We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning again to enjoy Costa Smeralda” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arathena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arathena to your Saves list
Hotel Arathena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pompei, 07026 San Pantaleo, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in San Pantaleo
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Returning again to enjoy Costa Smeralda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Hotel Arenthena is situated on the outskirts of small artists village San Pantaleo with wonderful mountain views and 5 minutes stole to square which comes alive in evenings with gallery's, antiquity shops and activities in square. San Pantaleo is 10 minutes drive from beach or marina- so car hire is essential - although hotel offer twice daily trip to local beach.
The Hotel is not luxurious but has a wonderful warm feel, amazing food in Restaurant - worth booking half board and rooms are spotless (witnessed cleaner scrubbing steps to our room).
The superior rooms have a balcony or terrace mostly and are worth booking. Most rooms have
large stepin/walk in showers. The rooms are more basic but have everything you need air-con,
fridge, coffee/tea facilities.
The pool area has wonderful views of valley and although small does not seem to get over crowded (at least in early July). Could do with some new lounger cushions and maybe a few
permanent sun brolleys for shade - although can sometimes be windy.
The breakfast is served on the outside terrace in summer and has an excellent selection of
cereal, fruit, yoghurts, bread, croissant's, ham, cheese, eggs. Only down is fruit juice machine
which is not good (but seen elsewhere on island)
If you book half-board (which I beleive you can add as an extra on arrival) you are asked
to choose your menu at breakfast - there is a good choose 3 starters, 3/4 pasta/soup, 3 main
and 1 sweet. Vegetarians are catered for in menu. This means everything is cooked fresh and
mostly locally sourced.
Only downside is there is at present no WIFI - this apparently is due to cabling within area.
This hotel deserves more reviews.

Room Tip: Hotel does not do lunch any longer - but can get good salads and rolls in cafe Zara in village- don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    21
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
50
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We discovered this small hotel on out skirts of San Pantaleo 3 years ago and have come back every year. It has a special atmosphere - we decided best way to describe this - was like staying in a ski chalet - you feel 'at home'. The hotel is spotless from top to bottom. We now opt for a superior room - better views of the wild hills and valley. I think most of the rooms only have showers - but these are walk in and large - tiled exquisitely. The breakfast is a large buffet - sat out on terrace. Great choose of fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, eggs, cold meat, cheese, lots of cakes and bread.
The delight of the day is dinner (we now book half-board) but the restuarant is open to
all sitting outside on a warm evening eating wonderful freshly made sardinian food with a bottle of wine. No worry about driving - you can wonder down to village for another wine or coffee after dinner - things seem to stay open until about 11.30 and admire the small galleries.
A car is really essential - however, the hotel does a twice daily run to the local beach, and will organise trips to Maddalena islands .
The Hotel does not have a lift and has quite a few steps - so no good for disabled / very eldery or possibly children who are just learning to walk or run.
It is one of our favourite hotels - relaxed 'at home' - if you require waiter or butler service all day this is not your hotel.

Room Tip: Best rooms are high or by pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

II was looking forward to this 4-star hotel in San Pantaleo but unfortunately, I was quite disappointed. The room we were given had one bed that was in my opinion not fit for its purpose. It was a sofa bed that had a big gap running in the middle. It would be impossible for anyone to sleep on it. We asked for another room or bed but the reply was simply: There is nothing. These are normal beds for a third person in the room. The room had some toiletries and slippers. Eventually we were given another room with a proper bed. But the toiletries in this room were 50% less, (no slippers and lacking some items that were present in the first room). After a few days, when we finished the shampoo and bodywash, we asked for more but reception simply said: Sorry, we have none. When I started losing my temper, they gave us more shampoo and bodywash. For some unknown reason, they removed the bedcovers from our beds. We asked for them back but after 8 days, they never came back. The door lock did not always work leaving our personal belonging exposed to theft. (It is apartment like rooms, accessible from the street). When we complained about that, they said that the locking system they have is not meant to be for external use but only for internal use, hence it is not working properly. Twice we came back to our room and our door was open. The chairs in the restaurant need a good wash !!!. Internet is charged at 10 Euros an hour. Breakfast is way too early and short, (from 08:00 to 09:30 AM). Generally, a bad hotel in my opinion. In my book, NOT a 4-star hotel. Maybe just about a 3-star.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

We were a little disappointed when we arrived at the Arathena. The hotel is much smaller than it appears on their website and almost every room/balcony is overlooked by someone elses or the pool. There is not much privacy and it’s hard to relax when you can see into the pool, restaurant and lots of balconies from your own.

We arrived about 8pm in the evening and told there was a weekly dance evening happening. Apparently this happens every Sunday night and it meant the hotel was really noisy. The pool area was packed until 10pm with locals and then the music went on until 2am, pumping through the floor of our room, not very relaxing. We found that we could hear music from the disco almost every night we were there.

Being 6 months pregnant, I had asked for a room with a bath. We booked a superior room. The website states that all their superior rooms have views of the mountains. This is not the case. The room with the bath didn't even have a balcony, just a small patio which opened right onto the communal stair area and looked down into the restaurant, which made it really noisy- the restaurant clears about midnight. We were told it was the only room with a bath. When we asked to be moved due to the lack of privacy and noise, we were given a small room overlooking the pool, again without the mountain view. We were told it was a superior and charged that price, despite their website clearly stating all superior rooms have a view of the mountains.

The hotel itself isn't bad, but the pool area is small and the restaurant expensive for what it is. In general though the rooms were clean and the decor well kept. The aircon didn't work on our first night and was really noisy once fixed a day later. Our TV also didn't work on the first night and only picked up 3 channels after that.

There was also a lot of construction work outside the hotel, meaning that laying by the pool wasn't particularly restful during the day, due to the banging and lorries- we were not warned before we arrived. We asked to check out after 4 nights (we were meant to be staying 7), as we just couldn’t relax and at first they refused and wanted us to pay the full bill (even though the hotel wasn't full). After much discussion, they let us leave. The staff were fine, but not particularly friendly and they didn't have any tourist info or maps to share.

I wouldn't stay here again, as I think its overpriced for what you are sold, but if you don't go with high expectations, the hotel is perfectly fine and the breakfast etc is fine.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

We chose Hotel Arathena as we didn't want to be in a resort far from amenities. And it was a great choice. San Pantaleo is a lovely quaint village with a community vibe - all the locals come out in the evening to gather around the piazza and have a drink at Caffé Nina. The hotel is very clean and the staff are professional and attentive. The swimming pool is such a great feature and the views from it are spectacular (mountains in the distance!!). It was a nice experience to sit by the pool and be served a nice glass of vermentino white wine!!! As it was our honeymoon, we opted for the superior room. The room they gave us was a little small and the balcony looked out onto a quiet residential road. Normally we wouldn't be too bothered as it was extremely clean, however, as it was our honeymoon we asked if we could be moved to a room with a balcony overlooking the swimming pool. They happily obliged and within 2 days we moved to a much bigger room with a huge balcony overlooking the pool. There's a restaurant attached to the hotel which is also open to the public. We ate there one night and the meal was fantastic and not too pricey. Breakfast was a buffet, but there was so much choice catering for everyone's taste! They also were very helpful when booking a boat trip out to the Maddelena islands -which btw is a MUST as the beaches are spectacular!! You hop on at Palau and a day trip (10am-5pm) plus lunch on board cost us 40 euros per person. There is a lovely restaurant in Palau called San Georgio (up a side road). San Pantaleo has some good food options too- we went 'Da Nico' just down the hill 2 nights running - although it may not look like much from the outside, the food was excellent and so reasonably priced. We also ate out in the neighbouring town Arzathena - it has a very pretty old village centre once you've waded through its outskirts!! This area of Sardinia is absolutely beautiful - the beaches are white and the sea is azure blue, clear and warm. Our favourite beaches were Spiazza Principe, the Maddalena islands, and San Teodoro (south of Olbia). San Teodoro is a pretty little town and the beach is stunning (amazing back drop). Most beachgoers seem to be lazy though and stay near to the car park. But if you keep walking along the beach for about 5 mins, there's less people but the sea/beach is even more stunning!! It was a very relaxing holiday- we could do as little or as much as we wanted. Hiring a car is recommended though as it does give you that freedom. Also, we invested in a parasol/umbrella for the beach - we got one for 16 euros and it served us very well- otherwise if you want shade you can rent them for 10 euros plus per day.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zikzaki
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

Our ninth time in Sardegna. Arathena is one peaceuful place with more than friendly staff always willing to help and serve to your needs. Very beautiful landscape view.Hotels restaurant "Balbacana" is just perfect. Easily the best if not probably one of the best restaurants you can find in Costa Smeralda. The beach is kind of far (7km) but let's be honest and say that nobody should visit Sardegna without a rent a car or your own vehicle. Whats most important our kids were happy and we were happy that we stayed at Arathena. Thank You Arathena & Balbacana we will see you again in future.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

The hotel was great! Clean (i'm a germ freak and this hotel was SO clean i was impressed! with ETRO toilettries! :)), chic, and the view to DIE FOR!! We enjoyed our stay very much... there's not much to do in the area other than relax, but there are 'shuttles' to the beach or you can drive there. We had a motorcycle so it worked that we could just go places when we wanted... The restaurant at the hotel was good. The only thing that they could do better is their 'pricing' because they charge you for everything, as in "5 Euros to use a 'beach towel' for THEIR pool" and at first I thought it was a 'deposit' so that you would return it and get it back when you did so, well no, its like you rent it from them. In all we had a fantasitc time and would recommend it to anyone! We didn't see any kids, not sure if its their policy but it was nice not to have screaming kids in the pool area. The hotel caters more to older couples (we were the youngest by far, we are 28 and 36). Hope this helps, email me if you need more info!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arathena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arathena

Address: Via Pompei, 07026 San Pantaleo, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > San Pantaleo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in San Pantaleo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arathena 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arathena, a small charming 4 star hotel, is the ideal retreat for relaxing holidays in Sardinia. Its architecture, warm and traditional at the same time, reminds of an ancient “borgo” built following the natural development of the ground.The beautiful mountains of San Pantaleo are the frame of this charming hotel in Sardinia to which they give a magic atmosphere that guarantee to all the clients the peace and relax that they expect during a unique holiday in Sardinia.The beautiful mountains of San Pantaleo in Gallura form the backdrop to this charming hotel in Sardinia, giving him a magical atmosphere that guarantees tranquility and relaxation for your holiday in Sardinia. Our 4 stars hotel in San Pantaleo is recommended for those who want a holiday in Sardinia of tranquility, nature, good food and the warmth of the Sardinian hospitality.The hotel Arathena in San Pantaleo is recommended to those who wants an holiday in Sardinia characterised from a deep contact with nature and good Italian food, all enriched from the well-known Sardinian hospitality. Also the beach lovers will find at the hotel Arathena their home away from home. Thanks to its location in fact, the hotel Arathena remains only a few minutes drive from the best beaches in Costa Smeralda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Arathena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arathena Hotel San Pantaleo
Hotel Arathena San Pantaleo, Sardinia, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arathena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.