We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Johnson City Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Johnson City Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Johnson City Inn
107 Highway 281 And 290, Johnson City, TX 78624   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Johnson City
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
“Bad Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I was on a business trip and I stayed six nights in the Best Western Johnson City TX. The walls were paper thin and I could hear every word that was said in the room next to me. The Breakfast was a joke and all of the food was gone before 7:00 AM on my second day. The Hotel would not and will not even give me a copy of my bill for my stay???? I have called the Best Western Corporate office three times for a copy of my bill for my expense report that has taken me over three hours.
My abvice to anyone is just stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Marble Falls TX or anywhere else !!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western J, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Johnson City Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We do apologize for your experience here at our motel. We would also like to thank you for taking time to fill out this review. Our staff has been retrained and are monitored to make sure they will give guests the experience they deserve and expect when coming to our motel. And as far as the receipt not given to you...the reservation was make through a 3rd party site and you did pay them directly so we did not have one to give to you, for this we are sorry. Please do not let this experience drive you away from Best Westerns and we do hope you will give our motel another chance to give you a better stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    36
    18
    9
    7
See reviews for
33
38
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here one night while visiting the Hill Country of Texas. Johnson City has fantastic Christmas lights, and I found this motel on the internet. It was a great value and the continental breakfast was well beyond "continental" with hot dishes along with the usual continental stuff. The staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Breakfast was good...eggs, waffles, sausage pattie, asstd breads, coffee too stout but the kitchen lady was a charm to talk to and helpful. Glad we checked in early because they had put us upstairs when we had requested a handicapped for 83yr old grandma so the desk staff changed us to down...THANK YOU! We usually don't stay in places where the doors lead to the outside and yes we could hear every walking upstairs and outside noise but overall it wasn't a bad hotel. Toilet too long to flush but never had to use the plunger they had next to toilet....Agree with another viewer the price was way too high for the condition and with that we should of have the Best Western Plus experience with that price but with only 3 hotels in Johnson City...I guess next time go to Fredericksburg or Marble Falls where more competition. Loved the towns Christmas display and lights. Overall, good experience

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We rolled into the hotel around 5:00 pm after filling our bellies with life changing BBQ from Smitty's in Lockhart( different review). We checked in and went to our room and it was a smoking room. We cant stay in a smoking room because of my daughter's asthma. I called the front desk and not a problem, the front desk was wonderful and helpful and got us into a non smoking room.
The room was updated and clean. The front desk was great. We will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Make sure when you book, you book a non smoking room, if you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

While the friendliness of the staff made my stay more enjoyable, the room was not up to the usual standards for this price range, which is probably due to the lack of competition in the surrounding area. With taxes I paid nearly $100 a night, which is about what I would expect to pay for a Best Western Plus.

The furniture was a tad beat up, and although the room was clean, it was in dire need of an update. Unfortunately my business requires me to spend almost the entire day in my room, documenting my field surveys on the computer, so the quality of the room, or lack of it can be a major distraction.

The free breakfast was limited in comparison to most other Best Westerns, and I was somewhat shocked to see that their bananas were over ripe and brown. I stayed there three nights and the breakfast never changed. Biscuits and gravy, waffles, and the same scrambled egg mixture of eggs and sausage, which was tasty while lacking in variety were the daily offerings. Cereal and mini pastries were also available.

All in all an average motel at an above average price.

Room Tip: Keep you door closed or you will be entertaining a multitude of flies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SARASOTA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Driving thru Texas can be long and boring. We were on our way back to Florida when we stopped in Johnson City to refuel. Asking the service station manager if he knew of any motels in the area he immediately suggested the Best Western. The young lady at reception was a gem to talk with, helpful & accommodating. She told us of the football game, high school, going on that night and gave us directions in case we might be interested in going. She explained that the next day would be a pig roast/fund raiser and invited us to join in. Unfortunately we couldn't stay.
The room was clean, didn't smell of smoke, & had a refrigerator & microwave in it. It appears as though they may be in the process of upgrading their rooms. The breakfast the next morning was nice with eggs as well as the perfunctory sausage gravy & biscuits. An interesting and different touch was the waffle iron was in the shape of Texas.
I used a gift prepaid card to pay for part of the tariff and there was some confusion as to how to handle that but was settled without any problem. I think the confusion was due to the fact that reception had never had dealt with that issue before.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a clean, well-run establishment.
I had booked through their web site and I was checked in about 45 seconds after arriving.
The air-con worked well (an essential as it was 95F mid-afternoon).
On the drive from Dallas I had stopped for lunch at the Salt Lick BBQ at Dripping Springs so on arrival at Johnson City the first thing I needed was a nap to help digest the excellent lunch.
The Best Western is on one of the main roads through the town but is set well back from the road and I wasn’t disturbed by any noise.
Most of the other guests were, from their vehicles, working locally, and they were up and gone long before I was awake the next morning.

Room Tip: rooms at the back will be quieter. if you have a lot of luggage then get a ground floor room to av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Johnson City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Johnson City Inn

Address: 107 Highway 281 And 290, Johnson City, TX 78624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Johnson City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Johnson City Inn is nestled in the heart of historic Johnson City, Texas, hometown of the 36th President of the United States, Lyndon B. Johnson. Surrounded by the tranquility of Texas Hill Country, this Johnson City hotel features a friendly staff and is close to a variety of activities including hiking, boating, sailing, jet skiing and golfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Johnson City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Johnson City
Johnson City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Johnson City Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.