We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Costa dei Fiori, October 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa dei Fiori

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Costa dei Fiori to your Saves list
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   S.S. 195 Km 33, 09010 Santa Margherita di Pula, Pula, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Germany
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hotel Costa dei Fiori, October 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and me visited this hotel in October 2012 - thus very late in the holiday season. We had a room upstairs (second=top floor).

It has been a wonderful stay. The hotel isn't big itself (I guess about 40-50 rooms) and it was very calm, ideal for us to relax. I guess that even in high season it will not be too loud/active, as the hotel's area is rather big, so things get distributed, and the management pointed out that it is their policy to provide a relaxing and quite place.

Their garden is ideal - lot's of trees (pines and palm trees) so one can find some shady place if preferred, but there's lots of sun-bath places too.
Pools are spacious (2 big, one small for kids). The sea-water one is just next to the sea - the one on the usual pictures.
You can enter the sea within a short stretch of coast belonging to the hotel, but there are appealing beach areas just a stroll away too.

We stayed on breakfast only and explored the surrounding places to eat (Restaurant Urru and some charcoal pig grilling place in Pula are very worth to go for; several restaurants in Pula cater the usual stuff, just also consider places off the central point in the old quarters of Pula); this requires a car though.
The hotel also provides half-board and many other guests took it (don't know if on local arrangement or when booking). The local rate was a bit pricy.

Our room was big and provided for everything we needed.

From walking around we noticed some tennis grounds (2 or 3 places?) belonging to the hotel, but during our stay nobody used them - maybe because it was too hot (nice surprise for an October vacation).

We clearly do recommend this place for an relaxing vacation time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELCOSTADEIFIORI, Direttore at Hotel Costa dei Fiori, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for visiting our "casa" and for saying that the hotel was "very calm, ideal to relax".
We hope you'll decide to come back for tasting some typical sardinian dishes.
Arrivederci.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    145
    41
    13
    4
See reviews for
140
241
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a delightful week here.We could not praise the staff too highly.Everyone at the hotel worked to ensure we had a good time.The room was meticulously cleaned daily,the breakfasts delicious ,the swimming pools were looked after extremely well,dinner was plentiful and varied and the sun shone every day!
We will certainly return.If you are looking for a week to relax in quiet and beautiful suuroundings then you will love this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELCOSTADEIFIORI, Direttore at Hotel Costa dei Fiori, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for the very kind comment about the hotel and the staff: if you say "Everyone at the hotel worked to ensure we had a good time" it means for us that we are motivated to do also more for the future.
Arrivederci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just got back from 3 nights Autumn sun staying at this lovely hotel. Although not full the service was excellent, breakfast spread and choice was amazing. The Ibiscus room we stayed in was clean and comfortable and the infinity pool by the sea was worth the trip alone, could do with some heating though. Weather was 28c with warm breeze. Batteries rechraged ready to face the world again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELCOSTADEIFIORI, Direttore at Hotel Costa dei Fiori, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for the very nice comment.
We hope to see you soon to "recharge Batteries".
Arrivederci.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

As others have found, a car is absolutely necessary for anyone not wanting to spend every day around the pool (tempting though that would be). Also be prepared for some curious first impressions: the entrance gate has clearly been disused for years and the current access via a piece of rough ground, past decaying greenhouses and on down a suspension-killing stony track is hardly a great start. Parking is on similar terrain, but once into the main building, what a difference! The vista from reception looks out over the main pool, flowering gardens and characterful out-buildings down towards the sea. Rooms are traditional rather than luxurious, but their charm grows on you over time. All have outside areas and exquisite views. Reception staff were friendly towards us throughout, and if occasionally they needed reminding about requests, all was dealt with in a cheerful and helpful way. Breakfast was adequate and included both hot and cold options; the coffee was great, and we appreciated the variety of fruit on offer and the range of filled croissants. The best thing about dinner was the spectacular setting. The food was adequate but we were only on bed and breakfast terms and dining each night would have more than doubled the total cost of the ten day holiday. Thanks to the car we found many reasonable and more than adequate dining places on the way to and in Pula itself. September is clearly NOT in the season. There were no facilities other than the pool, bar and restaurant on offer (someone mentioned a Sardinian Evening in an earlier review but nothing like this was on offer during our stay). At first we thought the hotel was half empty but therein lies one of the glories of the place. It was in fact pretty full but the estate is so spread out that the usual problems of queues, fighting for sun beds etc were non-existent: the hotel was a haven of tranquility. To sum up, the Costa Dei Fiori is unlike any hotel we have met and subject to the points mentioned above we would recommend it to anyone wanting to 'get away from it all'. I'm not so sure I would take children as one or two of the staff (a small minority, I must emphasise) did not seem over-helpful in this respect. A couple whose company we enjoyed were put out by there being no children's menu and an initial lack of flexibility in dealing with this. However on a positive note it was good to see the manager sort this out personally. So, yes, we really enjoyed our ten days in this beautiful spot.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELCOSTADEIFIORI, Direttore at Hotel Costa dei Fiori, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for the positive comments and suggestions.
Thank also for underlining that even though our "casa" was full "the hotel was a haven of tranquility".
Grazie and Arrivederci.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We needed a week to chill, eat well, experience excellent service, enjoy high 20s temperatures, be free of children, read, swim, sleep well and be refreshed. Hotel Costa dei Fiori offered all this from 15 to 22 September.....we struck lucky with the weather....all else was man-made!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELCOSTADEIFIORI, Direttore at Hotel Costa dei Fiori, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for the kind comments about our "casa" and the service; the weather is particular and in a certain sense famous also because of the position of the hills near the hotel and the sea.
We hope to see you soon.
Arrivederci.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here whilst doing a school swap in Cagliari. It was an ideal resort hotel for families, with small but school age children. The breakfasts were good, the evening meal was good for the inclusive price but not top notch.
Our apartment/villa was clean and modern, and well positioned, but in that we may have been lucky, as we noticed others in not such a good position. The staff were lovely with us and we liked the facilities

Room Tip: We had a small villa furthest from the main house to the left as you fce the main pool...v good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELCOSTADEIFIORI, Direttore at Hotel Costa dei Fiori, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind review and nice words about the service and the room.
All rooms give the possibility to appreciate our garden and its quiteness, one of the most important value of our hotel.
Arrivederci.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nr Manchester
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have previously written glowing reviews on this hotel but my opinion has changed slightly following my third visit.
We were greeted warmly by Thomas and taken to the room which I had requested which was excellent and I thank the hotel for complying with this request.
However, we were unfortunate enough to book our hard earned restful two week holiday at the same time as the hotel was the venue for two weddings. As the wedding venue is situated in the heart of the hotel grounds and is not enclosed, the noise affects every guest bedroom.
The first wedding was not too bad as the band finished at a reasonable time and was not to loud.
It has to be said though that the hotel guests receive less priority than the wedding guests as there is no menu choice for hotel guests when there is a wedding. Not only that but as I do not eat meat I requested an alternative for the main course and received no food at all as my request had been forgotten. I received no apology and was just asked whether I would like dessert which on our first night did not create a good impression.
The second wedding a week later was a nightmare, the band was really loud, as were the guests and the noise went on until the early hours. Again, hotel guests did not have a choice of menu but at least I was given an omelette as an alternative to the meat course.
Other than the above gripes the hotel remains lovely, well cared for, the food delicious and the staff mainly very friendly and helpful with only one or two exceptions.
I appreciate that in these trying economic times, hotels must diversify to survive but a little more thought should be given to guests who have paid a lot of money for their two weeks of relaxation and this could be done by perhaps asking guests on days on which weddings are taking place what food they would like in advance from a choice of two options and putting a time limit of say midnight for the wedding entertainment.
If the hotel wishes to attract and keep returning holiday guests then these two matters need to be addressed.
Will I return? I'm not sure. In the past I would have said a resounding "yes" and it saddens me to say that I'm no longer sure whether I will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELCOSTADEIFIORI, Direttore at Hotel Costa dei Fiori, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for visiting our hotel for the third time and thank you for the important information you are giving to improve our service.
We'll take in great consideration your suggestion to preserve the quiteness we are sure you can find better in the future. we are fixing new important rules also for the few wedding dinners in order to respect your clear and reasonable needs.
Arrivederci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costa dei Fiori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa dei Fiori

Address: S.S. 195 Km 33, 09010 Santa Margherita di Pula, Pula, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Pula > Santa Margherita di Pula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Margherita di Pula
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita di Pula
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita di Pula
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita di Pula
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita di Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costa dei Fiori 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Costa dei Fiori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Dei Fiori Hotel
Hotel Costa Dei Fiori Sardinia/Santa Margherita Di Pula, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa dei Fiori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.