We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful HELL ever!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Pelosa

La Pelosa
Viale la Pelosa, 07040 Stintino, Sardinia, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Stintino
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
County Down, Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“The most beautiful HELL ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Touring Sardinia we had to drive to something so highly recommended by TA.
Oh dear.
If it was empty it would be beautiful.
It wasn't. It was literally shoulder to shoulder and I took pics to prove it.
I'm calling them "Grim1" and "Grim2".
Please see attached.
Avoid!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    966
    363
    113
    40
    31
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kamnik
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“very nice beach but also very crowded”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is very nice white sandy beach with a crystal clear water. Water is also a bit warmer than at some other beaches on Sardinia.I 've been there on Sunday at the and of June and the beach was very crowded and parking was also nightmare.So don't go there if you are looking for a quiet place. But the color of the water is spectacular and at least once you have to go there to see this beach.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Stunning place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Good things: it's absolutely stunning; one the the most beautiful beaches I've ever been to. The sea is literally like a giant swimming pool and it's perfect for kids because it's shallow. Spectacular,
Bad things: if you're not staying in Stintino, you'll have to drive a few kilometers to get there. There's a lot of space for parking, but it costs 2,00€/hour on weekends (1,50€ on weekdays). Get there the ealiest possible - yes, it does get crowded! We visited it by the beginning of summer and it was already full of people (still ok, though).
Bottom line: it's worth the visit. You'll be amazed.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“View it as a funpark”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

When deciding to go to La Pelosa (50 min) north of Alghero we knew it would be a over crowded place. But we where wrong it was absolutely packed with people. And this was 10 a clock in the morning, in June. If you go - be prepared. Two chairs and an umbrella was 20 Euro. However putting your towel right on the beach is for free. Walking along the shore to the north you will be able to take some amazing photos of the place with the beautiful water and the ruin in the background. But turn around and... View it as a funpark. Been there - done that. But this is not my take on how a beautiful beach should be like.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing beach, make sure you visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I'm not normally a beach kinda person however having been given this location as a place to visit by a guy in a bar I was keen to see it for myself.

Drove the 50 minutes from Algehro and wasn't disappointed! Crystal clear waters, amazing vistas, parking (mid week) not too bad of a little expensive and some of the best snorkeling I found in Sardinia.

I would suggest you forget the main section with the sand as this gets very busy and keep going up to the main car park area. Dump your car and get out down onto the rocks which make for some great sun bathing spots and is near a little cafe for drinks etc.

The snorkeling is second to none. Interesting rocks teeming with fish to deep sandy clearings to get lost in. Its easy to get wrapped up in the beauty of it all and find yourself surfacing near the island opposite and its a shame not to explore it if that happens (just mind the sea gulls!).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pelosa also viewed

Baunei, Province of Ogliastra
Baunei, Province of Ogliastra
 
Teulada, Province of Cagliari
San Teodoro, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 

Been to La Pelosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pelosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.