We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating and emmotive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Museum of the Confederacy

The Museum of the Confederacy
1201 E. Clay St., Richmond, VA 23219
+1 804-649-1861
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 83 Attractions in Richmond
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Military Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum of the Confederacy is located in Richmond, Virginia. The museum includes the former White House of the Confederacy and maintains a comprehensive collection of artifacts, manuscripts and photographs from the Confederate States of America and the American Civil War (1861–1865). Learn about the leaders of the Confederacy like Jefferson Davis and Robert E. Lee through stories told with their own personal belongings. The Museum also features exhibits focusing on the common soldier and life on the homefront.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Fascinating and emmotive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

2nd visit for me first for 2 friends with me. The Museum is very well set up with plenty of galleries so that you move around quite easily not that it was busy when we were there.
The narratives alongside all the exhibits are very comprehensive and give you a full idea of the events.
The Museum is located next to a large hospital and if you are driving you park in the hospital multi-storey car park and as long as you get your ticket validated by the museum there is no charge for parking.
Well worth a visit - maybe only one downside - there is no coffee shop nearby or at the museum - we arrived about 15 minutes before opening time and had to stand in a bitter wind waiting for the doors to open - no shelter either.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moc1896, Public Relations Manager at The Museum of the Confederacy, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
First of all, thank you so much for coming all the way back to visit us a second time, and for taking the time to write this review!

We're sorry that you had a cold wait before the museum opened. In case you make it back for a third visit, there is a coffee shop and other restaurants located in the hospital next door, and you would certainly be welcome to wait inside the hospital where it is warm. There are several lounge/sitting-areas, including one that overlooks the Museum's entrance, giving you the perfect vantage point to see when we open for visitors.

Thanks again,
MOC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    179
    40
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Do not miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We truly enjoyed our time here. The exhibits are so well laid out and easy to follow. So much information about that time period. We had the most phenomenal tour of the White House! So sorry that we cannot recall the name of our tour guide but he was so knowledgeable. Retired military guy with a true passion for this time period! Amazing and beautiful...don't miss this!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
381 reviews 381 reviews
208 attraction reviews
Reviews in 188 cities Reviews in 188 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Its very hard to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The museum is surrounded by the Virginia University hospital and you gain entry via a multi-storey car park - we luckily found a hospital police officer who pointed out the way in- its very badly sign posted - then we got lost in the car park (?)
Anyway - eventually managed to find floor 8 and as we walked outside - there it is - the museum and Jefferson Davis's 'White House'. We joined the 1-30 tour expertly given by 'Charlie' - 45 minutes and most certainly worth it.
The museum items are well displayed and described - good shop - really enjoyed the entire experience.
Do not to get your parking ticket validated (so its free) - amazing easy exit road out of the car park without driving down all the floors - and straight onto the I-95

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Museum of the Confederacy and the White House in Richmond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Both the White House and the Museum are well worth a visit in my opinion. The guide for the White House tour was as good as a history book, and the information in the Museum's exhibits is very well presented.

Parking is available in the hospital's multi-level facility next door to the Museum, is free on Sundays, and is reasonably priced the rest of the week.

Visited November 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moc1896, Public Relations Manager at The Museum of the Confederacy, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you very much for visiting us and for taking the time to post this review! We really appreciate it.

Just to clarify the parking situation, yes, the VCU Medical Center's visitor parking deck is open and free to everyone on Saturdays and Sundays, but it is also free to Museum guests during the week as well. All a visitor needs to do is bring their parking ticket into the Museum to be validated, and parking is free every day.

Thanks again for visiting and we hope to see you again!
MOC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quality History Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is an excellent history museum loaded with interesting displays about the Confederacy and Historical Artifacts. In Contrast to the Museum of the Civil War across town this museum presents things more through the lens of the confederacy. The displays are well curated and interesting. Only had about 90 minutes could have easily spent 3 hours plus here. Do the tour of the Confederate White House next door as well.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum of the Confederacy also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of the Confederacy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Museum of the Confederacy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.