We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gardens and grounds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden

Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden
1800 Lakeside Ave, Richmond, VA 23228
804 262 9887
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 82 Attractions in Richmond
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With something for all ages and interests, Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden is a place to learn about plants, to marvel at nature, to relax in a beautiful setting, to take gardening classes, or to have a wedding or a business meeting. A wide variety of experiences are offered through its diverse gardens and facilities. No wonder Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden is consistently one of the most-visited attractions in the Richmond, Va., area.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“Beautiful gardens and grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The plants and architecture are stunnning. During the holidays they have the "Garden Festival of Lights" which is a Richmond tradition. The summer concert series "Groovin' in the Garden" brings top notch performers in for outdoor concerts.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    112
    22
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Peaceful Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The gardens, flowers in the spring time are simply gorgeous! the grounds are immaculately kept. The waterfall , is a tranquil oasis to just relax and clear your thoughts, great for alone time away

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice VA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Spectacular!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We visited Lewis Ginter for the first time during this Christmas season and what a wonderful treat! The lights were awesome. These were not your typical holiday lights - there are themes, color schemes and sites for all ages. We arrived while there was still daylight in order to have an idea of what we would view at night. Then we had dinner at the Tea Room. Very nice experience. We ended the evening with a night walk through the gardens and absolutely enjoyed the scenery. The library complex is worth a preview as is the conservatory. There is a gift shop and another place to eat in the visitors center. Parking is ample and all in all, this was a delightful Christmas excursion. We will definitely return during other seasons and will probably become members.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A nice stroll...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Very deceptive upon pulling into the parking lot. I took my wife here on a date and was a bit apprehensive because it looked small. After paying the entrance fee, we walked outside and the grounds just opened up. There is a nice size greenhouse that is situated on top of the hill (depending on which way you're looking). Inside the greenhouse was a butterfly exhibit. The gardens opened up further to display different types/examples of vegetation. There were a lot of paths to walk through and meditate. There is even a large area where children can play (and it looks like they do!). A beautiful place for couples or families with young children.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice garden - would plan as "side" visit, not main vacation attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The garden is very nice and there are many other attractions in the Richmond area. If visiting and you like gardens, this would def be on my list.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.