We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jefferson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Jefferson Hotel to your Saves list
The Jefferson Hotel
101 W. Franklin Street, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Forbidden Package
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

My Husband and I stayed at this hotel while interviewing for Neurology Residency programs.

Check in: The hotel concierge was VERY accommodating. It was very easy to book a hotel shuttle to both dinner and the hospital the following morning.

Room: The room itself was very quaint - a bit on the smaller side looking like a room in a fancy inn, but certainly spacious enough and very clean. There was a king sized bed, modern tv with a variety of channels, and bathroom that was well stocked with conditioners, lotions, etc..

Service: Absolutely amazing. The hotel provides a turn-down service, with chocolates on your pillows and classical music playing on your radio when you return in the evening. The bar down in the lobby also made great cocktails.

Overall feel of the hotel: The hotel looks like a luxurious hotel from the last century - it has a certain flair to it that you do not get from more modern hotels. Below the lobby there is a mini "museum" that has pictures, letters and awards highlighting the hotel's history.

Summary: If you are looking for a charming, clean hotel with excellent service - then look no further! This hotel is well aware of its history, and keeps that early 19th century charm alive. To Note: If you are looking for a hotel with a more modern feel, then I would suggest you look elsewhere. I would highly recommend this hotel to a friend staying in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and for your recommendation to other visitors to Richmond. We hope that you will return again soon either as a guest of the hotel or a resident of Richmond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    133
    45
    15
    12
See reviews for
137
340
31
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orinda, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The Jefferson is a beautiful hotel. The lobby and main floor rooms are absolutely striking- the architecture is fabulous. We stayed three nights at the Jefferson. To a person, the staff was wonderful- kind, accommodating and professional. We were to stay in a living room suite but I believe we must have been upgraded as our room was absolutely huge! Beautiful views from windows on three sides of the room. We had room service and the food was excellent. In addition, the food arrived to our room piping hot- a rarity in a hotel. The brined pork chop in particular was excellent. Richmond itself was a bit of a let down- the city has seen better days I believe. But The Jefferson is the star hotel of Richmond or any city.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We appreciate your review and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Jefferson Hotel. Our city has so many wonderful restaurants, museums, outdoor activities and shopping that we hope you will consider returning to enjoy another stay with us at the hotel and to allow our Concierge Team to plan a fun-filled itinerary for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Md
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

it has history architecture style and great service. A one-of-a-kind place located in downtown Richmond.opened in 1895. It has been the host two presidents celebrities, captains of industry for over a hundred years.Don't miss it if you visit the capital of Virginia

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed two nights in the Jefferson Hotel. What a treat! Tour this hotel and you can picture the parties that must have happened here during the Roaring 20s. This historic property just screams “Gatsby!” Be sure to walk through the small alcove under the lobby stairs, which provides an interesting history of the hotel and its owner.

The rooms were comfortable and well appointed. Complementary coffee is served in the lobby in the morning, but I slept too late both mornings to participate. Don’t worry, though, the gift shop downstairs sells coffee to-go, and the ladies in the gift shop are most courteous.

The hotel restaurants are very good. Enjoy the ambiance of the dining rooms of this great hotel! But if you are willing to step out, there’s some great food within a short walk of the hotel. If you are not sure what you are hungry for, I suggest heading to Tarrant’s Café on Broad Street -- pharmacy in a former life, now a great bistro with some delicious food and a menu that has enough variety to satisfy any craving. If you’d like something that serves on white linens, try Bistro 27 just down the block.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your review and for your visit to The Jefferson! The hotel is steeped in history and we love to share that with our guests in our "museum" that you mentioned. Hope you got to see the picture of the alligators and the picture of Elvis in 1953 seated at the hotel's original lunch counter.
We hope you will visit again soon to try some more of Richmond's great restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We love to stay at The Jefferson Hotel, especially during the Christmas holidays as the decorations are extraordinary! Afternoon tea is a must, and the food is fabulous at Lemaire and the Sunday brunch is excellent! The Jefferson has such an interesting history...she is a refined and gracious landmark in Richmond. The rooms are furnished well and are very comfortable. The staff are courteous and attentive. Each and every visit always exceeds our expectations! We hope to stay there again soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your review! We so appreciate all the local Richmonders who regularly stay with us for a getaway. Thanks for sharing the idea with others! We will hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed last weekend and had high expectations for our stay based on The Jefferson Hotel's reputation. The entire experience exceeded our expectations and recommend a stay at The Jefferson Hotel.

Service was top notch. Our room was in an excellent location and the turn down service was a nice touch and greatly appreciated. So many little details added up to a great experience.

We enjoyed our stay and look forward to staying again soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for allowing us to host your "staycation"! We are delighted to have exceeded your expectations and hope that you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiawah Island, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I love The Jefferson Hotel because when I drive in someone is always there to take my bags and when we (my dog Una) go to the desk to check in they always have treats for her. I have a yellow lab who has stayed here several times and the staff treat her like she is a two-legged person. Aside from the hotel being dog friendly the food is delicious. I don't feel like I am eating in a hotel. I feel like I have my own chef. The guest rooms are updated with all the amenities but have the feel of 'old world charm'. I stay here every year in January (on my way to Kiawah Island) and then again in May on my way back to Vermont. To a great staff...Thank you! Tara, Una and sometimes my husband, Hugh.

Room Tip: I have never used the spa but I can say that the exercise room is 'excellent'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for your review and for choosing The Jefferson Hotel for your annual trips too and from Kiawah Island. We appreciate your business and will look forward to seeing you and Una again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson Hotel

Address: 101 W. Franklin Street, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895, The Jefferson Hotel has been recognized for its genuinely friendly service, luxurious guestrooms, breathtaking architecture and elegant decor. Guests of The Jefferson enjoy two award-winning restaurants, 24-hour room service, a complimentary on-site health facility,indoor swimming pool, and complimentary wireless internet access and local calls. Located in the heart of downtown, all of the city's most popular destinations can be reached using the hotel's complimentary transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your The Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jefferson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.