We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tartarughino

Tartarughino
Piazza Quadra, 07026 Porto Rotondo, Sardinia, Italy
0789 385004 - 0789 34046
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 47 Restaurants in Porto Rotondo
Price range: $40 - $160
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A space living 24 hours a day:- The dawn (bar, patisserie, continental breakfast). The lunch (restaurant, pizzeria, on board catering, serving boats hosted in the harbour/gulf). The sunset. The aperitif (enriched by our chefs suggestions and music played by the most important dee jays). The dinner (pasta, meat, fish and pizza). The after dinner (piano bar, live music and fashion music) a mixture of music styles and events that made Tartarughino, became Porto Rotondo’s night heart.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

4th time to Italy, 1st to Sardinia. i've found the perfection in italian flavours. great fish, perfect pizza and what to say about that milanese veal... yummi. i'm planning to go to Italy, again, this year. itinerary: Rome, Sardinia, Tartarughino. LOL

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricru, Owner at Tartarughino, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
i like your itinerary... LOL... we are here, ready for your next visit. book your table by calling or e-mailing us. thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    57
    45
    24
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very friendly staff (esp the owner, who offered to personalise dishes and pizza to specific likings of customers). I had a delicious Scicilian swordfish fillet, my partner had some prawn pasta dish which was also pretty tasty (though could have used a few more prawns!). We came in September (off season) so maybe that's the difference compared to some of the other reviews on here??? Doesn't even sound like the same place!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricru, Proprietario at Tartarughino, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
thank you very much. we do hope to see you here, again. next time, extra prawns (LOL). the reason why you find bad reviews on Tartarughino is that, this is the most ancient and famous restaurant and cocktail bar in Porto Rotondo. It's... "the place". and in Italy (sorry about that) competitors use to ask for some friends's help to write something... well, you, now, know the truth. see you here between sun and... prawns...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Staff were not too friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We felt as customers we were basically in the way and because we were not Italian we felt as if we were meant to accept what ever we were given and charged.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Bad location, heavy food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Located on a busy street, with heavy and sub average food, do not understand why this is such a famouse restaurant

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricru, Proprietario at Tartarughino, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
in the last 40 years people in costa smeralda gave us important rewiews, to make us understand we were doing ok. i'm sorry it was not the same for you. obviously. it's a very croudy place, specially between second half july and the end of august... high season is like this, in italy. everybody wants to go where they can meet v.i.p. and happy people... so when in Rome... thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

If you want to stay in the center of the night life- you can have a dinner here. A lot of people, the loud music. The food is ok, maybe a little bit expensive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricru, Proprietario at Tartarughino, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
thank you very much for your visit. we do hope to make you feel better next time... we are a little busy but very friendly. come visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tartarughino also viewed

Porto Rotondo, Province of Olbia-Tempio
Porto Rotondo, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 
Porto Rotondo, Province of Olbia-Tempio
Porto Rotondo, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 

Been to Tartarughino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tartarughino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.