We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“botanical garden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden

Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden
1800 Lakeside Ave, Richmond, VA 23228
804 262 9887
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 99 attractions in Richmond
Type: Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: With something for all ages and interests, Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden is a place to learn about plants, to marvel at nature, to relax in a beautiful setting, to take gardening classes, or to have a wedding or a business meeting. A wide variety of experiences are offered through its diverse gardens and facilities. No wonder Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden is consistently one of the most-visited attractions in the Richmond, Va., area.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“botanical garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

this was a beautiful walk, the flowers were gorgeous and i even learned about flowers that i didnt even know existed. lots of things for kids to learn etc. enjoy it is a lovely walk thru

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    96
    19
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Got married here so kinda biased. But it's great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We've been married 10 years plus and the Gardens have only gotten better. It's truly beautiful. And to top it all off, they have fabulous dining at the Japanese Tea Room, summer jazz concerts and over Christmas- festival of lights where you go at night and everything has Christmas lights and is decorated into shapes. It's a bit pricey for a family, but a definite must.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always changing world class garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I went for the butterflies, the Christmas lights and will go again soon to photograph the orchids. never the same for long

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Va
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Orchids were lovely- library is sensational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I visit frequently in various seasons and am never disappointed. The orchid show seemed more extensive and I love visiting the library devoted to gardens, plants, etc

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Stunning Orchid Exhibit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a great way to spend a chilly Sunday afternoon! We walked around the warm green house and saw the absolutely beautiful orchid exhibit. A huge variety of orchids were on display and each one was absolutely beautiful. We also enjoyed a bite to eat during our visit--which was quite good. While we'd planned on sticking around for the bonfire that was scheduled, it was unfortunately cancelled because of high winds. We very much look forward to our next visit to the Botanical Garden, especially when the spring flowers are in full bloom!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden to your Saves list