We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cala Rosa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cala Rosa Hotel to your Saves list
Cala Rosa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Ginepri n. 25, 07040 Stintino, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Stintino
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful place in Sardegna where we found an exceptional organization e a really professional staff. The food was delicious. We really suggest this place because we enjoy everything we could. The sea was fantastic and the nature awesome.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    252
    85
    34
    26
See reviews for
314
199
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roma, Italia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My wife and I spent ten days at the hotel in the first half of August 2012. We chose half board service (to have lunch on the beach).

We greatly enjoyed it!

As for the hotel, the big pluses were: (1) the room (nice and clean); (2) the restaurant (top quality); (3) the highly professional service (Got a problem? Just ask for Federico); (4) the “Shuttle" connection with La Pelosa beach; (5) the garden. The minuses were that the bathroom furniture was a bit old (we chose an ordinary room) and that until midnight the room was a bit noisy because of a piano bar.

The beach, called “La Pelosa”, is one of the most renowned Italian beaches. This is why: (1) white and “non metallic” (thus not burning) sand; (2) the sea is crystal clear and like a large natural pool; (3) but if you walk in the sea forward enough, you find deep waters and you can swim; (4) and if you move sideways, you find rocks with some underwater flora and you can easily see several types of fishes.

A common concern with La Pelosa beach is that in high season it is overcrowded. Moreover, car parking is very expensive (€2 per hour) and parking lots become soon fully occupied. Therefore, let me tell you how it works: (1) Ask Cala Rosa Hotel for one lunch basket (€6), which is big enough to feed two adults (two big sandwiches and other stuff); (2) have breakfast (from 8.00 am); (3) take the car (bringing your lunch basket), go to the beach (less than 5 minutes by car) and rent an umbrella and two seabeds for the day (each item costs €8 per day), or plant your own umbrella; (4) leave your partner on the beach and drive back to Cala Rosa; (5) take the Shuttle around 9.00 and rejoins your partner at the beach.

Looks interesting, doesn’t it?

Giuseppe

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Let me preface this review by saying that our lack of Italian probably did not serve us well. While making reservations, I discovered the hotel books standard rooms and will provide upgrades on the spot. Because we wanted to be sure to get a suite with a sea-view, I asked for confirmation of such a room. I was even willing to pay for it but was told that wasn't done. Despite getting the confirmation, upon check-in we were provided a truly worthless room. They referred to it as a standard triple. The only room perhaps more worthless was the adjoining room. The bathroom window of the adjoining room opened up to the bar patio. After reminding them of what we had reserved, they then gave us a suite. No apologies for the mix-up. In fact, we got the distinct impression they didn't care what we thought. If we had been given the suite initially (perhaps with a smile), our whole impression of the hotel would have been different. The suite was however, very nice. Fairly new, roomy, and a great bathroom.

The grounds are very green. Overrun green. They need to mow the lawn, pull out some weeds, and trim the bushes. It would look truly nice.

Although the hotel claims it allows guests to use both the hotel pool and the beach pool, the beach pool belongs to a different beach club. And while one can use the pool, one has to pay extra to use the pool/beach chairs (you find this out when you get there). That being said, hotel guests do get a good price for the use of the facilities. The restaurant at the club is excellent. We went their twice for dinner.

The hotel has a lot of entertainment at the pool that goes on deep into the night. We aren't big fans but obviously a lot of people like that.

The beaches at Stintino are nice but small. If we could do it again, we would stay in Alghero and visit Stintino rather than stay in Stintino and visit Alghero.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Me, my wife and 2 YO daughter have enjoyed the 2 weeks vacation from 16/7/12 to 30/7/12 included.
The "ups": good room cleaning, great food, great restaurant services, great location and good animation team.
The "downs": saturdays are dead because of new arrivals (no animation, no music in the pool area) and reception desk not professional and unfriendly.
The shuttle service to Ancora Club (beach) are fast and very helpful.
I can recommend it to families with kids.
Good value for money though.

Room Tip: All unit starting from 600 or 300 (sea view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We spent a week with the family here and liked most of it. The rooms are fairly small but tidy. The staff was polite and helpful but it helps if you can speak Italian (or Sarda :). The food was average, the pool ok but nothing special and you need to take a car (or preferably the no cost shuttle provided by the hotel) to the beaches. No Wi-Fi at least in the standard rooms. A lot of activities (mainly in Italian) to kids and basic pool excercises for the adults. All in all everything is "quite" ok, but not quite 4 stars. So think of this as a 3 star hotel and you won't be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed for a week in July and we had from the beginning very good service. The hotel is not far from the famous beach La Pelosa and they have a shuttle bus to go there and back. Though the beach is beutiful it is crowdy and small. My recommendation is to use the hotel shuttle to first stop Anchora were you'll stay at a great small beach with very good dining possibilities for lunch. It's just a great place. At the hotel you'll have free parking and free wi-fi but only in the reception area. it was clean and nice rooms even if the bathrooms were not up-dated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed for two nights on our tour of Sardinia. We had our own car so we did not use the beach shuttle.

In brief:
++ Very friendly and helpful staff
++ Really nice and clean rooms. Bathrooms even higher standard.
+ Free parking
+ Shuttle to beach
+ Big breakfast
+ Nice hotel area
+ Wifi available in reception

-- Loud music at pool area. Ask for rooms away from the pool area if you are not very much into Italian top chart music.
- 25-30 min walk into Stintino for a wider selection of restaurants. However nice and lit walkways.
- No Wifi in rooms

Summary: Definitely recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms away from pool area is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cala Rosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Rosa Hotel

Address: Via dei Ginepri n. 25, 07040 Stintino, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Stintino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Stintino
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stintino
#4 Family Hotel in Stintino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cala Rosa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cala Rosa Club Hotel is situated in Stintino in the Natural Park of Asinara, on the far northwest coast of Sardinia, close to the attractive Pelosa beach, with its fine white sands and the transparent green waters intersecting the blue skies.The hotel, designed with the characteristics of a tourist village, is modern and designed to meet confort, pleasure and relax of the guests. It develops within a large garden, finely furnished and enriched by the typical Mediterranean lush flora colours. The uncontaminated beauty and the view of the landscape opposite the hotel frames this enchanting scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cala Rosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cala Rosa
Cala Rosa Stintino
Cala Rosa Hotel Stintino, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cala Rosa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.