We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Garden in Richmond” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden

Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden
1800 Lakeside Ave, Richmond, VA 23228
804 262 9887
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 106 Attractions in Richmond
Type: Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: With something for all ages and interests, Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden is a place to learn about plants, to marvel at nature, to relax in a beautiful setting, to take gardening classes, or to have a wedding or a business meeting. A wide variety of experiences are offered through its diverse gardens and facilities. No wonder Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden is consistently one of the most-visited attractions in the Richmond, Va., area.
Mountainside, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Garden in Richmond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The garden is well laid out and has a wide variety of plants and trees. In addition, there are streams, ponds and fountains. The conservatory has a wonderful collection of orchids at one end and succulents at the other end. The cafe has a good assortment of salad, soup and sandwich choices all freshly made. Their guided tours are very informative and the gift shop has a wide variety of items. This is a great place to spend a very relaxing and peaceful day.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    105
    20
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful at Christmas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I lived in Richmond until I was 24, and had never been to the gardens until last year. We went for the Christmas lights, and the display was amazing! I can't believe we had never been. During the day the flowers and greenhouse are stunning, but at night the lights delighted the children (youngest was 2) and adults (oldest 48) in our party. Since we live further away we're not sure if we can make this a tradition, but we absolutely would if we lived in town again!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of A Kind Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden is truly a wonderful visit. From the spacious, simply marvelous and beautiful grounds, to the "trains" in the buildings, the place is a "must see," especially each winters "Festival of Lights!"

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We loved this garden. It was buzzing with activity -- tons of volunteers working, children visiting. The gardens are beautifully planted and stretch over a lot of land. There is a tea house and a nice restaurant where you can eat in the garden. There was a wonderful butterfly exhibit in the conservatory. Nice gift shop. All very gracious. It was a morning well spent.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to see your favorite band!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I've been to a lot of venues around the country and the state. If you live in Richmond this place is great. Very laid back! Easy to get up close to your foavorite band.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.