We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to visit, especially for the lights at Christmas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden

Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden
1800 Lakeside Ave, Richmond, VA 23228
804 262 9887
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 99 attractions in Richmond
Type: Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: With something for all ages and interests, Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden is a place to learn about plants, to marvel at nature, to relax in a beautiful setting, to take gardening classes, or to have a wedding or a business meeting. A wide variety of experiences are offered through its diverse gardens and facilities. No wonder Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden is consistently one of the most-visited attractions in the Richmond, Va., area.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit, especially for the lights at Christmas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Nice ground. Not huge but plenty to see. Nice walking tour with lights at Christmas. Decent gift shop. Ample parking, except can be full at Christmas for lights.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    96
    19
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“had a membership”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

wished we had been able to use it more. the exhibits are always changing and the christmas exhibit is spectacular

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

It's obvious that no expense was spared when the hardscape and waterscape features were developed, but much more money needs to be spent on the plantscape. I had hoped to be wowed by a wide variety of winter berries and unusual bark, but that was not the case. I was also disappointed by the limited variety of plants in the greenhouse. This botanical garden is probably at its best in the spring, summer and fall.

The garden cafe is very good, and the two soups on offer were as good as I've had anywhere.

The garden shop is really just a gift shop. They are missing out on a great opportunity by not offering a wide variety of bulbs, seeds, implements, etc. And, although it is early December, there were only 3 boxes of Christmas/Holiday cards in the store. This store could make a lot more money for Lewis Ginter if it were properly merchandised.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LewisGinter, Public Relations Manager at Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Jim, We are so sorry your visit to the Garden was a bit disappointing. We are always striving to improve, so your feedback about wanting more variety of plants in the Conservatory and more textures in the Garden during early winter is noted.
It sounds like your experience in the Garden Cafe was very good, and we're happy to hear it.
Thank you so much for visiting the Garden Shop as well. Our award-winning shop is divided into two “rooms” where we merchandise different materials. I wonder if perhaps you missed the second room. The first room contains home décor & gift items; the second room contains outdoor garden items where we currently stock 15 varieties of amaryllis bulbs; hyacinth & allium bulbs, live orchids, bonsai, poinsettias, fairy flowers, zygocactus, and assorted ferns. We also have a selection of seeds for gift giving this time of year. During planting season selection expands to 1,500+ varieties of herbs, vegetables , and flowers with a focus on organic, Virginia natives. This second room of the Garden Shop also carries a wide variety of tools. We hope you’ll visit us again and come back to see the merchandise you may have missed.
Also, If you have additional feedback, feel free to contact us via email at JonahH@lewisginter.org
Thank you,
Jonah Holland, PR & Marketing Coordinator, Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We went for a day trip at the request of our 9-year old son who had visited it a few days earlier with his school group. We were just in time for the butterfly exhibit but perhaps a little too late to see the real majesty of the flora. Still, despite it being the end of october, flowers and greenery were plentiful. We spent nearly a full day there and still missed out on parts of it. The place is very well maintained, excellent for walking around and relaxing and is also educational for young children and adults alike. Parking is not a problem, especially when it's not a very busy time of the year. I've read about their lighting show in the summer but we didn't get a chance to see that. Must be good, from what I hear.
In summary, worth a day's visit and the price tag. Probably not the kind of place to get a season pass for as you may or may not wish to pay repeated visits.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Christmas light show”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I had a really nice time at Lewis Ginter, it's just hard when you grew up loving Longwood Gardens (Kennett Sq, PA). We took the stroll at night to see the Christmas lights. They were pretty typical for christmas. It was very crowded when we went (lots of children running around, so bring the kids for the playgrounds!), but we did have several romantic moments alone. It was a nice change of pace, a good way to get into the holiday spirit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden to your Saves list