We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to recharge the batteries” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Flamingo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Flamingo to your Saves list
Hotel Flamingo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada Statale 195 Km 33,800 (Localita S. Margherita), 09010 Santa Margherita di Pula, Pula, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good place to recharge the batteries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Early start meant our room wasn't available until late afternoon. We were allocated a room in one of the bungalows out of the main block which was actually quite dark, close to a stream with stagnant water. However, this room was intended for another party so we were moved to the main complex with a lovely sea view.

Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The food was good, breakfast a little bland, (they could do with fresh fruit rather than the ubiquitous tinned peaches, pears and prunes every morning) and the coffee isn't great (ask for expresso or cappuccino). lunch and dinner portions were perfectly adequate and the restaurant staff worked like Trojans, indicating that more staff are needed, particular in view of the fact that it's waiter service.

Finally, the entertainment committee worked hard, putting on a show every evening and entertained both adults and children alike which was great fun.

A thoroughly relaxing holiday and although the location is a little remote, you can easily take a bus to Pula (stops outside the hotel) and costs €1.00 and if you are feeling adventurous, walk to the main road and take a bus to Cagliari which takes about one hour and costs €4.00, return €3.50 for a pre-paid ticket.

Yes, the hotel needs some renovation and more staff, particularly during summer months, but the staff were friendly and accommodating and provided help whenever possible.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    207
    103
    62
    56
See reviews for
225
190
12
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a very enjoyable holiday at The Flamingo, very restful,in delightful surroundings. A very quiet area, unless you had a car, although we used the local bus, into Pula, with no problems. and also had a trip to Cagliari,which was interesting, although a little expensive..
The food in the hotel was first class, especially in the Wild Duck restaurant . Our room was kept to a very high standard, we were fortunate to be in a nidi apartment, and could not fault it. Some of the areas around the grounds looked a little tired, but it appears that some refurbishment was taking place. Staff all very helpful, we would certainly visit again., and we found many guests were on their umpteenth visit....which speaks for itself.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the superior nidi, as it gave you the privacy of your own very large balcony, to relax o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is lovely and clean, on a very quiet remote stretch of the south-eastern Sardinian coastline. It has a very long, white sandy beach and a very clear sea - perfect for swimming in, unless you prefer the lovely swimming pool. With no other hotels close by, the patrons of the Flamingo practically have a private beach. There are a few beach sellers, but they are polite and not agressive and everyone deserves a chance to earn a living. The food at the Flamingo is excellent, and the 'light lunch' that is offered on some half-board packages is fantastic. The only gripe about the dining, is that drinks - or more particularly water - are not included, and signing a chit for €3 every meal time is irritating.
Check any seemingly good deals - we got a genuine half-price deal from Sardatur via Travelzoo, and it was genuinely good value. However, there are little extras - take a beach towel, otherwise its an extra €3 per day. Lying on a nice sun lounger is €10 a day in the second row, and €15 per day in the front row! But the beach is nice enough to spread out your towel and lie in the golden sands. Similarly Wifi is not free and only works around the reception area. The hotel is extremely remote, there is not a shop or bar within walking distance so you are very reliant on what the hotel sells. There is always the option of hiring a car, if you're confident of your driving abilities in Italy. There is a bus service, 10 minutes to Pula - nearest shop or 60 mins to Cagliari - nearest city and it's very reasonable.
The rooms in the hotel are quite spacious and well-maintained. Not sure why some reviewers have been so harsh on the staff, I found them to be pleasant and professional at all times.
One last thing to be aware of is the hotel's entertainment team. Lovely, friendly hard-working people who are brilliant at keeping the children busy night and day, and for adults they whip up games of volleyball on the beach, tennis, football, aqua aerobics etc. However, a couple of evenings a week they have their own cabaret, there's no escape and it's bl**dy awful. Anyone who has ever experienced an Italian resort holiday or watched Italian TV will know the form, and it never gets any better. The Italian guests genuinely seem to enjoy it, so grit your teeth and show some appreciation for local culture.
If you are looking for a chilled out and peaceful beach holiday, the Hotel Flamingo is a good choice - ignore the naysayers!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

My mother and sister have just returned from the Hotel Flamingo.
My mother who is 85 years old, has stayed at this hotel many times, since the 70's. She remembers this hotel when it first opened and has wonderful memories of some truly luxurious and relaxing holidays. This was my 4th stay in 27 years. My sister's 6th. We have all noticed how standards have fallen, which is a terrible shame. The hotel is in urgent need of a facelift and some of the rooms are very old fashioned and tired looking.
My room had a safe that was not working. I had the same room 2 years ago. It wasn't working then! I did report it at the time, but clearly nothing has been done. The telephones also didn't work, so we could not make calls room to room. We reported this, but were met with a smile and an " Oh! " The management obviously know about this problem but are hoping they can get away with it, for as long as possible!
The rooms were generally clean, but the maid service is definitely not as good as it used to be. Everything is rushed. A quick clean of the floor and bathroom and that's it. We were only given one towel, which was annoying, especially for women. Most hotels nowadays give you two towels, especially when one tends to take two showers per day.
The outside of the hotel just needs a good paint. It's whitewashed walls looking quite grubby. The grounds are very pretty and generally well kept, but a bit of weeding wouldn't go amiss! The mini golf needs rebuilding.
The pool is lovely, and clean, if a little cold. There are quite a few tiles around the pool that are damaged and cracked, and urgently need replacing. They are waiting for an accident to happen. Not enough sun beds around pool and you have to pay for the ones on the hotel's private beach. These should be free! The beach is clean but quite seaweedy and stony in the water. It is sandy further out, though. Some beach shoes for swimming are a good idea. The peddlers on the beach are frequent and persistent, and can be very annoying if you are trying to read or sleep. There should be some control over them, at least.
The breakfast served is very good buffet style, although no cooked except for scrabbled and boiled eggs. It is plentiful and good quality, though the coffee is awful! Ask for a cappuccino etc, however, and you'll get one freshly made. Breakfast is very busy and the staff struggle to keep up. Several times we had to clear a table ourselves, in order to get seated. Lunch was also buffet and generally pretty good. Though can be a bit cold. The same goes for dinner, which is waiter service apart from the desserts. Again service can be slow. They need more staff. The food was mostly good, but has definitely fallen in quality and presentation. No fresh vegetables in a country where they are plentiful and delicious! The puddings were as amazing as always, but the English often miss out on the best ones, as the Germans and Italians have no manners where food is concerned, and help themselves to huge portions before their main course! We watched one German family eat their pudding before their starter to ensure they got a full choice and large portions. The greed was staggering!
The hotel bar is very expensive and now the campsite had gone, over the road, there is nowhere to buy cheap drinks and water. I hope someone takes it over. It was so useful!
We used to love this place and still do in a way, as we have such happy memories. But please please Flamingo, pull your socks up and get the place sorted out. It could be a lovely hotel again but needs a bit of money invested into it. The staff are lovely but a bit too relaxed where problems are concerned. It really isn't as bad as the previous reviewer said, but it definitely needs some work.
One last thing. This is probably my mother's 20th visit. Not one perk has been offered in all those years,for such a loyal customer. How about a free stay Flamingo??!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at the Flamingo Hotel for a week from June 8th, 2013.

Having read rather mixed reviews about the hotel we decided that the view from what was described as a 'superior sea view room' trumped any other considerations concerning decor, staff or food and booked 7 nights full board through our local travel agents.

Getting there was very simple: two and a quarter hours flight from Heathrow to Cagliari, where we were met and shepherded onto a waiting, air-conditioned coach for the 45 minute ride to the hotel.
On arrival we were quite surprised by the spaciousness of the tastefully decorated, modern reception and lounge areas with their whitewashed walls and untreated wood, rattan and wrought iron furnishings.

The multi-lingual staff on reception were welcoming and we were soon being shown to our room up the sweeping spiral staircase. It was a nice room, with a welcoming bottle of chilled Prosecco awaiting us. The furnishings and hand-painted decor were fine. The bathroom was fine, but... the view was not quite what we had hoped for, being more tree than sea!

I went back to reception, expecting a fight, but what I got was superb service. We were shown three alternative rooms by the friendly, helpful staff and hit the jackpot on the third attempt.
Cynics might say that the hotel wasn't full, so they were able to be flexible. But in my experience elsewhere, staff are not always so willing to go the extra mile.

In fact, this professionalism, friendliness and willingness to help typified our whole stay: reception, restaurant, room, bar and pool staff included and made our stay the holiday we had hoped for: relaxing, interesting and fun.

Food
Breakfast was continental buffet style and dinner, if not spectacular, offered an ever changing and tasty range of mostly Italian cuisine. The popular dessert buffet was excellent and in plentiful supply.

Pool:
Natural spring water, no chlorine!

Beach:
Great for windsurfing, kiteboarding etc.

Suggestions:
Quite isolated so car hire a must.
Take a good road map. The one we were given was vague to say the least and the signposts can be a bit misleading.

Places we liked:
Chia Laguna beach (20 mins by car)
The crystal caves near Santadi (ca. 40 mins)
Dramatic coast road to Tuellada Port and beyond
Pula town. (10 mins) Nice square for morning coffee etc
Cagliari for shopping and architecture (45 mins)

And best of all...
Our balcony (0 mins!) with that beautiful view...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Mare Pineta is on a 5-7-min walking distance from the Flamingo. It gives to people staying in it a good chance to spend some time a day walking through nice surrounding nature listening birdsong and breathing sea air. I like this place. Good and friendly personal helps a lot. There is no Internet connection - so be ready to it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed here for a scientific conference. Resort is pleasant and rooms were nice. Location is right on the beach, with deck chairs provided, and there is a pool (cold!) with plenty of seating. Meeting room was pleasant (although underground) and projection facilities were adequate. A bit isolated and wifi only available in reception area, but actually this was good in terms of networking with other conference participants. Food was great (except for the coffee), although it would have been nice if complimentary mineral water or a kettle were provided in the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flamingo

Address: Strada Statale 195 Km 33,800 (Localita S. Margherita), 09010 Santa Margherita di Pula, Pula, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Pula > Santa Margherita di Pula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita di Pula
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita di Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Flamingo 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At 35 km distance from port and airport of Sardinia's capital Cagliari, situated in a beautiful landscape, Hotel Flamingo is overlooking it's own beach of soft white sand and the crystal clear turquoise sea. The hotel is situated in an area rich of artistic and cultural sites which can be explored by car. In the year 2004 new opening of 64 rooms, including 20 suites and a Wellness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel
Hotel Flamingo Sardinia/Santa Margherita Di Pula, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Flamingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.