We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petra Segreta Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Petra Segreta Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Petra Segreta Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada Buddeu, 07026 San Pantaleo, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in San Pantaleo
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great hotel, nothing left to desire. I would advise this hotel to everyone. Quality of the restaurant,
Excellent
, staff perfect. Suite has a astonishing view and small plunge pool. Not cheap, but perfection. Early check-in without problems. Staff is very helpfull and friendly. 15 minutes from the beach by car. Surroundings of the hotel are hills and trees, view on the sea. Very nice and quiet.

Room Tip: the suites ( only 2 available) with the best view and plunge pool(photo)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    33
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
15
85
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of September and our stay was just divine! We had booked one of the suites with our own pool and barely left the grounds. It was so quiet, peaceful and private and the pool and small terrace around it had beautiful views out to the sea. The room was simply but tastefully appointed and very comfortable. We enjoyed eating at the restaurant which was delicious and ate their twice out of 4 nights. When the sun set on our terrace we sometimes went to the main pool which was also very attractive. Would agree with other comments that service round the pool area would be nice but I didn't mind hopping to the bar or reception to flag down a beer - was about the only energetic thing I had to do all stay! Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: If its a special occasion do splurge and get a room with a private pool.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I booked to stay here for 5 nights for our mini-moon at the end of August. Part of the reason we were attracted to the hotel was because it looked romantic, private, and after the stress of the wedding we were looking forward to lounging by the pool and treating ourselves to some cocktails.

Firstly, our room was very disappointing. The hotel knew we were on our honeymoon, and, unlike what you see on the website, our terrace was overlooking the entrance to the spa on one of the main footpaths around the hotel. While there is a (short) hedge blocking some of the view into the room, any passers by were able to look in, or if we were sat on the terrace, passers by would wave and talk to you - not really what you want when you're enjoying a private moment with your partner! Therefore if we were in our room, most of the time was spent inside, with the curtains closed.

Secondly, fixtures in the room were disappointing. As other guests have pointed out - nothing too bad but certainly not what you would expect from a Relais and Chateau hotel. For example, one of the three lights above the mirror had gone and wasn't replaced for our whole stay. Additionally, the towel rail was loose and rattled around.

All of these points I brought up to management the day before we left in order that they would have the opportunity to at least do something about it but guess what - the complaint was completely ignored - and none of the bathroom issues fixed. Frustrating!

Lastly, while the grounds are beautiful and the pool area very nice, the pool area is not serviced AT ALL by the staff during the day. Towels are laid out in the morning, but after that guests are left to their own devices. Loungers that have been used in the morning but abandoned in the afternoon are not refreshed, therefore guests that come later in the day have to guess as to which lounger is not in use and dispose of the used towels/ get new ones themselves. Not ideal.

Also, to say they have a 'pool bar' is incredibly misleading. The bar which is inside near the pool, is not even staffed. There is a bell to get attention should no one be there which is ignored (I rang it about 5 times before setting off in my wet bikini around the hotel to get a drink and eventually found myself at reception, embarrassed, just to get a glass of water). Additionally, later in the evening when we asked the bar man for a martini - he did not know what this was. Surely this is a key drink on any Relais & Chateau bar menu!

We really wanted to enjoy this hotel but sadly this was not the case. I certainly wouldn't be recommending it in a hurry.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Good for a quiet break, we stayed 4 days, personally I don't think I could have stayed much longer as not much to so there but great to just chill out and relax. The hotel in itself is nice, rooms and shared areas were clean ..pool are was quite small, I think hotel was definitely more suited to couples rather than families with children.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We have just left and don't know if some of the recent criticism had an impact but we found the service excellent. With "Soon" the head maitre de outstanding. His advice on the menu and choice of wine was extremely knowledgable and unpretentious. His manner always pleasant and attentive.
We had a number of issues to resolve as two couples both with travel arrangements and work related requirements and at all times found the staff very helpful.
The dining experience was right up to expectations with fresh local produce cooked to perfection.
Our rooms were very pleasant if a little dark with a nice sitting area outside the room to enjoy the outside air.(rooms 101&104)
The views and other amenities were also very good. I had a Raja (spine straightening) strong massage (in fact two because the first one was so good).
The one quite off putting part to the experience was the road into the hotel is very narrow and dirt for some distance (although partly being surfaced as I write). It was in our view quite dangerous although we got a little used to it.
All in all a very enjoyable experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I couldn’t agree with two of the previous reviewers more. A peaceful and beautiful location; fantastic terraces; lovely views….what a shame about the service. As the previous reviewer – chistoco – points out, there is no 'huge issue’ that stands out. Just a series of numerous little things that wouldn’t be a big deal if it wasn’t for the price tag (expensive even by Sardinian/height-of-season standards) or the fact it is a Relais hotel.

We felt like we were putting the staff out every time we asked for something. I also agree with the reviewer trishglenn that the staff were very aloof and unfriendly. The only friendly staff member we accounted during our four night stay was a lovely gentleman from Durban! The rest of the time, they struggled to even smile, never mind be pro-active and check on guests.

Breakfast had a great selection. Thank goodness, as dinner was an incredible disappointment. Average food. Not-so-average prices.

We did have one young gentleman help us book a day trip out on a boat. He was very helpful until the manager started whispering to him (in Italian) to try and sell the hotel’s private boat trip instead. Obviously the manager thought our English speaking group couldn’t understand Italian!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

It's taken me a long time to write this review so here goes..beautiful place, facilities, views etc. We got on very well with all the staff except for the manageress/ owner who seemed very aloof, distant or in my eyes unfriendly. We were there two weeks and she only acknowledged us in week 2 because I said hello. On reflection 2 weeks here was a mistake. The restaurant whilst boasting stunning views, lovely terrace, lovely furniture was soulless and the food at best mediocre and ridiculously overpriced, we shared a fish as a main course and it cost 70 euros! Was it good? No. I've eaten at Michelin starred restaurants in U.K that charge less - the pretentiousness of the place just made me very cross. So we ventured out and ate much better, more honest food elsewhere. The Agriturismo's are a must - a veritable banquet of good local meats, cheeses, veg, suckling pig all washed down with local wines.
We had a massage - Omar was amazing, however the facilities at his disposal are not worthy of the Spa experience description! Basic hut no frills attached.
I think the place gets away with a lot because it is so pretty and most people only stay a few days.
I would like to see it become more relaxed, let the staff wear less formal uniform, let them relax instead of aspiring to be formal stuffy staff, give a bit more away you always feel you are being ripped off - no free cold water by the pool, fresh orange juice at breakfast an extra 5 euros?! We had a hotel breakfast buffet in Barcelona two weeks later that was three times the size, cheaper and included all the " extras" that you have to pay for here.
Would I go back? No. Would I like to see some of the staff again? Yes, they were lovely. I think they probably have quite a tough time aspiring to be whatever it is the owner is aspiring to!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Petra Segreta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Segreta Resort & Spa

Address: Strada Buddeu, 07026 San Pantaleo, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > San Pantaleo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in San Pantaleo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petra Segreta Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a five-hectare forest of rare beauty with a spectacular view over the Emerald Coast, the 4-star superior hotel Petra Segreta Resort & SPA in Sardinia welcomes its guests with 15 luxurious rooms, an elegant wellness centre, a restaurant with outdoor veranda, open-air swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your Petra Segreta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petra Segreta Hotel San Pantaleo
Petra Segreta Resort And Spa
Petra Segreta Resort & Spa San Pantaleo, Sardinia, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petra Segreta Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.