We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lyndon B. Johnson Boyhood Home

Lyndon B. Johnson Boyhood Home
Johnson City, TX
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
West Orange, New Jersey
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Charming!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We visited the boyhood home of LBJ on a pleasant spring day and found the setting charming. The ranger at the home was informative but his commentary was too brief. The tour lasted only about 20 minutes. We strolled the grounds but decided not to stay indoors at the center to watch the two movies available (one about LBJ and one about Lady Bird) since it was so nice outside. Add to your knowledge of Johnson by visiting this place and consider what a different world the US was in the early 1900s.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    19
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas, the Lone Star State
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Interesting Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The tour guide provided some very interesting historical information on the life and times of LBJ. The home itself reminds me of houses I lived in as a child, back in the day before air conditioning and other "modern" luxuries were common. I liked the length of the tour, about 25 minutes; long enough to hold your attention without passing into boredom.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Learn more about LBJ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

By visiting his childhood, learning about the young man, growing into President of the United States lets one appreciate him more.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Even if you don't care for LBJ, this was interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

So LBJ is not one of my favorite presidents, but we were in the area and stopped by anyway. I'm so glad we did. Had a great little tour of his boyhood home. I wish the tour had been a little longer (it lasted about 15 minutes), but I think they were short staffed in the visitor center across the way and the rangers (?) had to go back and forth between both places. We didn't get out to the ranch, but hope to next time we're in the area. Also found out that LBJ's brother wrote a book about him that caused a rift between the two brothers that lasted until LBJ's death. And his mother loved poinsettias (they're painted on the border of the front entryway). Just little tidbits that I know will come in super useful someday. :) If not, we still had a great time!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tour LBJ Homeplace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The guides were very knowledgeable. The tour was very interesting. Great place to visit! Foe anyone interested in either Texas history or US history, this is a great place to come, plus there are wineries down the road.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyndon B. Johnson Boyhood Home also viewed

 

Been to Lyndon B. Johnson Boyhood Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyndon B. Johnson Boyhood Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.