We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VUU Homecoming 2012” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 East Canal Street, Richmond, VA 23219   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #26 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“VUU Homecoming 2012”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown for VUU’s 2012 Homecoming. The free parking and breakfast buffet were wonderful inclusions; although I did not partake of the buffet. It appeared the hotel was not adequately prepared to accommodate the massive crowd which was VUU and another large convention.
One problem was that at any given time elevators were out of commission and the wait time was as long as thirty minutes which was horrific. My room was on the fourteenth floor and the expectation for any guest to take the stairs to the higher floors was unfathomable.
The lodging accommodations were mediocre at best. The bathroom was not cleaned well as many long hairs were found in the sink and all over the floor. In addition, the tub drain was clogged. The water was extremely slow draining which held me hostage as I couldn’t clean the tub then take a shower in a timely manner in preparation for the many scheduled activities. But the most awful part was the mildew in the crevices of the tub tiles. The front desk was notified about the problems and the drain problem was eradicated, but mildew problem was not.
On Saturday, housekeeping did not service the room (the do not disturb sign was not on the door nor did anyone knock while the room was occupied) nor were the dirty towels (which were on the bathroom floor) retrieved, but clean towels were left.
Lastly, there was a problem with the door closing; it had to be push hard for complete closure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    159
    68
    37
    27
See reviews for
83
90
26
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I would recommend this hotel if you have business in the financial district of Richmond. It is about 3 blocks from the River Walk. My wife and I really enjoyed the historic walk. I would highly recommend the consigliere floor. During the week there is a louge with coffee and light foods. It is open in the morning and evening. The room was very nice with the exception that the edge of our bed was broken down a bit like everyone sat on it to get dressed or something. It gave the illusion of falling out of bed if you rolled to close. Get one on the river side of the hotel. The view is worth it. My only other complaint is that luggage trolleys were not made available without a bellman. I like to move my own luggage but this hotel's policy forces you into a position of having to tip. I also found hot water pressure to be low making the shower only adequate. It is the only hotel we have stayed at lately to provide a shower cap which made my wife quite happy.

Room Tip: I recommend joining Priority Club before making a reservation here. The benefits are good and you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hello ppierce57, thank you for providing your valuable feedback that has been very helpful in bettering our hotel. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, CA
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I read the reviews before I booked. Some were awful. I took a chance. The hotel was clean, the room comfortable; there is a gym, pool and jacuzzi and a good restaurant. They even have a shuttle. I found the staff friendly and helpful, especially Desiree and Michelle. Ask for a river view room.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor, river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hello Tzipster, thank you for providing feedback that has been used by over staff and management to better our services and product. We hope you return many more times to enjoy our wonderful River View!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia, Virginia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had an awesome time at the Downtown Richmond Crowne Plaza for VUU's 2012 Homecoming. The staff was awesome as they greeted us with their VUU tee shirts on and a banner welcoming VUU to the CP (Nice Touch). The staff was very friendly. Ernest made everyone feel at home in the Great Room. Lisa Hamiliton treated us like royalty. Also Grant and Ben did an excellent job making sure the ball room was set up for the official homecoming dance.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a view of the canal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Mr. White thank you for your compliments concerning your stay this past weekend. I appreciate your many kind words about our staff and Hotel. We are looking forward to hosting more events in the future.

C. Scott Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here for a local university's homecoming. The hotel is off the beaten path and isn't easy to find (don't use MapQuest for directions). The hotel is old but big. Unfortunately, there are only 3 elevators in this big hotel and the hotel was booked and crowded due to an Amway convention. It appears the Crowne Plaza was the overflow hotel for one of the other hotels. We waited 20 minutes to use the elevator and finally decided to walk the 10 flight of stairs to get to the 2nd floor (we were on the 12th floor). This was a daily occurrence with the elevator. Many times the elevator capacity exceeded the weight limit. The only saving grace to this hotel was it offered an appealing breakfast buffet and they validate parking. The front drive way of the hotel cannot accommodate drop off of guests. The staff were nice. Do not use your check card when checking into the hotel. Always use a credit card. They didn't have the sign posted in guest's view so they put a hold on payment if you use your check/debit card. The stem to the bathroom faucet was broken. The bath soap was broken but in package. They do have a mini refrig and microwave in the guest rooms which was very nice however it does take up closet space if you have more than one person in the room. We constantly had to push in the lock bolt on the door because the door wouldn't close all the way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Mahmeh, thank you for your review. I apologize that our hotel was so crowded and the movement of the multiple groups staying in Richmond slowed our elevators. We consider your input valuable and healthy as we evaluate our services.

C. Scott Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I travel to Richmond VA on business quite often and I always stay at the Crowne Plaza downtown. Their rates are the best in the area and they are walking distance from everywhere in the downtown area. The hospitality of the staff is second to none and their service is the same. As a DOD (Department of Defense) employee I must use the government rate which the Crowne always accommodates. Their rooms are modern, spacious and the hotel offers all the amenities the traveler needs. I must also mention the food at this hotel rivals any you will find in the downtown area. Overall, the staff always makes me feel welcomed, the price is right, and the service is great.

Room Tip: Lots of conventions in the area, plan ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear ONeal G, we sincerely appreciate your taking the time to share your experiences with our property. Thank you for your kind words.

C. Scott Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I was attending a conference and one of the conference attendees pinched my phone and wallet. The hotel staff were VERY helpful in helping me to locate my stolen property - which they recovered two days later in the trash. I worked closely with both the hotel staff and the Conference Organizer throughout those two difficult days and I've decided to write this review because of my wonderful experience and because of the Organizer's comments about her interactions with the hotel - she couldn't have been more positive and pleased with their services.
Thank you!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown

Address: 555 East Canal Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#15 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown and discover all that downtown Richmond has to offer. You are in the heart of the financial district, shopping, dining, and entertainment. You are within easy walking distance of Shockoe Slip, Shockoe Bottom and many of Virginia s Fortune 500 Companies.The Crowne Plaza overlooks the newly restored Canal Walk and the Tredegar Civil War Museum. We are centrally located to many of Richmond's attractions with convenient access to Interstates 95 and 64, only 9.8 miles from Richmond International Airport. You will have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Complimentary high-speed Internet, business center, and 7 layers of comfort bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. Considering these options, the Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown is the superior choice when deciding on a facility that has style and class, yet is ideal in location for anyone. Now open The Great Room proudly serving Starbucks Coffee, fresh pastries, gourmet sandwiches and soups, The Great Room features soft seating, large screen TV, wired and wireless free high-speed Internet connections--a great place to start or end your day! Attractions: The Carpenter Center for Performing Arts, Landmark Theatre, the Governor s Mansion, Kings Dominion, Busch Gardens, Richmond Ballet, Richmond Convention Center, Virginia Science Museum, Shockoe Slip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown Hotel Richmond
Richmond Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.