We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The. Best. Ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jefferson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Jefferson Hotel to your Saves list
The Jefferson Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 W. Franklin Street, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer at The Jefferson
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The. Best. Ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights here in January. We were in one of the newly refurbished rooms, a suite with a livingroom area, bedroom and beautifully redone bathroom. There were two large screen t.v.s, one in the living area and one in the bedroom. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub, large walk-in shower with a decadent waterfall shower head, and a toilet separated with a closing door, and premium bath products.
The windows had room-darkening curtains, wonderful to allow a full night's rest undisturbed by day or street light. The room service breakfast was tasty and elegantly presented. We used the workout room which had cardio machines and weight machines and some free weights, with a spacious dressing room and shower complete with shampoo, conditioner and body wash.
The pool area was clean and bright; not good for a lap pool since it wasn't regulation sized and would be crowed with just a few people in, but nice for a quick swim.
The best feature overall was the staff: professional and courteous at all times; always willing to provide what you needed in an expeditious manner. We had a problem with the tub stopper not working, and a maintenance person came quickly and resolved the problem.
Having shuttle service available was a huge bonus - we didn't have to get in our own vehicle once.
The only disappointment was the restaurant - we could not get a reservation until 9 p.m. on our arrival night, which we declined, and it was closed the following evening for a private event. We had heard that the food was good, so we were disappointed not to be able to dine there.
Overall a wonderful experience, we look forward to making this an annual event.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and for the special recognition of our staff. We do apologize that Lemaire was not available during your stay. Please know that the restaurant is rarely closed to our guests but was hosting a fund raiser for a favorite charity that evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    149
    51
    15
    12
See reviews for
162
393
40
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Jefferson and I was very surprised that there was a visible layer of dust around the stereo clock and ice bucket. when I opened the curtains, finger prints were all over the window. Not five star at all. The car service and the building itself was wonderful, but check your room to make sure it is clean before you put your suitcase down. We stayed in room 408. The did give a small discount at the desk when I complained, but I wonder if they change the sheets or just make the bed now?

Room Tip: I would check to make sure it was clean, that must dust shows days of neglect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and for making us aware of the issues you experienced with housekeeping. Please be assured that this is not our usual standard and that linens are absolutely changed as each room is serviced. We appreciate that you allowed us to make an adjustment to your room rate prior to your departure and we apologize again for your discomfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I chose to stay at this hotel as part of a Christmas gift for my fiancé. We were welcomed very warmly by the hotel staff as we stepped into the grand rotunda of the hotel. The beautiful architecture and history were ever present no matter what area of the hotel you happened to be in. It was simply lovely! We enjoyed a glass of wine at TJ's Tavern before dinner with an attentive and friendly bartender. Dinner at Lemaire was absolutely fantastic! The service was top notch and the food was beyond delicious. When we retired to our room, we were greeted by turndown service and chocolates. And I must say that the bed in this room is possibly THE most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept on (my fiancé would agree!) The room was very clean (a MUST for me) and well appointed. The walls are a little thin, but we slept well, nonetheless. The Jefferson Hotel is worth the splurge and I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: I don't know if it would help, but I would ask for a room on the opposite side from Franklin Str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and for making The Jefferson a part of your holiday gift.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Jefferson continues to be one of our favorite hotels in the world. You really have to dig to find fault with this property. We stayed in room 242 on Saturday, 1/26 for my wife's birthday. We arrived a bit early, so our room wasn't ready. Miranda had us drop our bags at the Bell desk. We just moved up our lunch reservations at TJ's. Chris, our waiter, was great. Very attentive, in a relaxed way. Lunch was good.

My wife went to the spa and Miranda called my cell when our room was ready. 242 is a delux room with a balcony. If you want to find any fault with the Jefferson, it would be in their rooms. Or, at least, 242. It is a bit dated. The coffee table had water damage, there were a few stains on the carpet, but nothing major. The rooms are a bit noisy from hallway traffic and other rooms, but it is a 100+ year old hotel. All in all, the room was nice.

While my wife was at the Spa, I hit the Gym. The facility is very nice, well equiped and clean.

We had cocktails at the Lemier bar, very nice. Katie and Josh were pleasant.

Dinner at Lemier was outstanding. We both had the same thing, oysters on the half shell and the venison loin. Dessert was the dark chocolate bread pudding. This is a world class restaurant.

We'll be back, soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and your return visit. Please know that we constantly updating the guest rooms and will soon also get to room 242. This is one of our favorites because of the charming little balcony but it is on a more high traffic corner. We hope you'll try a different room next time. Please just let us know that you'd like one that's a little quieter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, NC
Level Contributor
355 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Our oldest son went to VCU, so we had driven past the Jefferson Hotel for years, admiring its elegance and stateliness. Last night, we finally stayed there, because they offered an attractive package including lodging for a night, breakfast in the TJ Room, valet parking, complimentary transportation via their van to and from the hotel within a four mile radius, and two tickets to the Dale Chihuly glass exhibit at the close-by Virginia Museum of Fine Arts. From the moment our car door was opened for us (they whisked it away to park it) until we were warmly bid goodbye, this was a memorable experience. We felt catered to and pampered the entire time. The room was very spacious (three telephones!), with luxurious toiletries, a lighted coat closet with in-room safe, a large and nicely appointed, marble bathroom, with thick towels and plush bathrobes, a large flat-screen TV, a king size bed with lots of pillows, and discreet turn-down service with chocolates, of course! We loved every minute of being in this elegant, classy hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you so enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harborton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The best part of The Jefferson Hotel experiance is found in the public areas. The two story marble pillared grand entry with its beautiful double staircase and towering decorated ceiling is truely a work of art. The restaurants, one up scale, the other a nice bistro, both open to this magnificant area. We upgraded to a suite. It had comfortable beds with nice down pillows. The bath was updated and even featured a telephone and television screen - that could only be used or viewed from the toilet, if that sort of thing turns you on. However, over all the room was not worth the price. On our next trip to Richmond, we will stay somewhere else, and eat at the Jefferson Hotel for our luxurious experience, in a truely grand old hotel.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay at The Jefferson, upgrade to a suite. The double rooms are very disappointing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologize that your satisfaction with your suite did not meet with the remainder of your experience at The Jefferson. We do hope that you will return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was my first trip to Richmond and The Jefferson Hotel. I love staying in grand old hotels. The Jefferson met and exceeded all expectations. The room was updated and luxurious. The public areas are breathtaking. Even more importantly, the service was maybe the best I have seen, anywhere. Complimentary valet parking and shuttles are great perks. I will definately stay at The Jefferson when I am near Richmond.

Room Tip: Just ask for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.8 mi away
Omni Richmond
Omni Richmond
#6 of 84 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 stars 1,160 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#16 of 84 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#13 of 84 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 stars 663 reviews
12.3 mi away
HYATT house Richmond-West
HYATT house Richmond-West
#4 of 84 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson Hotel

Address: 101 W. Franklin Street, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Jefferson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895, The Jefferson Hotel has been recognized for its genuinely friendly service, luxurious guestrooms, breathtaking architecture and elegant decor. Guests of The Jefferson enjoy two award-winning restaurants, 24-hour room service, a complimentary on-site health facility,indoor swimming pool, and complimentary wireless internet access and local calls. Located in the heart of downtown, all of the city's most popular destinations can be reached using the hotel's complimentary transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jefferson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.