We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food, Fantastic Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freedom Cafe

Freedom Cafe
Marina Petrolo,23, 91014 Castellammare del Golfo, Sicily, Italy
0924200281
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $14 - $49
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Who don't like a good lunch or dinner in front of the sea ? The Osteria 'NTONIA gives you this opportunity!come to us and taste our speciality: food fish, tipical sicilian food and home made ,moreover wine,a good pizza, beer, icecream, coffè...and more over....
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food, Fantastic Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Great food, fresh local produce, awesome location and friendly service. Very reasonably price, and a great location. What more could you ask for?

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    24
    6
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You can't find better unless you cook it yourself”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Since Freedom Cafe is located walking distance from the harbor, the fish you get there is really fresh. You can tell the quality and you know it hasn't been frozen or kept refrigerated for long. Antonella is an amazing chef. She let me watch her prepare a few things for our party (I speak Italian and mentioned I am an amateur chef). The preparation was simple, very local, and turned out great! But fish isn't the only thing, though it's the best. She also made amazing pork and beef dishes for us. The pasta was perfect and I really wanted to keep eating.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good, simple and pricy Italian cooking.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

The Freedom Café offers a unique menu every evening, this way it's hard to recomend a dish in specific but we eat the fish of the day. This wasa whole fish direct from the grill, it was well prepared and tasted delicious. However if you are not used to eating unfileted fish you might want steer away from this dish, difficult to eat without getting you mouth full of small bones. The owner is super nice, and even though the value for money is not all that (abit pricy) i would still recomend a visit!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“very good fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

the lady who runs/owns it is very good and also cooks ,the fish was fresh and excellent, well worth a visit , check the price of some of the special fish dishes that she suggests as some can be very expensive but always excellent quality

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

We were driving through Castellamare looking for a place to eat and there in front of Padre Pio statue we saw this restaurant where some people were lunching although it was already 15h. We took spaghetti with fresh seafood as this was recommended by the waitress and we didn't regret. We did not stay too long as we were in a hurry to visit other things.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freedom Cafe also viewed

Castellammare del Golfo, Province of Trapani
Castellammare del Golfo, Province of Trapani
 
Castellammare del Golfo, Province of Trapani
Castellammare del Golfo, Province of Trapani
 

Been to Freedom Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freedom Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.