We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden

Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden
1800 Lakeside Ave, Richmond, VA 23228
804 262 9887
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 83 Attractions in Richmond
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With something for all ages and interests, Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden is a place to learn about plants, to marvel at nature, to relax in a beautiful setting, to take gardening classes, or to have a wedding or a business meeting. A wide variety of experiences are offered through its diverse gardens and facilities. No wonder Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden is consistently one of the most-visited attractions in the Richmond, Va., area.
Montpelier, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Each visit to the Lewis Botanical Gardens is a delight. Each visit I see something new and different. I take my granddaughter to view the Christmas lights each year and every year it gives us that awesome feeling. In the spring through the fall, the flowers bring smiles to our faces. The Botanical Garden should be on every ones list of places to visit in Richmond.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    112
    22
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful throughout the year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

No matter what time of year you visit, there's always a great scene! Coming up is their holiday displays -- all decked out! It's just such a nice, peaceful place.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Hook, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I frequent the Botanical Gardens often as it's a lovely place for a walk with a camera. Beginning in March until the GardenFest of Light in December, there is always something to do for young and old. It's a peaceful haven and I love visiting at least once a month.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I recently visited with my mother and used one of the many wheelchairs they offer. The green house and grounds were very easy to negotiate with a wheelchair. Signage and map was very helpful. The gardens are beautiful. We really enjoyed the butterfly show (ending soon.) The food, including the salad bar, was also great. There are also fun things for children. It gets very busy during the Holiday lights show. If you don't like crowds, avoid the evenings during the holidays.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Abington Twp, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely gardens - delightful tea room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I were taken to the Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens by some dear friends of ours who live in the area. What a wonderful day we had. The gardens were gorgeous. The butterfly exhibit was really neat. My favorite part of the day was the absolutely delicious lunch we enjoyed on the deck of the tea room - surrounded by the all the woodland garden.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden also viewed

 

Been to Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.