We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jefferson Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Jefferson Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Jefferson Hotel
101 W. Franklin Street, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer at The Jefferson
Ranked #1 of 81 hotels in Richmond
Leawood, Kansas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was a lovely hotel in all respects: breath-taking lobby area; extremely quiet rooms; fabulous and helpful service; great breakfasts and food; very comfortable beds. We brought several guests to the buffet on Sunday (I don't normally do buffets....) and it was quite the event. We love to stay at the top hotel in a city, and this is it. I'd highly recommend. (Note to manager: you may want to consider getting easier/better shower heads. The water blast is quite strong but several isolated sprays go a bit wildly -- which can be a pain. A minor issue, however.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review and for your note regarding the shower head. We appreciate that helpful feedback and apologize for that inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    498
    121
    40
    13
    12
See reviews for
129
303
28
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We wanted to stay in Richmond on our way to NYC. The city is rich is history and also provided a place to stop after 8 hrs of driving. Not ever having visited Richmond or the Jefferson our experience was exceptional. The staff deserve most of the credit although the hotel itself is remarkable and full of history. The wait staff for breakfast was wonderful especially Jacquie who was most accommodating and Austin at the concierge desk who was fun and engaging and inquiring when we ventured out. He help us plan a nice walking day trip to museums and restaurants in the area. The Hotel itself is fabulous. It is elegant and charming and unique in architecture and was once to be torn down except the locals stepped in to save this majestic place. Our room was most comfortable and we had a morning paper at our door which was a nice treat .
Breakfast in the cafe was very good and there are many local restaurants within walking distance . Our experience was more that we expected. There is a very good gym and salt water pool to enjoy as well.The museums in the area are fantastic and interesting.You can even tour the governors mansion if you have time.

Room Tip: our room had a view of the downtown area which was nice and while on the six floor the elevator syst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We are delighted to have been able to exceed your expectations! We have many visitors that are making the same trip that you were on I-95. Thank you for giving The Jefferson and Richmond a try and for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stunning great rooms. We were here for a college - alumni trip and large meeting - great rooms were just that - great. Wonderful group breakfasts for our entourage. Super service upon arrival and staff helpful throughout. Highly recommended when visiting Richmond. A classy step back in time. Excellent fitness area - actually worked out one evening instead of dining out because facility had everything you would need for a serious exercise session.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and your recommendations to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were here for three days. This is a fine and historic hotel. Thomas Jefferson's statue welcomes you in the lobby. This is a circa 1890's luxury hotel. The restaurants were good, the buffet lovely on Sunday, and their prime restaurant, Lemaire, was excellent for both dinner and breakfast. The three level lobby was drop-dead gorgeous. The rooms were quite nice and well appointed. It is downtown near the capitol. We will not miss staying here when we are in the area.

Room Tip: This is a large hotel, with three levels of lobby. There are many different rooms and suites. We cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Jefferson is a beautiful hotel but it is the people that work there that make the experience so special. Thanks to other Tripadvisor reviewers I asked for an exterior room when we checked in - Ben, at the front desk, said there were none in our category but then proceeded to upgrade us to a Queen Suite. The room was huge, with a fireplace mantel and a huge bathroom. Very nice. We had the Rise and Dine package - the people working at TJ's could not have been nicer. We used the van service one evening and, again the van driver was just terrific. We decided to leave a day early because of an impending storm and we decided we wanted to rent a car and drive home instead of taking the train back as we originally planned. The hotel was happy to call for a rental car and arranged for us to be taken to the rental facility by their van with another wonderful driver.

The icing on the cake was when I realized, after we were on the highway, that I forgot my WIFI device - I left it in the room safe. I called the hotel and spoke to Jamil in Hotel Security. He went up to the room, got my device, called me back promptly and had it shipped to my home.

I have been in hotels all over the world and I can honestly say that the people at the Jefferson are the most friendly, service minded people I have encountered in any hotel. Staying at the Jefferson was such a pleasure!

For various reasons we will be back in the Richmond area and the Jefferson will be the only hotel we will stay in.

Room Tip: When booking ask for an exterior room. I didn't know about that there are interior rooms until...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and for recognizing our staff members by name. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Jefferson on your future visits to Richmond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel at the tail-end of our honeymoon. We stayed in a number of hotels throughout the course of our trip, but the Jefferson was definitely the best. Certainly it's not an inexpensive hotel, but I do believe it's worth the price, at least for one night.

The rooms are large and well-appointed. Classy all the way around. The best part of the experience, however, was the shower. Amazing! Huge, walk-in shower, with two shower heads and one overhead rain-effect shower head. All with excellent pressure.

Rooms aside, the hotel itself is very classy and stately. You won't regret booking this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Congratulations on your marriage and thank you for making The Jefferson Hotel a part of your honeymoon. We appreciate your review and hope that you will celebrate anniversaries in the years to come at The Jefferson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater NJ USA
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel but attended several functions related to a wedding that we attended. The hotel is magnificent with all the trapping of another time and era. The lobby is gorgeous complete with its stained glass ceiling and its statue of Jefferson. Go a little farther, and you can go down the wonderful staircase that you see in all the Jefferson photos. Down in this lower lobby at the bottom of the staircase is a little "museum" tucked away in a corner and it shows you the history of the hotel with listing of some of its famous guests and a little about its building and subsequent events. Our friends who were staying there and who arranged the hotel events said that the rooms and amenities were great, but we did not see the rooms themselves. If you are staying in Richmond and are not staying at the Jefferson, make a point of going to visit for dinner or for a drink at the bar just so that you can experience this great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope that you will choose to stay at The Jefferson during your next visit to Richmond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson Hotel

Address: 101 W. Franklin Street, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895, The Jefferson Hotel has been recognized for its genuinely friendly service, luxurious guestrooms, breathtaking architecture and elegant decor. Guests of The Jefferson enjoy two award-winning restaurants, 24-hour room service, a complimentary on-site health facility,indoor swimming pool, and complimentary wireless internet access and local calls. Located in the heart of downtown, all of the city's most popular destinations can be reached using the hotel's complimentary transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Amex, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jefferson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.