We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LBJ ranch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lyndon B. Johnson National Historical Park

Lyndon B. Johnson National Historical Park
Lady Bird Lane, Johnson City, TX 78636
830 868-7128
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Attractions in Johnson City
Type: Historic Sites, National Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Johnson City, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“LBJ ranch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Wonderful family outing and well maintained park. Great for biking, driving or walking around the historic grounds. Probably best with kids who appreciate outdoors and history, otherwise leave them at home.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    38
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A fabulous piece of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I have been to the LBJ Ranch twice. Each time I've learned somthing new. It's a fascinating part of our American history.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Connecticut
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Nice follow-up to the LBJ Ranch State Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Unfortunately, we did not have enough time to see everything here, but we did get a guided our of the main attraction -- LBJ's boyhood home. The ranger was informative and enthusiastic about his topic. The LBJ Ranch in Stonewall is the bigger attraction in size and importance, but this site should not be missed as it rounds out the picture of his life and only takes about 30 minutes.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“An American treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We spent five weeks in January and February 2013 in Texas and this was a highlight of our trip. The ranch, homes, cemetery, etc. were wonderfully preserved and the documentation and presentation of LBJ and his family were outstanding. Being able to drive the ranch and view the operation enriched the experience and the museum of LBJ's cars and aircraft was awesome. The best parts of the tour were the stories and history of LBJ told by a National Parks employee originally from Detroit.
If you are a history buff you will not want to miss this attraction. Even if you were not fond of LBJ and his decision to involve America more deeply in the Vietnam War you will gain a new appreciation for the life and times of LBJ.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stayton
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Toured their home and ranch grounds. Espically enjoyed the dining room table where the president and Lady Bird entertained guests.It was a large wooden table and wooden chairs except for LBJ's at the head of the table, his chair was a large swivel naugahide chair with a phone mounted near his left knee so that he could hold the phone in his left hand and eat with his right.
Very informative tour.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyndon B. Johnson National Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to Lyndon B. Johnson National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyndon B. Johnson National Historical Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.