We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, Elegant and Historic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jefferson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Jefferson Hotel to your Saves list
The Jefferson Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 W. Franklin Street, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
The Art of the Flower
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Williamsburg, Va.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Romantic, Elegant and Historic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

We stayed at the Jefferson on their Valentine's Day Package. We had a lovely room with a view of the city. They think of everything; they even have heaters at the entrance, to keep you warm while you are waiting for their van. Yes, they have vans that will drive you around the city. In our case, they took us to the wine festival at the convention center. Just call them when you are ready to come back to the hotel.
The conciege service is wonderful, Richmond has so much history, wonderful museums and the recently refurbished capital building.
You can even bring your dog to the Jefferson, for an additional charge. Try to book the Sunday Brunch or afternoon tea, they are very elegant.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    141
    50
    15
    12
See reviews for
144
367
32
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

Everything was great. The location, TJ's, the service, the valet parking. It was great. They also had a town car that would drop you off and pick you up nearby (Carytown and downtown) at no cost.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

Several members of our family attended a wedding at the Jefferson. It was absolutely lovely. Upon arrival at The Jefferson we were greeted with a smile and very prompt service. This is an historic hotel and as such has features that some might think a bit odd. Not too many hotels feature a full sized statue of Thomas Jefferson in front of the check-in counter! It is obvious that the hotel had been built in stages and perhaps before the advent of elevators. It did take a bit of getting used to the different banks of elevators. But, after a few trips up and down we had the layout of the hotel down pat. Our room was quite spacious, the bed linens and window treatments were of the highest quality and in great condition. The towels were huge and thick! Throughout the hotel, the elaborate woodwork and decor was very well cared for. The pool area was delightful. Lovely teak deck chairs welcomed us with thick fluffy towels folded neatly as well as am immaculate changing rooms and pool area.

The wedding itself was amazing. Having the bridal party decend down the grand staircase was truly lovely. The food and service at the reception was first rate. My experience couldn't have been better.

The service at the hotel was impeckable. It was never over the top...but, was sincerely friendly. In fact, we were there on a Sunday when they offer their huge brunch, we had little children with us who were more into an Applebee type of place. When we asked the coincerge if there was such a place nearby, he offered to have a driver take us there....it was just around the corner. My son-in-law got a call from relatives who were dining at a restaurant and one of the party had a bad fall and needed extra bandages. My son-in-law asked the coincerge for the nearest drugstore and again was offered a ride in one of the Jefferson's Town Cars. He was driven to the drug store, the driver waited and then drove him to the restaurant to deliver the bandages then drove him back to The Jefferson. The cost was just a tip!

This hotel's hospitality was outstanding. I will be back!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

Business took me to Richmond and after seeing an article about The Jefferson, I decided to book the nite there, instead of at the offered hotel. This was the best hotel experience I have ever had (and I've had many). So many times you hear the words luxury and are unsure what that really means. Those hoteliers should take a lesson from The Jefferson.

From the moment I entered, the staff worked to insure that my needs were met. When registering, there was a bellman waiting to escort me to my room. When we opened the door to the non-smoking room and smelled smoke, he was immediately on the phone to the desk to make all arrangements to escort me to a new room, which was lovely and -- then returned with the keys.

When I went to the concierge to ask for directions to a few attractions she replied "why bother driving? Use our car service. It's complimentary". What a wonderful amenity.

The staff quickly learns your name and greats you when you enter. They ask if you need assistance. And are ready to assist. "Please, take the umbrella...it's raining out". WOW.

Walking into the hotel is like walking into a dream. The tiffany glass, ceilings and windows, the opullant lobby and rotunda. The bar was just dark enough.

My regret. I could not stay longer. I'm coming back! I didn't get to have tea or try out the pool.

  • Liked — Personal service, opulent lobby space, rooms
  • Disliked — there were no flaws whasoever
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield, tn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

We only stayed one night and if we had not already made plans to move on to other places in Virginia, we would have stayed there the rest of the week. The Christmas decorations were beautiful without being ostentatious. The room was quite affordable and the bed was great. The concierge was helpful and the bellman and check in person were quick and courteous. We were tired, took a nap, and ordered room service, which, while pricey, was probably the best cheeseburger I've ever had. Great food. Awesome place. Highly recommend it.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

My boyfriend stayed here with our golden retriever. The hotel staff was so lovely and accommodating. The front desk clerk was immediately welcoming and was so wonderful to our dog and immediately gave her a bag of treats. We were upgraded to a living room suite so the dog could have extra space and she immediately treated the living room as her own room. The room was comfortable and he Molton Brown products were a nice touch. The view from the room was disappointing, however and the lighting was dark. Dark lighting in the bathroom didn't help with make-up application either. Driving is a necessity to explore the sights in Richmond. Parking was included but we didn't have an issue with street parking (don't know if this is always the case as the hotel is located in the downtown area and it would seem parking should be more difficult). Brunch was also included. The food was incredible...the only thing I suggest is to request seating on the main floor where the brunch is otherwise you may get seated on the second level overlooking the brunch area. It's more quiet and less grand on that level and you have to deal with climbing the grand staircase every time you get food. On the bright side, you didn't worry about people brushing by you as walked back and forth to the brunch tables.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2008

Reviewer: Patrick & Shirley, Bucks. UK
We are very well travelled and this is the first time we have been made so welcome in a large hotel. We were shown up to our room where everything was explained to us. We were addressed by name in the bar and restaurant as well as at reception. Everyone was extremely helpful and an added bonus was a courtesy car on request. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson Hotel

Address: 101 W. Franklin Street, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Jefferson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895, The Jefferson Hotel has been recognized for its genuinely friendly service, luxurious guestrooms, breathtaking architecture and elegant decor. Guests of The Jefferson enjoy two award-winning restaurants, 24-hour room service, a complimentary on-site health facility,indoor swimming pool, and complimentary wireless internet access and local calls. Located in the heart of downtown, all of the city's most popular destinations can be reached using the hotel's complimentary transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jefferson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.