We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A feast for the eyes and a feast for the palate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Su Gologone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Su Gologone to your Saves list
Su Gologone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc Su Gologone, 08025 Oliena, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oliena
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A feast for the eyes and a feast for the palate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is one of the most unusual and visually appealing hotels I've ever stayed in. Every inch of the property is designed with cubby holes and nooks, each tastefully decorated and meant to be used to sit and read, have a quiet conversation, or just plain relax.

Set in the middle of the nowhere, but backed up against two spectacular mountains, just getting there is part of the detox. Please note that at the time we went (June 2014), the bridge that leads to the property (5 minutes away) is under extensive repair and is closed. There is no sign directing where to go, and you literally wonder what you are supposed to do. Luckily other locals came by and drove down a dirt path alongside the bridge, and we followed bravely.

Other reviewers have commented about the lack of wi-fi, and I tend to agree that if you want to be wired all the time, this is probably not the best choice for you. This is a place to come and commune with nature, to take walks in the country, to read a good book, all the while delighting in the wide variety of artwork in house.

The food is plentiful and varied. The roast pig is to die for, and the Sardinian bread is just plain addictive.

The staff could not have been more cordial and attentive. They went out of their way to make sure you had a good stay.

My only other observation is that you should be aware that you are out in the country and primarily outdoors. There are plenty of flies and other insects around (none in the room), but that's what dining al fresco means, right?

Can't wait to come back, and this time with my wife!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 62 which is a junior suite. It's a delightful room with a private patio and hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    99
    45
    23
    14
See reviews for
65
246
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We intended to stay one night only because it's expensive compared to most accommodation in Sardegna and the Trip Advisor reviews were varied. On arrival we knew immediately that we had to stay two nights to appreciate all this hotel complex had to offer. It's not a world class hotel in that there are issues which some travellers might find annoying -- no wi-fi (only in one spot in the reception area), no elevators, no room service...But all that said, we decided to go with the flow and we just loved our time here. We discovered all the little artistic endeavours that make the place aesthetically special, and we found the staff engaging, warm and helpful. The food is excellent (some in our party found the meat courses a bit heavy and the other options a little limited, but if you go with the evening buffet you'll have plenty of delicious choices), and the wine list is very good. Su Gologone adds a layer of luxury to the unique experience that is Sardegna.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I was sceptical at first having read the reviews for this accommodation but am so thrilled we decided to stay here. I found it to be one of the most unique places I have stayed in but can understand it would not be for everyone. The layout of the hotel is fantastic in that I think they can probably cater to anyone's needs. You do have to be prepared to do some walking around to the place to fully appreciate its hidden treasures from the amazing vegetable garden to the view from the terrace for afternoon aperol spritzes to the onsite museum!! The food is fantastic and the room was beautiful, I did not find it tired in the least. The staff were very friendly and the majority of them are locals which I found wonderful. If you are looking for a conventional stay then this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for an experience then I would recommend this place very highly.

Room Tip: When staying here I would recommend if you have mobility issues that you mention this so a room can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assemini, Italia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

It's one of the most amazing hotels in Sardinia, really unique. It's a bit in the middle of nowhere, but this is also part of the whole experience, relax! The only downside is the lack of connectivity and mobile. Some rooms are completely isolated, no mobile data/voice and now wifi.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Nice place, many charming details and great food. Unfortunately we didn't have warm water for shower in the mornings although they said it was fixed, the beds were old and need to be changed. The tub on the balcony didn't have privacy. Wifi was poor and only in the lobby.

Room Tip: you don't need those with the tub, but get a big balcony since the views can be nice (if there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This is an amazing hotel set in the olive groves of Oliena and overlooked by the mountain range of the supramonte. The hotel has a collection of antique Sardinian artifacts and is a delight to all senses, with its bright colours and small areas to sit away from everyone. Cool terraces for drinks or bars indoors for the evening.
Meats roasted on the open fire, all food sourced locally and cooked on the premises and is excellent.
The hotel runs courses in pottery, painting etc
Each bedroom or suite is dedicated to a local artist or has a theme of Sardina.
Excursions can be organised and we took advantage of the trip up to Monte Corrasi in a landrover. The views were spectacular and breathtaking.
Also a trip to the Valle di Lanaitho. Here you visit Villaggio Nuragico 'Sa Sedda 'e sos Carros' The village show exceptial engineering in the little temple with its cult of sacred waters.
Visit the caves of Sa Ohe e Su Bentu The Voice and The Wind.
If you have the stamina then a trip to Tiscali is a must. It is a nuragic village inside a mountain, one of the last strongholds of the ancient Sards against the Romans and other invaders.
This is the heart of ancient Sardina and it will leave you with a sense of wonder at the achievements of this ancient civilisation.
After all the various excursions it is wonderful to return to the hotel, have a rest and look forward to another great meal.
If you want something completely different from every day and to savour the

Room Tip: Take time to enjoy all that is on offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Su Gologone is set in quiet countryside with superb views of the Supramonte mountains, fantastically located for trips to Tiscali and Cala Gonone for boat trips along the Golfo di Orosei’s coastline, where some of the best beaches in Sardinia lie. This is a hotel that is relaxed with itself and full of rural charm and hospitality, with Sardinian art and crafts throughout the hotel you are filled with a sense of Sardinian culture. The owner Giovanna is charming and all of the staff including Massimo and Rita at the front of house are delightful. Check if the pool is open as it is fed from the nearby Su Gologone spring which is cool water, so may not be filled at certain times, but there is more than enough to do locally to keep you entertained. Sardinia is a hikers paradise and the location of the hotel is an ideal base. We had a wonderful trip and will definitley go back. We found it very inspiring.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Su Gologone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Su Gologone

Address: Loc Su Gologone, 08025 Oliena, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Nuoro > Oliena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oliena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Su Gologone 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Su Gologone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Su Gologone Oliena, Sardinia
Su Gologone Hotel Oliena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Su Gologone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.