64, only 9.8 miles from Richmond International Airport. You will have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Complimentary high-speed Internet, business center, and 7 layers of comfort bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. Considering these options, the Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown is the superior choice when deciding on a facility that has style and class, yet is ideal in location for anyone. Now open The Great Room proudly serving Starbucks Coffee, fresh pastries, gourmet sandwiches and soups, The Great Room features soft seating, large screen TV, wired and wireless free high-speed Internet connections--a great place to start or end your day! Attractions: The Carpenter Center for Performing Arts, Landmark Theatre, the Governor s Mansion, Kings Dominion, Busch Gardens, Richmond Ballet, Richmond Convention Center, Virginia Science Museum, Shockoe Slip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown Hotel Richmond
Richmond Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.