We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got married here so kinda biased. But it's great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden

Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden
1800 Lakeside Ave, Richmond, VA 23228
804 262 9887
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 104 Attractions in Richmond
Type: Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: With something for all ages and interests, Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden is a place to learn about plants, to marvel at nature, to relax in a beautiful setting, to take gardening classes, or to have a wedding or a business meeting. A wide variety of experiences are offered through its diverse gardens and facilities. No wonder Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden is consistently one of the most-visited attractions in the Richmond, Va., area.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Got married here so kinda biased. But it's great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We've been married 10 years plus and the Gardens have only gotten better. It's truly beautiful. And to top it all off, they have fabulous dining at the Japanese Tea Room, summer jazz concerts and over Christmas- festival of lights where you go at night and everything has Christmas lights and is decorated into shapes. It's a bit pricey for a family, but a definite must.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    100
    20
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Always changing world class garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I went for the butterflies, the Christmas lights and will go again soon to photograph the orchids. never the same for long

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Va
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Orchids were lovely- library is sensational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I visit frequently in various seasons and am never disappointed. The orchid show seemed more extensive and I love visiting the library devoted to gardens, plants, etc

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Stunning Orchid Exhibit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a great way to spend a chilly Sunday afternoon! We walked around the warm green house and saw the absolutely beautiful orchid exhibit. A huge variety of orchids were on display and each one was absolutely beautiful. We also enjoyed a bite to eat during our visit--which was quite good. While we'd planned on sticking around for the bonfire that was scheduled, it was unfortunately cancelled because of high winds. We very much look forward to our next visit to the Botanical Garden, especially when the spring flowers are in full bloom!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
“Such a beautiful place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Must visit this place. So beautiful. The flowers and garden were just delightful. The hotel I stayed at recommended I visit this place and I'm glad I did.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.