We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lobby!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Jefferson Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Jefferson Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Jefferson Hotel
101 W. Franklin Street, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer at The Jefferson
Ranked #1 of 81 hotels in Richmond
Chester, New Jersey
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“What a lobby!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We've stayed at the Jefferson several times and have always had a good experience. Both the main and lower lobbies are so beautiful. Since we were traveling with our daughter and two granddaughters, aged 3 and 10 weeks, we had a jr. suite which worked out really well. We took the 3 year old swimming in the relatively new indoor pool - we were the only people there and she had a blast. The staff is lovely and very friendly. Since we were in Richmond for a wedding, we only ate breakfast at TJ's, which was fine. We will defenitely return!

Room Tip: Can get a little noisy on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your review and for sharing The Jefferson with your daughter and granddaughters!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    497
    121
    40
    13
    12
See reviews for
128
303
28
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here the weekend of September 14-16 for my niece's wedding which was held at the hotel as well. The hotel is very historic having hosted 12 presidents, including President Obama, and has been in operation since 1895. There are those who believe the grand staircase was the model for the one featured in the Atlanta mansion sequences of "Gone With the Wind".

The public spaces are beautiful, and include a gorgeous stained glass ceiling and windows in the lobby, decorative carvings on ceilings and gold leaf ornamentation, mahogany paneling marble columns.

The rooms, while small, are nicely furnished with comfortable beds which are triple sheeted along with a chair and ottoman, desk area, minibar. The closet includes a safe, iron and ironing board. There is no drawer space aside from the nightstands.

The bathrooms are marbled and come equipped with good blow dryers, shower cap, sewing kit and shampoo, conditioner and body wash.

There is an indoor pool with a small outside patio area with about 6 lounge chairs and round table and chairs. A nice touch.

The only criticism we had was that our room was not serviced on Saturday, the day of the wedding, and we were out all day and put "Service Please" signs on our door handles when we left for the day. This was a bit of an inconvenience as we were trying to get ready for a 5:00 wedding service. On of the couples who traveled with us, had to vacate the room while the staff cleaned it. And this was at 3:00 in the afternoon. We opted to just get a change of towels as we were pressed for time.

My sister, mother and I went to the salon to have our hair blown out for the wedding. I was told that the space was under new management and recently renovated. It offers Aveda products. Aside from our appointment times changing at the last minute, the stylists did a fine job of making our hair look good for the wedding.

We went to the lounge at the hotel's restaurant, Lemaire for pre- and post-wedding cocktails. On Friday afternoon they were featuring a happy hour with $5 Cosmopolitans which our travel companions assured us were very good. The wait staff provided little dishes of smoked Virginia peanuts and an assortment of olives for our nibbling pleasure. It is a very comfortable spot for a cocktail.

We asked the concierge for a recommendation for a breakfast spot in the area and he suggested Perly's a couple of blocks away. What a great recommendation! It was delicious, very reasonable and quite funky. Wish we had gone there on Saturday instead of eating breakfast at pricy Lemaire.

There is an evening turndown service and they provide you with chocolates on your pillow. A nice touch. The valet service was good and not too expensive, at $16/day.

We all promised ourselves that we would definitely stay here the next time we visited Richmond. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and that you would plan to stay again should you return to Richmond again. Thank you for making us aware of the delayed service of your room so that we can address that with our Housekeeping department. We sincerely apologize that this inconvenienced you on the day of your niece's wedding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful stay at The Jefferson. I have been wanting to stay here for years and we decided to make it a special evening for my birthday celebration. The service was outstanding and the food delicious. I love the character of this beautiful hotel. Nothing like it.... It was perfect for a elegant way to celebrate. The dinner was so delicious, as was breakfast, for which we ordered room service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your review and for choosing The Jefferson for your birthday celebration!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

What a great dining experience. My wife and I are in the process of relocating to Richmond and we heard about the restaurant at The Jefferson Hotel. It is an incredibly historic and beautiful hotel. We were told that the staircase in "Gone with the Wind" was inspired by the staircase at The Jefferson. The author was staying at The Jefferson when she wrote the book.

Anyway, back to the restaurant. The seven of us dining this particular evening elected to try several appetizers on the menu to pass around. Every one, especially the fried green tomatoes were amazing and all had a very creative spin from the usual. Chef Walter Bundy is a culinary genius. He is very creative and also uses some of his families favorite recipes which have been handed down from generation to generation. I was also surprised at how reasonably priced the meals were, including the wine. A meal of this caliber in the Cleveland, Ohio area, where we live now, would be 25% more expensive and would not likely offer the ambiance we found at the historic Jefferson Hotel Restaurant. All in all a great experience. We will become regulars.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your review and welcome to Richmond! We look forward to having you as one of our loyal "regulars" and to sharing all of Chef Bundy's seasonal menus with you. We promise not to let you get bored!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I spent two nights in a corner suite in September. Impeccable decor, comfy deep pocket beds with Yves Delorme 310 count linen, Molten Brown soaps and lotions, and I believe Karastan carpeting. Taste abounds in this grand hotel of about 200 rooms. Naturally evening turn down with fine chocolates. But most importantly everyone - top to bottom - were friendly and helpful. Attention to detail from which Four Seasons and Ritz Carlton could learn. Had a light meal at the Lemaire and found the gazpacho spot on, the oysters commonwealth delightfully prepared with oysters that tasted like they were just pulled out the bay. It came as no surprise when I learned this stately hotel is the sister hotel to Nashville's grand five-star Hermitage Hotel.

I am not easily impressed, but I was very impressed. I will return!

Room Tip: My corner suite was huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for posting a review! We are delighted that you enjoyed all the details and hope that you will visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My stay at The Jefferson was 1st class! Everyone is very friendly and waiting to help you...from the front desk to the restaurants and bar. I stayed in a King Suite and the bed was comfy, the room was spacious...and the shower was HUGE! Thanks for a great stay, I will return:).

Room Tip: Because this hotel does not have great views due to it's location, I would recommend asking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for posting a review. We hope that you will return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Jefferson is a truly elegant hotel, with a superb lobby and entrance hall built in turn of the century style with lofty ceilings and sumptous decorations. The staff was unfailingly courteous and helpful and made every effort to make guests feel at home. The hotel provides a courtesy shuttle to such places as the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts (strongly recommended) and the Slip neighborhood of shops and restaurants. Our room was comfortable, with Occitane toileteries in the bathroom and a wide-screen television. Our one reservation concerned the food, which we found disappointing. As other reviewers have noted, the surrounding area has little to commend it and is qute run down, but more pleasant sections of town are only a short drive away.
Overall we would recommend the Jefferson for anyone wanting a comfortable and memorable weekend.

Room Tip: Request a higher room looking out over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear that you did not find our dining to your liking and apologize for any damper that this placed on your overall experience. We hope that you will return again soon and give Lemaire and TJ's a second opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson Hotel

Address: 101 W. Franklin Street, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895, The Jefferson Hotel has been recognized for its genuinely friendly service, luxurious guestrooms, breathtaking architecture and elegant decor. Guests of The Jefferson enjoy two award-winning restaurants, 24-hour room service, a complimentary on-site health facility,indoor swimming pool, and complimentary wireless internet access and local calls. Located in the heart of downtown, all of the city's most popular destinations can be reached using the hotel's complimentary transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Amex, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jefferson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.