We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gardens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden

Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden
1800 Lakeside Ave, Richmond, VA 23228
804 262 9887
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #3 of 96 attractions in Richmond
Type: Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: With something for all ages and interests, Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden is a place to learn about plants, to marvel at nature, to relax in a beautiful setting, to take gardening classes, or to have a wedding or a business meeting. A wide variety of experiences are offered through its diverse gardens and facilities. No wonder Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden is consistently one of the most-visited attractions in the Richmond, Va., area.
Warrenton, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

If I lived in the area I'd become a member so I could visit often. There was an orchid exhibition during our visit. Most outdoor plants weren't yet in bloom, but the grounds must be spectacular when they are. Staff was friendly. We didn't eat there, but they had a pleasant dining area. In good weather I'd take a picnic.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    80
    17
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“botanical garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

this was a beautiful walk, the flowers were gorgeous and i even learned about flowers that i didnt even know existed. lots of things for kids to learn etc. enjoy it is a lovely walk thru

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Got married here so kinda biased. But it's great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We've been married 10 years plus and the Gardens have only gotten better. It's truly beautiful. And to top it all off, they have fabulous dining at the Japanese Tea Room, summer jazz concerts and over Christmas- festival of lights where you go at night and everything has Christmas lights and is decorated into shapes. It's a bit pricey for a family, but a definite must.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always changing world class garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I went for the butterflies, the Christmas lights and will go again soon to photograph the orchids. never the same for long

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Va
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Orchids were lovely- library is sensational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I visit frequently in various seasons and am never disappointed. The orchid show seemed more extensive and I love visiting the library devoted to gardens, plants, etc

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.