We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even in January, a Treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden

Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden
1800 Lakeside Ave, Richmond, VA 23228
804 262 9887
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 98 attractions in Richmond
Type: Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: With something for all ages and interests, Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden is a place to learn about plants, to marvel at nature, to relax in a beautiful setting, to take gardening classes, or to have a wedding or a business meeting. A wide variety of experiences are offered through its diverse gardens and facilities. No wonder Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden is consistently one of the most-visited attractions in the Richmond, Va., area.
Gloucester, VA
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Even in January, a Treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We visited the gardens on January 21, 2013, and even though it was cold and most of the outdoor gardens weren't in bloom, the conservatory was such a treat. We are planning to go back in April so we can see the outdoor gardens in their splendor but had a fantastic time looking at/shooting the orchids, etc. Gorgeous place, truly.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    96
    19
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, VA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Go for the Christmas lights!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We went during Christmas when they have all the gardens illuminated. A fun evening, though often crowded, with the family or your sweetie. Might want to go on a weeknight or less than perfect weather night if you're going for Christmas.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond va
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Everyone should go there once.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

It is a little pricey, but beautiful. Nice place for lunch or dinner. Many people have weddings there.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Rainier, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“All of the Lights!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went for the Festival of Lights event in December and it was beautiful!! So many themes and magical set-ups. Family friendly and accessible. I thought it was a bit pricey, but it could have been worse. We got lots of pictures and got hot chocolate because it was absolutely freezing. I am not a fan of walking around, but there was enough to see to keep me entertained and not thinking about how tired of walking I was. I've seen it once now, so I may not have to see it again, but it was definitely beautiful and a lot of fun.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Richmond Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a perfectly lovely place to spend an afternoon. Gardens full of roses, an amazing butterfly garden, and easily walked trails. This is a smaller, but just as well managed, version of Longwood Gardens right here at home.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden to your Saves list