We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for everyone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden

Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden
1800 Lakeside Ave, Richmond, VA 23228
804 262 9887
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 157 things to do in Richmond
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With something for all ages and interests, Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden is a place to learn about plants, to marvel at nature, to relax in a beautiful setting, to take gardening classes, or to have a wedding or a business meeting. A wide variety of experiences are offered through its diverse gardens and facilities. No wonder Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden is consistently one of the most-visited attractions in the Richmond, Va., area.
USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden offers something for everyone. We've been there in April and on the last day of September and it was equally compelling and interesting each time.

There's a conservatory with seasonal plantings and little houses to explore, and when I was there this time, an enchanting room full of tropical butterflies on loan from the Smithsonian. There's a large children's garden with an expansive treehouse and lots to learn in a fun way. There's a large gently terraced lawn that attracts both children and adults to somersault down it! Some other treats are a large pond with blue gill, bass, turtles, and frogs dwelling therein and footbridges crossing it; several fountains; a sensory garden with plants that smell, taste and feel good; and a small lily pad pond near the conservatory. We have never made it in time to try the teahouse but the setting for it is serene and beautiful, with outside seating in the shade.

Overall, the garden is an inspired blend of naturalistic and formal plantings, order and chaos, perennials and annuals, colour and form, foliage and flower. Obviously, a lot of thought has gone into the design and implementation of the gardens. Worth the trip, whether you have only an hour or three or four.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    127
    25
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rapidan, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An "all season" garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

There is always something special going on in this lovely garden which once was a home for girls and is now owned by the public. The first time I visited there was a large Chihuly glass exhibit. This time there was a traveling tent of exotic tropic butterflies to visit. Even though they must have innumerable gardeners, even the home gardener can pick up some tips for plants and landscaping and there is an extensive and serious garden gift shop.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“excelent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The children's garden is great place for kids. Also you can learn about plants . We really enjoy all the time , this is a great place for a wedding .

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
110 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Your goal: find a quiet spot to relax and reflect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Nice grounds to take a stroll with music and headphones. Complaint #1: it was crowded and noisy the day we visited, so it was a challenge achieving the feeling of peace and serenity that I hope to achieve when visiting a park such as this one. Try finding a quiet bench near the tea house or a quiet spot behind the lake (no benches there; you might want to bring a blanket). Complaint #2: I am 55 years young and DID NOT appreciate the discounted price for people over 55. I would rather pay full price and feel young. Actually, I do feel young, so why does this bother me so much?

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Christmas in Lewis Ginter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was my 3rd visit to the gardens at Christmas and each time it has been magical. The flowers, trees, bushes, etc. are all decorated in lights and makes the garden look like a fairyland. The gift shop has some very interesting articles that would make very nice Christmas gifts and there is model train displays, and much more. It starts on Friday after Thanksgiving and runs til early January. There is the Garden cafe where you can get lunch. I definitely will be going again this Christmas.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.