We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italy. Sardinia. Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forte Village Resort - Le Dune

Save Saved
You added Forte Village Resort - Le Dune to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Forte Village Resort - Le Dune
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Loc. Forte Village | SS 195 Km 39.600, I-09010 Santa Margherita di Pula, Pula, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Italy. Sardinia. Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I finally managed to take a holiday at Forte Village, having heard so much about it and after other holidays in Italy.

I must admit I was a bit worried on the way from the airport, as the car took me into a kind of “no-man’s-land” which looked more and more like a desert. Then suddenly I spotted the resort: an expanse of green overlooking an emerald sea, a real oasis amid a wild, untainted landscape.

The check-in procedure at Hotel Dune was really quick, and in a matter of minutes we were being shown to our bungalow.
When we went in we found a basket of fresh fruit and an aperitif with a welcome note. After half an hour in the Jacuzzi to recover from our journey and get us into the right mood, we headed straight for the beach. Two minutes later the beach concierge had already positioned our sun loungers and umbrellas next to the emerald-green sea.

The sea is indescribably beautiful here. The narrow strip of white sand between the green tropical vegetation and the crystal-clear water is a picture we’ll never forget.
Everything we ate was divine. We had great fun at the evening shows and entertainments, and we also used the sports facilities (from the gym to the tennis courts). Most of all we enjoyed the thalassotherapy circuit at the resort’s Spa.
The warmth of Italy, the beauty of Sardinia, the sense of peace and regeneration at the Spa... there’s only one word to describe them: Paradise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    6
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
37
19
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This place is stunning... we've been to some pretty spectacular resorts around the world but this place is the winner. It's the first place we've been to where we were planning our return before we'd even left the resort.
Kids club is awesome, from swimming to plays to go-karting to bowling
Pools are brilliant (although I'm not personally a fan of the salt water pool)
Food is out of this world... thanks for the 2 kilos in 10 days!
Sports club is great for the kids (rugby football, cricket)

Not everything is perfect though, but it's close... The Gym is run by idiots and they try to charge 160 EUR for 1 hour with a trainer. There are so many facilities that some of them aren't advertised well enough. And of course it's pricey.

Bottom line is that if you can afford it and you're looking for a wonderful family holiday, look no further.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Big thank you to everyone, such a helpfull staff , fantastic place great food beautiful area amazing sun !! Loved every second of my stay wish to be back one day ! Barbara

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We returned from our second visit to Forte Village on Friday, 8th June. We originally came here in 2009 and were very fortunate to be upgraded to the Villa Del Parco after I expressed my horror of the room we were originally given in Pineta. The service and the experience from our first 10-day visit was impeccable in every way.

This time we came back for a 7-day holiday as we were unable to book Stansted both ways for a 10-day holiday, and I refuse to go to Gatwick because of the stress of travelling on the M25. We booked a room in Royal Pineta with the view to hopefully be upgraded to another area. We were originally allocated what's known as a "Deluxe Bungalow" which was opposite the top end of the kid's club.

Upon arrival I expressed to one of the new managers, Raphael, that the room was a little disappointing and too small. There was a normal size double bed with a sliding door separating it to a very small lounge area that had a LCD TV and a standard sized sofa bed. The furnishings were very basic.

To his credit, he suggested that we went to grab some lunch and he would try and find us something alternative. After showing us a room that was very concealed and basic in Villa Del Parco, he offered us a suite in Le Dune. The room was larger than the bungalow and had a larger bathroom with two basins. A sliding door separated the lounge area to the bedroom and there was also a balcony that overlooked the gardens with the sea behind in the background.

Once the room was sorted out we started to enjoy our 7-day break. The food in the main buffet restaurant Cavalieri was of a high standard, like it was when we came back in 2009. The only negative we noticed was that there was not such a large selection of puddings as before and, on some nights, the staff were way too slow at replacing some of the dishes that had run out on the starters selection. We also found the service slow on occasions when it was busier and also did not enjoy the fact that on some nights they had schoolkids helping out waiting on some of the tables. One of the best things for us about FV was the fact that the waiting staff and chefs etc were all experienced and extremely nice people. We don't like going to places where you have junior inexperienced staff serving you at the table. If it's clear they are new staff and nervous, but still trying, that's different and you try to be polite and encourage them. I remember one young lad, who was obviously new, looking really nervous whilst he was pouring some wine, but he was really trying his heart out and I just said to him "you're doing a great job, don't be nervous". The difference was that he was a full time waiter, but was obviously just starting out, as opposed to some schoolkid that was just there on a work experience.

If you sit away from the central area of the buffet restaurant you do sometime find yourselves struggling to get any service, which at FV is not acceptable. Try and secure a table in a central location a few tables in from where the salad bar is.

The other main gripes of the holiday was waiting 25 minutes for a bill to turn up at the beach restaurant one lunchtime and, the worst one of all, waiting 1 hour and 10 minutes by the Castello pool one day for 2 club sandwiches and 3 soft drinks to turn up. Ordered at 1340, arrived at 1450, with two requests in the middle asking if it was going to be much longer. The service around the Castello pool was also non-existent, with a clueless young girl randomly appearing once in a while. One of the guests that we chatted to actually placed an order with her and walked back to the Castello kitchen with her to make sure that the order was put in. Can't say I blame her.

We were kindly given 2 free passes to the Spa by Debora for the inconvenience of some of the poor service which was nice of her. Debora is a brilliant manager and deserves her place at FV. She will always try and put things right and is a lovely genuine woman.

There is also a ridiculous fight to try and secure a sunbed at the Castello pool which should not be going on at a place like FV. I arrived one morning bang on 9.00am and there were literally three spaces. I met up with ex-Fulham striker Andy Johnson who introduced me to his friend Doug and we had a good laugh about what a complete and utter joke it was trying to secure a bed around the Castello pool area, which is supposed to be for guests staying at Castello, Le Dune and Villa Del Parco. It got to the stage where you had to get there before the official opening of 9.00am to put down your personal belongings on a bed to secure a place. The three of us did consider hijacking a FV member of staff to disguise ourselves in his uniform in the morning in the hope of getting a sunbed. Posing as a cleaner with a trolly was also given some serious consideration.

We still enjoyed our week even though it's clear to see that the service at FV has gone backwards, something that was certainly not the case a few years ago. They are obviously feeling the pinch of the tough economic times that most of us are enduring, but reducing staff numbers and having inexperienced staff waiting on tables is not the answer. The place is still magical with great facilities and some of the best staff you could ever wish to find on a holiday. It is, however, starting to look a bit tired in places and is in desperate need of a face lift. Some guests will also be shocked at the standard of some of the rooms. It will sometimes not be what you were expecting. That is also the main reason for some of the negative reviews. The resort is still kept spotless and clean, but it's in danger of becoming too run down unless they start re-investing some time in the near future.

I'd still go back again because the place still has some magic and there are so many things there for the children. I will always answer any questions if people out there want to message me.

Room Tip: I do not advise you to book a room in Pineta. Very small and basic. Also Castello, Le Palme and Vill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We have just spent 5 nights in this beautiful resort. I have always stayed well clear of 'resort holidays' but this was an almost perfect vacation.....only "almost perfect" because it was too brief a stay!!
We had a beautiful suite (467S) which had a large balcony overlooking lush gardens. To the rear, the well appointed large bathroom had a walk-in shower area which opened out directly to a private garden area complete with jacuzzi.
The beautiful sandy beach was just a few minutes stroll away and was easily accessed by the side of the Dune restaurant.
As for the Dune restaurant, I can honestly say that we enjoyed some of the tastiest (& beautifully presented) food ever on each of the 4 evenings that we dined there.
Breakfast was also served there every morning and was a real feast every morning, with nothing too much trouble for he staff. Without exception, Massimo and his excellent, friendly, helpful team of staff in the restaurant helped make our stay truly memorable.
On one of the evenings we had dinner in a different restaurant (The Belvedere) within the resort. Whilst the food was good, it was nowhere near as tasty as that in the Dune. Additionally, we found the atmosphere extremely pretentious and overbearing, and most irritatingly, felt that the staff were only interested in selling us the most expensive wine they could, rather than catering to our requests.
We were given free access to the Thalassotherapy at the Spa and also booked a couple of treatments which were very enjoyable. Some confusion over the cost of the treatments was rapidly sorted by the Dune management team.
So, avoid The Belvedere and stay in Le Dune for as long as you can!!

Room Tip: Although our room was slightly further from the beach than others in the Dune section, the added pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

What a sensational place! We have just returned from a 12 day stay at Forte Village and once again it delivered on all fronts. Our interconnecting rooms at the Le Dune were stunning, the staff were incredibly attentive, the food, in particular at The Belvedere and Le Dune were of the highest quality, the sports facilities kept our three boys busy, the rugby academy was brilliantly run with enthusiastic coaches...so many great technical nuggets of info to take away, the weather was glorious, the beach, a perfect escape before and after lunch, the kids club really well run...I defy anyone to find a better all round family holiday destination. Magnificent, simply magnificent.

Room Tip: Del Parco, Le Dune and floors 4 and 5 at the Castello give you access at no extra cost to the best r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Forte Village has to be the best holiday we have experienced. We have just returned from a 10 day stay. We were initially worried as had read some poor comments on Trip Advisor- however, I can honestly say none of these were justified. Forte village is unlike any other resort we have been to, it was amazing.We stayed in Le Dune and the bungalows were superb, great activities for the children, pools perfect, everywhere was spotlessly clean. All staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating and just could not do enough for you. The beach was perfect - no fighting for sun beds-beach towels provided and plentiful. Our son spent 2 days at the Soccer Academy which he loved. It was such a safe environment for our daughter and son. We ate in most of the restaurants and all were wonderful, particularly Dune, who went to town when they knew it was our daughters 13th birthday, we honestly rate and would recommend Forte Village so highly as it was perfection all round. Many thanks to Dino and Le Dune manager Deborah.We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forte Village Resort - Le Dune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forte Village Resort - Le Dune

Address: Loc. Forte Village | SS 195 Km 39.600, I-09010 Santa Margherita di Pula, Pula, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Pula > Santa Margherita di Pula
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Margherita di Pula
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita di Pula
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita di Pula
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita di Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Forte Village Resort - Le Dune 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Forte Village Resort - Le Dune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Village Resort - Le Dune Sardinia/Santa Margherita Di Pula, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forte Village Resort - Le Dune, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.