We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Orchid Exhibit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden

Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden
1800 Lakeside Ave, Richmond, VA 23228
804 262 9887
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 100 attractions in Richmond
Type: Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: With something for all ages and interests, Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden is a place to learn about plants, to marvel at nature, to relax in a beautiful setting, to take gardening classes, or to have a wedding or a business meeting. A wide variety of experiences are offered through its diverse gardens and facilities. No wonder Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden is consistently one of the most-visited attractions in the Richmond, Va., area.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Stunning Orchid Exhibit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a great way to spend a chilly Sunday afternoon! We walked around the warm green house and saw the absolutely beautiful orchid exhibit. A huge variety of orchids were on display and each one was absolutely beautiful. We also enjoyed a bite to eat during our visit--which was quite good. While we'd planned on sticking around for the bonfire that was scheduled, it was unfortunately cancelled because of high winds. We very much look forward to our next visit to the Botanical Garden, especially when the spring flowers are in full bloom!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    97
    19
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
“Such a beautiful place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Must visit this place. So beautiful. The flowers and garden were just delightful. The hotel I stayed at recommended I visit this place and I'm glad I did.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful, accessible spot to spend a few hours.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

A wonderful place to wander with a camera or visit the with kids. The children's area is so much more than a playground, with exhibits that grow all year-round. Even adults like taking the winding elevated pathways to get to the enormous tree house overlooking the lake and gardens.

The Festival of Lights is also a treat I've enjoyed with whole family at the holidays. More than just lights - indoor exhibits with model trains and floral scenery - s'mores over campfires - lighted maze for the kids.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A beautiful park and gardens for all ages...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a terrific attraction. Beautiful manicured gardens, a fun water park for kids and a lovely main building with a restaurant. The garden features shaded pathways that encourage leisurely strolling and seasonal programs in the buildings provide added educational value.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Winter Wonder WOW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Each year Ginter out does itself in the imaginative and spectacular display of lights and holiday cheer. We wandered the Gardens for 2 hrs. wide-eyed and mouths agape. The displays were amazing. I love the Gardens anytime of year but the holiday displays are one of my favorites. A great place to take out of town visitors. Family and stroller friendly. Do not miss it next year.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden to your Saves list