We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An "all season" garden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden

Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden
1800 Lakeside Ave, Richmond, VA 23228
804 262 9887
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 161 things to do in Richmond
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With something for all ages and interests, Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden is a place to learn about plants, to marvel at nature, to relax in a beautiful setting, to take gardening classes, or to have a wedding or a business meeting. A wide variety of experiences are offered through its diverse gardens and facilities. No wonder Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden is consistently one of the most-visited attractions in the Richmond, Va., area.
Rapidan, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An "all season" garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

There is always something special going on in this lovely garden which once was a home for girls and is now owned by the public. The first time I visited there was a large Chihuly glass exhibit. This time there was a traveling tent of exotic tropic butterflies to visit. Even though they must have innumerable gardeners, even the home gardener can pick up some tips for plants and landscaping and there is an extensive and serious garden gift shop.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    121
    22
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“excelent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The children's garden is great place for kids. Also you can learn about plants . We really enjoy all the time , this is a great place for a wedding .

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
95 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Your goal: find a quiet spot to relax and reflect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Nice grounds to take a stroll with music and headphones. Complaint #1: it was crowded and noisy the day we visited, so it was a challenge achieving the feeling of peace and serenity that I hope to achieve when visiting a park such as this one. Try finding a quiet bench near the tea house or a quiet spot behind the lake (no benches there; you might want to bring a blanket). Complaint #2: I am 55 years young and DID NOT appreciate the discounted price for people over 55. I would rather pay full price and feel young. Actually, I do feel young, so why does this bother me so much?

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Christmas in Lewis Ginter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was my 3rd visit to the gardens at Christmas and each time it has been magical. The flowers, trees, bushes, etc. are all decorated in lights and makes the garden look like a fairyland. The gift shop has some very interesting articles that would make very nice Christmas gifts and there is model train displays, and much more. It starts on Friday after Thanksgiving and runs til early January. There is the Garden cafe where you can get lunch. I definitely will be going again this Christmas.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

What isn't to love about this place. Gorgeous any time of the year with beautiful flowers galore! a great place for a wedding or event.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.