We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Richmond Northwest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Richmond Northwest to your Saves list
Residence Inn Richmond Northwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3940 Westerre Parkway, Richmond, VA 23233   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #20 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Letter written to owners:

After returning from vacation, we came home to find a pipe had burst causing some very extensive damage to our home. We were told that we needed to move out of our house for a few months while the house was going under construction. I requested a place closer to our house but the relocation specialists made a very strong recommendation that we stay at the Marriott Residence Inn Northwest in Henrico, Virginia because they had received extremely good feedback from other residents. We decided to look at other options, but after evaluating several long term stay hotels, we choose the Marriott Residence Inn NW to be our new home for the next 4 months. The location was near Capital One (where one of us works and the other works from home), dozens of restaurants and shops, and in a safe & secure location.
Upon checking in, Seth (the General Manager), made us feel welcome and thoroughly explained all the services the hotel offered. We were impressed with the grocery shopping services, daily maid service, the morning breakfast buffet (loved the variety), evening manager socials, dinner buffet that included wine and beer, and the pet friendly areas. Even though we didn’t fully utilize many of these services, it was a huge help to us so we could concentrate on maintaining our daily routines and help coordinate the extensive repairs to our home.
The layout of our room worked out very well for our stay. We had a 2 bedroom suite, with 2 full bathrooms, a full kitchen, and living area. The room had plenty of extra space for us to rearrange the room to accommodate a home office setup and a full size piano keyboard for my daughter to continue her piano lessons. The first floor was also convenient for us to let our dog out several times a day.
What is truly great about this hotel is the management and staff. Having previously worked at a 5 star resort many years ago, the staff at this hotel was on par with that service level and exceeded all of our expectations. Any request we made was promptly honored without any hesitation and with a smile. Seth and Jerome make running the hotel look easy. Miriam in housekeeping always made sure our room was clean and well stocked with paper products, fresh towels, and linens. Samantha at the front desk were always there to greet us and provide us our share of adult beverages for the evening manager’s social. Katia, the hostess, always kept a well-stocked breakfast bar and made us feel like we were almost at a full service restaurant with her service. She cheerfully greeted us every night and the mornings she was working .The manager’s social was a pleasant surprise, with beer, wine and a hot meal that appealed to most people’s taste.
Aside from Seth’s friendly and professional demeanor EVERY DAY (he was consistently personable the entire time to us and made us feel like ‘residents’ and not just ‘guests), Jerome was always there to greet us and strike up a conversation. We looked forward to seeing both of them and talking to both of them. Also, my daughter mentioned that she loved Seth. 
One other notable was the maintenance man. He was always patient with repeated requests, courteous, respectful, and immediately responded to any request we had. One repeated “request” we had was giving us new room keys REPEATEDLY. Room keys aren’t something we’re used to carrying with us all the time so we would go 1 to 2X a week to the front desk to have them make up more when we’d forget them in our room. Never once did they make us feel foolish for asking them to do this.
At the end of 4 months, I am extremely happy to be back in my home, but I will definitely miss the staff at this hotel. We have told all of our friends that we feel like we’ve made new friends in both the staff and the other long term guests. You can tell that service levels are good when they are consistent throughout many months. It’s easy to get away with gaps in service for a day or two. Guests may not notice. When you’re at the same place for 4 months, you know it’s not an act.
Thanks Residence Inn and Staff for making our 4 months bearable—and even FUN.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RICIN_12, General Manager at Residence Inn Richmond Northwest, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review. I will be contacting you soon in regards to the renovation. Thanks again and you guys are more than welcome to stop by anytime for evening social or to use the pool.

Seth Weiss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    41
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
49
13
5
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

we stayed here because it was close to my family. the rooms are nice and large. I like having a fridge in the room. It is in a good location, but off the main street. Front desk staff very nice.
The iron was broken, but with one call I had a new one right away! They don't offer body lotion as an amenity so don't forget to bring your own if you need it. We didn't use the breakfast or cocktail hours because of family functions but we would have. Nice to have that option.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RICIN_12, General Manager at Residence Inn Richmond Northwest, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. I am glad you were able to stay with us and enjoy your Two Bedroom Suite it is definitly a large comfortable room. The front desk will be glad to hear your comments and I will pass them on. Although, we do not have the lotion in the guest room suites we have plenty at the desk if needed. I hope to see you again in the future so that you can take advantage of the large breakfast and complimentary dinners with beer and wine.

Warmest regards,
Seth Weiss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Lovely decor, spacious, well laid out, comfortable bed, everything worked. Nice staff, great full breakfast. The compressor in the full-sized fridge can be noisy if you're trying to get to sleep, but turn down the fridge temperature when you arrive then turn it up (and turn off the ice maker) when you go to bed and it's no problem. The only real drawback here is the noisy AC. It will wake you up and is even annoyingly loud when you're awake in the room. We had pleasant outside temperatures and were fine once we turned it off but I wouldn't stay here in warm weather. Also, they've made no provision for recycling which is too bad. Otherwise though, this place has lots of advantages and we'd stay here again if we knew we wouldn't need the AC.

Room Tip: There are 4 floors, with an elevator. If you don't want potential noise above you ask for the 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RICIN_12, General Manager at Residence Inn Richmond Northwest, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. I am glad you were able to enjoy your stay even with the noisy AC. We are in the process of replacing the units and would love you to come back even when the temps rise. I will pass on your comments to the team and hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Seth Weiss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
271 helpful votes 271 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We spent two nights in the two bedroom suite while our son and daughter-in-law were with us, and then two nights in a one bedroom suite. Both suites were excellent, and the front desk staff made it super easy to change rooms, even keeping us on the same floor. All of the staff we came into contact with were polite and helpful, and the breakfast selections had enough variety that we were not eating the same thing every morning. There is a Paneras next door that you can walk to, and other restaurants are nearby. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The two bedroom units are in the corners so they are away from traffic. But our one bedroom was righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RICIN_12, General Manager at Residence Inn Richmond Northwest, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am glad you stayed with us and enjoyed your Two Bedroom Suite with your family, it sounds like you had a great time. Our staff has been here a long time and able to take great care of our guests. I am glad you were able to take advantage of the breakfast and surrounding area. It is really nice to be located in such a great part of town full of restaurants and shopping. Hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Seth Weiss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Our family gathers here once a year to visit an elderly family friend. One of the families has a dog, there have been reservation mix-ups, special requests for kitchen items. In every case someone at the front desk has made things easy - and makes it easy for us to continue to stay here. This morning it was Anthony who made things easier. Thanks, Anthony!

The location is good, the rooms are attractive, breakfast is delicious - but it's the staff who make things great.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RICIN_12, General Manager at Residence Inn Richmond Northwest, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your excellent comments. It is truly the people here that make the difference. Anthony is one of those people. He has been here a few years and his commitment to service goes above and beyond for our guests. I will pass on your comments to him, he will be very happy to hear them.

Warmest Regards,
Seth Weiss
Genera; Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Doing a college tour of Richmond and decided to stay at this Residence Inn before heading to UVA in Charlottesville. Nothing fancy, just a very nice hotel. The staff was very friendly, the room was clean & comfortable, and the included breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RICIN_12, General Manager at Residence Inn Richmond Northwest, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I hope the college tour was a success. I am glad we met your expectations in regards to the room and breakfast. Clean and friendly is the goal of our team and they will be glad to hear we met that goal during your stay. Hope to see you again in the future.

Thanks again,

Seth Weiss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I was very impressed with everything about this hotel. The customer service is excellent!!!! Our room was one of the best I have ever stayed in. Amenities were beyond expectations. We even had a fireplace! We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite so my friend could spend some quality time with her granddaughter, Wonderful arrangement for friends traveling together. Full kitchen! Even had 3 televisions. I will always stay here when in Richmond. Breakfast was good and a huge selection. Again cannot say enough good things about the customer service. Everyone was always helpful and on the lookout for chances to accomodate you. Very clean!!!! Good parking available. WOW!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RICIN_12, General Manager at Residence Inn Richmond Northwest, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am so glad you and your family enjoyed your guest room suite and was able to take advantage of our breakfast. I will pass on your comments to the team and thanks again. Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Seth Weiss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Richmond Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Richmond Northwest

Address: 3940 Westerre Parkway, Richmond, VA 23233
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Richmond
#26 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Richmond Northwest 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Richmond Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Richmond Northwest Hotel Richmond
Richmond Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Richmond Northwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.