We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“歴史的な背景に最高のサービス Historic Hotel with Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jefferson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Jefferson Hotel to your Saves list
The Jefferson Hotel
101 W. Franklin Street, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Forbidden Package
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“歴史的な背景に最高のサービス Historic Hotel with Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

かつて、東京の帝国ホテルを思い出せる様なチャミングなホテルです。サービスがよくて、ホテル内のレストランのLamaireも地元料理、地ビール美味しくいただけます。

Great hotel with much historical significance that has a first-rate staff that provide wonderful service. Lamaire has great food, with an emphasis on local cheeses, beers, and other foods.
I missed the afternoon tea service but would love to try it next time.

Free Wifi with a strong signal throughout the hotel, rates are more than reasonable for what you receive.

Room Tip: My room was up high, away from the elevators as requested and was quite satisfactory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    133
    45
    15
    12
See reviews for
137
340
31
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Jefferson Hotel holds a special place in my heart. I have celebrated many milestone events at this hotel. Through the years the service has remained consistently excellent. The hotel is charming. You really feel as though you are steping back in time when you walk through the doors. The rooms are good sized and each one has a unique floor plan. The rooms are not modern. Rather, they have a charming and historic feel to them. The bathrooms are nicely updated and they have flat screen tvs in all the rooms.

The hotel restaurant, Lamaire, has undergone extensive renovations in recent years. As a woman traveling alone I can't always say that I feel comfortable eating alone at a hotel restaurant or bar. I felt totally at ease having a late dinner and a glass of wine at the bar on a busy Friday night. The staff was welcoming and the food was excellent.

The Jefferson is pet friendly which is wonderful and one of main reasons why I stay here as frequently as I do.

I make a point to come down to Richmond every year at Christmas time. The hotel transforms into something out of storybook at Christmas. Families with little children can be found dressed in their holiday best taking photos and exchanging gifts around the big Christmas tree.

The concierge is very knowledgable about all the great restaurants in the surrounding area. The hotel offers a free shuttle service within a several mile radius allowing you to be shuttled to and from a lovely dinner out in the Fan.

All in all, the Jefferson is my first choice when I'm looking for a place to stay and Richmond. In fact, I often find myself coming up with reasons to visit Richmond just so I can stay at the Jefferson again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your gracious review! We hope that you will plan to join us again during the holidays this year. It promises to be another festive and fun holiday season at The Jefferson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited the hotel for a meal, and what a beautiful hotel it is.
The architecture is beautiful, decor lovely. Oh what a lovely staircase!
The staff were very friendly and helpful in the coffee shop and bar. Also free wi Fi in these areas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for joining us for a meal at The Jefferson. We hope that you will stay overnight during your next visit to Richmond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Jefferson Hotel when traveling through Richmond on our way to a wedding. I picked this hotel because it sounded so different from other hotels. It is such a nice change of pace from other typical chain hotels. The room was so spacious. Wonderful, clean linens, lux towels, perfect for a night.

The staff was really friendly. I specifically requested a quiet room and got one. (The downside is that the guy in the room next to ours made a bunch of phone calls around 4am... but what can you do about that? I don't fault the hotel.)

I would certainly stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review and for choosing The Jefferson based upon our unique qualities. The Jefferson offers a truly "Richmond" experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington DC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Hi, I took a freind to the Jefferson on Sunday for the Brunch. What a wonderful way to visit. We had a wonderful brunch. Everything was good service and food. I had not been there for a few years so I was not sure how it would be. We were sat right off the rotunda quiet . You really can feel good Southern Hospitality . If you are in Richmond on a Sunday I highly recommend you to try the brunch I have stayed here also and was lovely. Enjoy and have fun.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for joining us for Sunday Champagne Brunch and for your terrific review of your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Jefferson is a little different from other five-star hotels where we've stayed. The best part of the hotel is the architecture, from the statue of Thomas Jefferson that greets you in the lobby to the incredible ceiling above him to the wonderful great staircase, or the beautiful ceiling in the rotunda. The hotel room itself was not particularly large, but it had an incredible bathroom. The shower had three shower heads: an overhead one and two on the sides. In addition, it had a separate whirlpool bath. The staff at the hotel was incredibly accommodating. The two restaurants were exceptional. You simply MUST have breakfast at TJ's! The fitness center was above average, but we also had access to an excellent YMCA across the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review. We hope that you tried the Red Velvet pancakes for your breakfast in TJ's.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We spent one night at the Jefferson in Richmond as part of our tour of the Colonial Williamsburg area. We stayed in a superior room, #628, and found it to be comfortable and nicely furnished, but with a somewhat outdated bathroom that had a cracked, loose floor tile.
Otherwise, the room was very clean and comfortable. The bellman told us that many of the rooms have updated bathrooms, so you may want to inquire upon checking in. Dinner at the hotel's restaurant Lemaire was quite good. The parmesan encrusted flounder was excellent. Service was OK because our server seemed to have too many tables causing us to have to flag her down for water refills and wine. Breakfast in TJs the next morning was excellent with Johnathan providing great service. The best part of our stay was the kindness and professionalism of the stafff.

Room Tip: Inquire about rooms with updated bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review and for making us aware of the issues within the bathroom of your guest room. We will certainly address those until that bathroom has been updated, as your bellman correctly noted has already occurred in many of our rooms and is planned for all others.
We also appreciate your comments regarding service in Lemaire and apologize that your server was not able to provide the service that was up to our standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson Hotel

Address: 101 W. Franklin Street, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895, The Jefferson Hotel has been recognized for its genuinely friendly service, luxurious guestrooms, breathtaking architecture and elegant decor. Guests of The Jefferson enjoy two award-winning restaurants, 24-hour room service, a complimentary on-site health facility,indoor swimming pool, and complimentary wireless internet access and local calls. Located in the heart of downtown, all of the city's most popular destinations can be reached using the hotel's complimentary transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jefferson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.