We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff made the difference” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Clelia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Clelia to your Saves list
Hotel Clelia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sindaco I 29, 90010 Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ustica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The staff made the difference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

we recenrly stayed 4 nights in Clelia and the staff , Ester in particular were very friendly and helpful making the stay an enjoyable one.However the rooms were not of a 3star standard the carpet on the room floor didnt look particularly appealing and the shower room and room decor in need of serious updating. I think there are better accommodations to had on the island but overal the friendliness of the staff was excellent .

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    38
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
57
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We recently spent 2 nights at the Hotel Clelia in Ustica (Aug-11), and were thoroughly delighted with it. The rooms are clean, the restaurant is very good indeed and Antonina's home-made ice-cream the best we have ever tasted. (Ask for her pistaccio - wonderful!).
The staff were very wam and helpful too.
Probably the best hotel nthe island.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Just what you wantwhen you have been travelling for a while. friendly and helpful. Hot water in the shower, spotless clean rooms, and staff that care. Breakfast room overlooking the med with yummy apple cake

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

This is a nice hotel in Ustica.

My only issue was that they tried to charge me their own rate for a room despite me booking it via booking.com at a separate price.

It literally took me to go through the Italian paperwork from booking.com highlighting the facts before they accepted the price.

Nice breakfast though.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trapani, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

I have been at the Clelia Hotel with my partner for a weekend. We both are quite demanding clients when it comes to hotels and restaurants as we travel a lot. The Hotel Clelia staff offered us an excellent service: attention for the details, customer care, very clean and nice rooms, free shuttle to/from the port, great breakfast and restaurant.
If I should go to Ustica again I would definitely choose the Hotel Clelia again and I will recommend it to my friends.
If I should give some suggestions to the hotel staff, beyond all my compliments, I would suggest to remove the carpet from the rooms, to use double mattresses in the double rooms, and to open the windows during breakfast instead of using the air conditioning. However, as I wrote, they really know how to make their job, so the overall rating is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

We stayed at Hotiel Clelia for two nights on our honeymoon trip around Sicily. We really enjoyed our stay and had a great time exploring Ustica.

The hotel is just off the main square, and they turned up to pick us up from the port which was much appreciated.

The room was quite large, very clean and modern. The bed was really comfy, and the bathroom was clean adequate.

The breakfast was good, typical continental brekkie - breads, pastries, jam, cereal etc. It was served in the upstairs open air restaurant which was lovely.
There was also free internet for guests.

Only downside was that I used the phone to phone Palermo for about one minute, and they charged us 5 euros for the pleasure! Weren't happy about this, but as we don't speak Italian and they don't speak English there didn't seem to be much we could do about it.

  • Liked — great location & relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — ridiculously high charges for my one minute local phone call
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

Very nice, clean and modern small hotel in the lovely Ustica Island. Fair prices also. Not one problem, not one complaint.
Every appliance worked fine: tv, air conditioning,...
Lovely bathroom.
Quiet place at night as it´s some meters away from the "main " street. Very nice and helping people at the reception desk.
Spectacular breakfast lounge in the third floor with magnificent views of the port and sea.
I would certainly go back to this hotel.
Thanks a lot.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Clelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clelia

Address: Via Sindaco I 29, 90010 Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Ustica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ustica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Clelia 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in the heart of Ustica town centre, a few steps away from the main square. It is easy to reach all the touristic places and shops, for a comfortable holiday, during which we will easily satisfy your demands. Our chosen furniture and coverings will ensure you the calmness you are looking for. Our hotel is one of the historical accommodation facilities in Ustica. The hotel was entirely renewed in 2003, when 26 new rooms and a welcoming restaurant terrace were created. Today, our hotel is a 3-star structure, but we wanted to keep the family atmosphere which has always characterised our service, to ensure you a funny and cheap holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Clelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clelia Hotel Ustica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Clelia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.